We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best secret of Venice!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Venice Beach House

Save Saved
You added Venice Beach House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Venice Beach House
15 Thirtieth Avenue, Los Angeles, CA 90291 (Venice / Beach Areas)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 80 Los Angeles B&B and Inns
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Best secret of Venice!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed here together with my mom. Staff is super friendly and location is the best, all within walking distance, one block from the beach, the boulevard, the shops and can recommend the bike shops around the corner. This place looks like a fairy-tail. We will definitely go back.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    34
    27
    6
    3
    2
See reviews for
14
30
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Lovely home built at the beginning of the 1900's and basically kept that way. Although next to Washington Blvd & the beach it is very quiet. Guests may sit outside and enjoy the sun or under the large outdoor shaded porch. Breafast is served on the first floor dining room with a large bay window. The second floor bedrooms share 2 large old-fashioned bathrooms that are well-kept. Only problem the sinks are too high if you are below average height. I'm 5'4" and would have appreciated a stool. Bedrooms are clean and the staff is very friendly. Had no problems sleeping

Room Tip: Abbot Kinney room opens to a balcony and a large tree. Bird calls woke me in the morning
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paddock Wood, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights whilst on our honeymoon travelling in America. We loved this little gem of a guest house. The whole place was spotless and well kept with a homely feel. Breakfast lovely- continental consisting of cereals yoghurt fruit bagels toast and scrambled eggs - plenty of choice. They also do afternoon snacks from 2pm until 7pm - either a cake or biscuits (homemade) and a drink which are left out for guests to snack! Whilst in LA we went on the hop on hop off bus tour - brilliant! (Which they cal book for you at the guest house) You learns so much, and we also hiked up runyan canyon for a stunning view of LA! As well as exploring Venice beach and Santa Monica beach! Great stay in LA!

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marin, CA
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

This is a historic building a half block to the beach in a nicer beach area than other Venice Beach locales. It is a beautiful old building and nicely manicured grounds. We stayed in a large room in which the bath especially the shower needed updating. Was informed that it was on the National Historic Register so that any changes had be approved by the supervising entity. However, the bath needs it sooner rather than later.

The gentleman who checked us in was absolutely charming and delightful. Helped us find good local restaurants and best place to rent bikes and roller blades - 1/2 block away. However, the woman who helped us the next day was rude. She ignored me standing right in front of her at the large desk that is the front desk for at least two minutes while she surfed the net - I wanted more toilet paper. Then gave me attitude when I asked for it. She did soften later when we returned from breakfast, but someone needs to let her know that there is no place for lack of hospitality in the hospitality industry.

Four stars because of location, the building itself and the gentleman who checked us in.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

In the heart of Venice Beach we found a haven of rest in this quaint and cosy hotel. The personnel are charming , helpful and so relaxed it made our stay like home from home without the usual chores. Our room was spacious and the bed the comfiest and we had oodles of hot water. We relaxed in the beautiful garden and enjoyed a welcome iced tea and home made biscuits in the afternoon. All in all we can't thank them enough for making our stay such a happy one and we will definitely be going back again when we next visit Los Angeles.

Room Tip: On the ground floor either the Olympic suite or the Amy MacPherson room are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
270 reviews 270 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

We had relatives coming in for 3 weeks so we looked near where we live for a place for them to stay on their own. We found the Venice beach house.

We needed of the 21 day stay we only needed 14 nights split throughout. They were so helpful they confirmed the same room for each night, gave us an off peak discount, and the best and friendliest service, not one single glitch. They know their business and look after their guests.

Thank you for your professional courteous service, we will be back, and refer others.

Room Tip: They had a nice quite time
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

We went at Venice Beach House in August 2011 with our 2 years old baby and we enjoyed it. It is an old historical house near the beach. Our room was very big, the breakfast was very good and there was also a good snack in the afternoon. We will definitely return if we go back to Los Angeles!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Venice Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Venice Beach House

Address: 15 Thirtieth Avenue, Los Angeles, CA 90291
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Venice / Beach Areas , Westside
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 80 B&Bs / Inns in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Venice Beach House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Venice Beach House Hotel Los Angeles

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Venice Beach House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.