We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Venice Beach House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Venice Beach House to your Saves list
Venice Beach House
15 Thirtieth Avenue, Los Angeles, CA 90291 (Venice)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 87 Los Angeles B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
45 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

I have discovered the Venice Beach House about four year ago and it was really a revelation! Now, every time I go through LA, I stay there!
It's home away from home, it is so cosy!
The house is so charming, the rooms are comfortable, the WIFI works well, the breakfast is great, served in a nice breakfast room.
It's just a block away from the beach, so it is close enough to go and have a nice walk on this beautiful beach, but far enough not to have the noise.
There are many nice restaurants, walking distance.
You can reserve your parking lot, which I recommend, because it is not so easy to park elsewhere .
The proximity to the LA international airport is really convenient. When we go to LA, we fly from Europe, and we are exhausted from our long flight. It is so nice to have only a 15-20 minutes drive and arrive in this calm and cosy house.
I warmly recommend the Venice Beach House.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank njpeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

When we travel to Maui from the UK to visit our so we like to stop off for a night or two in LA. After using the big hotels, and grumbling at the cost, we went on a recommendation from my ex to try this beautiful old house now turned into a small hotel. It's right near Venice Beach Pier, so only 15-20 mins from the airport. It is a Heritage site hotel and kept gloriously clean! All the furniture fits the period of the house, beds are blissfully comfortable, rooms of an excellent size and even if you don't have a room with an ensuite you will not be put-off by the shared bathrooms - they are excellent. A Continental breakfast is available but you are literally minutes from restaurants of varying prices - and of course the chance to check out everything offered along the esplanade!

Room Tip: Have only used ensuite rooms and all have been excellent but the standard of cleanliness in'cimm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank geemag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
54 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

my likes,
- abbot kinney room, very cozy with lovely patio
- very homely hotel house, cozy and homely
- location great for venice shops, bars and restaurants
- own car park and parking available by the street-side
- good location to get out of venice
- very relaxing and quiet location about 2.5 minutes from the beach

Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Espergaerde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moylan pa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

We loved this spot and were sorry to leave. It's a beautiful craftsman house with remarkable original detail, and the location near the beach is fantastic. The staff were very nice; the breakfasts ample and delicious; the rooms quiet; the bathrooms spacious and clean. There are many lovely spots in the surrounding garden to hang out, read, eat breakfast, or have a drink, so be sure to leave time just to enjoy the place. The tired condition of the mattresses did produce quite a few laughs among our family, but we would absolutely return.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Deirdre G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montpellier, France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

We spent 4 days here last summer, to be honest, the house is may be 50 meters from the beach, very close to the Venice pier. Nested in a beautiful garden, you'll want to enjoy a glass of wine in the patio after a busy day in LA and a dive in the ocean. The rooms are beautiful, our kids had an appartment downstairs with their private bathroom. Our room upstairs was cosy. Great breakfast and very friendly staff. We'll be back

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Philippe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pickering, Canada
Level Contributor
66 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

We stayed at Venice Beach House for one night in March 2012. The house has a lot of character but is in need of some serious updating in terms of drapery, carpet, linens. My husband, daughter and I stayed in the Aimee McPherson suite at the back of the house. It needs freshening up to get the musty feel out of it. I felt like I was staying in my Grandma's basement. Also, beware that the yahoos party until 3am and are always walking past the house howling at the top of their lungs (perhaps this is what Venice Beach is always like??)
I think this property would be lovely on a warm sunny day, as the grounds are beautiful and the beach is a stone's throw away. Unfortunately we had a cold, drizzly day. It is in a good location, you can walk anywhere you would like to go in Venice Beach and the price is right.

Room Tip: The upstairs rooms looked cheerier and sunnier than the rooms at the back of the house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pickering4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

As long as you remember that this is a beach house, built in the first ten years of the 20th century, then you probably won't be disappointed. It is a period house, very relaxed, slightly eccentric, only yards from Venice beach. We had the Aimee Macpherson Suite for 3 nights in April; the room was very large but the decor was a bit tired. Breakfast itself was fine but there should be more tables made available for guests. Overall we enjoyed staying there.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NDW_Wimbledon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Los Angeles
Venice
Venice On The Beach Hotel
Venice On The Beach Hotel
#49 of 342 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 stars 429 reviews
Venice
Inn at Venice Beach
Inn at Venice Beach
#19 of 342 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 stars 591 reviews
Venice
Venice Beach Suites & Hotel
Venice Beach Suites & Hotel
#32 of 342 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 stars 444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Venice
Hotel Erwin
Hotel Erwin
#26 of 342 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 stars 960 reviews
Jamaica Bay Inn
#3 of 11 in Marina del Rey
4.5 of 5 stars 1,003 reviews
Venice
The Rose Hotel
The Rose Hotel
#4 of 87 in Los Angeles
5.0 of 5 stars 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Venice Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Venice Beach House

Address: 15 Thirtieth Avenue, Los Angeles, CA 90291
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Venice , Westside
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 87 B&Bs / Inns in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Listed on the National Register of Historic Places, Venice Beach House is a restored craftsman house just a 3-minute walk from the beach. A daily breakfast and free Wi-Fi are provided at this charming B&B. The individually decorated rooms and suites at the Venice Beach House have a sitting area with cable TV. Each has a private terrace with lush garden views. Select suites feature spa tubs. A daily breakfast with eggs, yogurt, and fresh fruit can be enjoyed on the covered terrace. After a day of exploring, guests can relax with an afternoon tea service featuring homemade cake or biscuits. Beach House Venice features an on-site library and room to relax in the common area. Guests can lounge in a comfortable chair with a book by a stone fireplace. Featuring sightseeing, dining and shopping opportunities, Abbot Kinney Boulevard, Santa Monica Pier and 3rd Street Promenade are within 3 miles of the bed and breakfast. Venice Beach is a great choice for travelers interested in beach walks, people watching and sunny. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Venice Beach House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Venice Beach House Hotel Los Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing