We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Oasis” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Venice Beach House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Venice Beach House to your Saves list
Venice Beach House
15 Thirtieth Avenue, Los Angeles, CA 90291 (Venice / Beach Areas)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 81 Los Angeles B&B and Inns
Cork, Ireland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Fabulous Oasis”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

after flying into LAX, our family of 4 (2 adults and 2 kids aged 11 and 9) stayed for 2 nights at Venice Beach House and we were not to be disappointed - the house itself is fabulous and is located literally on the Ocean Front and close to many restaurants and bars but yet is so quiet and tranquil - we stayed in the family room which was perfect - breakfast was amazing both mornings and we got to meet some very interesting other guests - we would not hesitate to stay there again

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    31
    8
    4
    2
See reviews for
18
35
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

I have discovered the Venice Beach House about four year ago and it was really a revelation! Now, every time I go through LA, I stay there!
It's home away from home, it is so cosy!
The house is so charming, the rooms are comfortable, the WIFI works well, the breakfast is great, served in a nice breakfast room.
It's just a block away from the beach, so it is close enough to go and have a nice walk on this beautiful beach, but far enough not to have the noise.
There are many nice restaurants, walking distance.
You can reserve your parking lot, which I recommend, because it is not so easy to park elsewhere .
The proximity to the LA international airport is really convenient. When we go to LA, we fly from Europe, and we are exhausted from our long flight. It is so nice to have only a 15-20 minutes drive and arrive in this calm and cosy house.
I warmly recommend the Venice Beach House.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

When we travel to Maui from the UK to visit our so we like to stop off for a night or two in LA. After using the big hotels, and grumbling at the cost, we went on a recommendation from my ex to try this beautiful old house now turned into a small hotel. It's right near Venice Beach Pier, so only 15-20 mins from the airport. It is a Heritage site hotel and kept gloriously clean! All the furniture fits the period of the house, beds are blissfully comfortable, rooms of an excellent size and even if you don't have a room with an ensuite you will not be put-off by the shared bathrooms - they are excellent. A Continental breakfast is available but you are literally minutes from restaurants of varying prices - and of course the chance to check out everything offered along the esplanade!

Room Tip: Have only used ensuite rooms and all have been excellent but the standard of cleanliness in'cimm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

my likes,
- abbot kinney room, very cozy with lovely patio
- very homely hotel house, cozy and homely
- location great for venice shops, bars and restaurants
- own car park and parking available by the street-side
- good location to get out of venice
- very relaxing and quiet location about 2.5 minutes from the beach

Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moylan pa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

We loved this spot and were sorry to leave. It's a beautiful craftsman house with remarkable original detail, and the location near the beach is fantastic. The staff were very nice; the breakfasts ample and delicious; the rooms quiet; the bathrooms spacious and clean. There are many lovely spots in the surrounding garden to hang out, read, eat breakfast, or have a drink, so be sure to leave time just to enjoy the place. The tired condition of the mattresses did produce quite a few laughs among our family, but we would absolutely return.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montpellier, France
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

We spent 4 days here last summer, to be honest, the house is may be 50 meters from the beach, very close to the Venice pier. Nested in a beautiful garden, you'll want to enjoy a glass of wine in the patio after a busy day in LA and a dive in the ocean. The rooms are beautiful, our kids had an appartment downstairs with their private bathroom. Our room upstairs was cosy. Great breakfast and very friendly staff. We'll be back

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pickering, Canada
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

We stayed at Venice Beach House for one night in March 2012. The house has a lot of character but is in need of some serious updating in terms of drapery, carpet, linens. My husband, daughter and I stayed in the Aimee McPherson suite at the back of the house. It needs freshening up to get the musty feel out of it. I felt like I was staying in my Grandma's basement. Also, beware that the yahoos party until 3am and are always walking past the house howling at the top of their lungs (perhaps this is what Venice Beach is always like??)
I think this property would be lovely on a warm sunny day, as the grounds are beautiful and the beach is a stone's throw away. Unfortunately we had a cold, drizzly day. It is in a good location, you can walk anywhere you would like to go in Venice Beach and the price is right.

Room Tip: The upstairs rooms looked cheerier and sunnier than the rooms at the back of the house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Venice Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Venice Beach House

Address: 15 Thirtieth Avenue, Los Angeles, CA 90291
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Venice / Beach Areas , Westside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 81 B&Bs / Inns in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Venice Beach House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Venice Beach House Hotel Los Angeles

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Venice Beach House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.