We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful old beach house in a great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Venice Beach House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Venice Beach House to your Saves list
Venice Beach House
15 Thirtieth Avenue, Los Angeles, CA 90291 (Venice / Beach Areas)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 81 Los Angeles B&B and Inns
Suva, Fiji
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Beautiful old beach house in a great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2012

We stayed here for the last part of our honeymoon and i have to say, it was such a treat, it was a pity we couldn't stay longer than the 2 nights we were booked in. The staff are really helpful and the location is perfect if you want to be amongst the Venice Beach vibe. This was my first time to LA so I was thrilled with having the beach 2 seconds away. The breakfast is great and the female staff are all very friendly and nice and helpful. One thing about LA is the distance it takes to get around, so taxi rides can be expensive if you don't have your own hire car. We bused it a few times which was fine. I didn't think i'd like LA as much as i did and am keen to head back. If i do, i definitely would look into staying at Venice Beach house again. Oh i forgot to mention how beautiful the bathroom is too!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    31
    8
    4
    2
See reviews for
18
35
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2012

How charming, when you just arrived after a 1hr taxi ride from Downtown, to step through the gate of flowers and step in to this little green paradise in Venice. I would say a 20sec walk from the beach.
If you like the busy boardwalk and the crowded places, than this is probably not your place to stay. For us (me and my girlfriend) it was a great relief after staying a couple of days in downtown.
The rooms are stylish decorated and very clean. The bathrooms look beautiful! Very classic. We even had a very small balcony to drink some cold beers late at night. Service was good and friendly and were there when you needed them. Breakfast a little bit minimal, but that's a minor detail.

Room Tip: We had the Aboot Kinney room, which had a small balcony. Perfect to sit together with a nice cold be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2011

Nice location steps to Venice beach. The bars are inches away. The rooms are dated and need to be modernized. Location Location Location...........

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2011

We were not able to take a sumer vacation this year, so we decided to have a nice weekend get away. We felt like we were staying at a friend's home for the weekend. The staff was very friendly, and they are quite knowledgable about the area. They were able to answer all of our questions and they made great recommendations. We have stayed here before, and know we know why we decided to come back. It is a wonderful place, and a great value for the area.

Room Tip: We have stayed in two different rooms upstairs and they were both wonderful. Pier Suite is large wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clancy, MT
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2011

My husband and I stayed here for a long weekend. What a location!--only one building back from Venice Beach, yet the grounds and the interiors make for a quiet and serene setting. All members of the staff went above and beyond to accommodate us and make us feel welcome and comfortable. We loved all of the antiques and the unpretentious, old-fashioned charm of this B & B. Not a hermetically-sealed brand-new high-rise; if that's what you want, go somewhere else. I would LOVE to stay at this charming B &B again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2011

We stayed a few nights in the "Olympic suite". It's not a suite, it's a single, good sized room, with a private bath. The bath needed more cleaning than it received, as did the upholstered walls of the room (not a good idea in these bedbug days), the bed, and the dirty polyester blanket on it. There was something resembling a bloody smear on the toilet seat that resisted all efforts to remove it. This is the sort of thing that a careful innkeeper would notice and remedy.

The location is great, but you want a smaller car if you're going to park there. It's a beautiful property. This could be a good place, but it needs work. I don't believe the owner/manager's claim below that beds in this place are new. The bed in the room we stayed in was thin, sprung, and it doesn't even have a bed frame or headboard; it's just jammed up against the padded wall. Tacky.

I never had a chance to try breakfast there, but it looked like absolutely nothing special.

Room Tip: Don't book the same room I stayed in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

Stayed in what was supposed to be a "super deluxe suite" - the James Peasgood Suite - and it was a wreck. It's not a suite; it's a cavernous room with bad lighting and thrift store furniture. The bedspread was falling apart, and the bathroom was dirty, with slime under the bath faucets, caca on the wall next to toilet, crappy drywall and woodwork that look like it was done as a seventh grade shop project, and a cheap fiberglass jacuzzi that has seen better days. At $306 a night, this was a giant, sleazy ripoff, and we had prebooked for 4 nights! And reserved parking is extra, at $14 a space!

It gets worse. We couldn't close one window, and it was never repaired, so we had to listen to loud street noise, 3 am revelers, and 7 am garbage pickups. Very little sleep to be had.

I've rarely felt less welcomed at any B&B. We felt like we were an imposition, rather than guests. The staff rarely even acknowledged our presence and carefully avoided eye contact. We schlepped our own luggage up to our room with no offers to help. We went there to celebrate a birthday, but never got even a note from them. The only excuse I can find for this is downright rudeness and sloppy management.

Breakfasts were self-serve like those in a student hostel, with Safeway breads and yogurts and jams, plus one mediocre hot dish of things like Safeway sausages and eggs or French toast or pancakes that was never reheated or replenished; if you got there late, you were out of luck. There's no excuse for this except for laziness. Muffins were store-bought and wrapped in plastic; why not make fresh ones at a fraction of the cost, especially when your guests are getting hosed at over $300 a night?!

The only pluses were the location, the exterior, and the grounds. It's a beautiful building that is falling apart, with dry rot and termites, If the management had any sense, it would get its act together and make this a showcase, fire the staff, and run this like a business.

What a shame.

Room Tip: Find another place to stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Venice Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Venice Beach House

Address: 15 Thirtieth Avenue, Los Angeles, CA 90291
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Venice / Beach Areas , Westside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 81 B&Bs / Inns in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Venice Beach House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Venice Beach House Hotel Los Angeles

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Venice Beach House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.