We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was like coming home” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Highland Gardens Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Highland Gardens Hotel to your Saves list
Highland Gardens Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7047 Franklin Ave., Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90028   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Affiliate website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Direct For Best Rate
Ranked #174 of 339 Hotels in Los Angeles
Worthing, England
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
“It was like coming home”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Time moves on, but when we returned to the Highland Gardens Hotel in Hollywood after a few years, it was just like coming home. They had moved the reception to the other side of the foyer it seemed, but apart from that everything was just as it had always been. There were still the photos behind reception of some of the stars who have made the hotel their temporary home over the years, including the late great Janis Joplin. Was it her ghost knocking on the room to our Executive Suite the night we arrived, welcoming us back? We hope so. It does not matter that our suite could have done with a lick of paint in places. From a cleanliness point of view the accommodation was spotless and we were given clean towels every day. The suite comprised of a bedroom with two queen sized beds, a lounge and hallway, toilet/bathroom and a kitchen, with fridge, microwave, toaster etc. Not that we really needed the kitchen, as breakfast was included in the accommodation price, but it was nice to have it there anyway. The reception staff were so helpful too, happily answering all our questions about transport and where to go and even booking our Amtrak train to San Diego for when we departed. The really great thing about the Highland Gardens Hotel is its character, for it oozes those bygone days of Hollywood. It is so handy too, just down a side street, a couple of minutes walk off the Hollywood Boulevard. For a most reasonably priced hotel in this location we highly recommend it. We will definitely be going home to the Highland next time we are in Los Angeles!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JGB1022, Manager at Highland Gardens Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are delighted that your stay was a pleasant one and we look forward to having you stay with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    43
    44
    26
    31
See reviews for
39
29
4
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is in a good location for the centre of Hollywood, transit and tours. The room was spacious and the air con fine, but there were fleas in our beds. We were bitten all over. One night we almost didn't sleep as a result. The staff did replace our sheets, I think, but this did not help at all. We were bitten hundreds of times and the itching continued for days. The interior is also outdated and worn, the beds old. The breakfast is more of a snack than breakfast, so a little false advertising there. The above would not have been an issue if the rates were reflective of the state of the hotel, but it isn't. The hotel is overpriced.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JGB1022, Manager at Highland Gardens Hotel, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
We are sorry that your experience with our hotel was unsatisfactory. Rooms are treated regularly so as not to have any issues with insects. We are a pet friendly hotel and therefore on the rare occasion that we are notified of a problem in one of the rooms we do everything we can to eradicate the problem quickly. Again, we are sorry for any inconvenience. If you decide to return, I can promise you a free upgrade to a non pet room, and will do everything in my power to make sure that your stay is a pleasant one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We stayed at the Highland Gardens Hotel, because it was walking distance to the World Famous Magic Castle. It was very convenient for that reason. Also, walking distance to the Walk of Stars in Hollywood. The pool area is nice. With lots of tropical foliage. The suites are nice in size. We had 3 people total. So, my boyfriend and I stayed in the room and our friend used the pull out couch. The bed was not comfy at all. Very hard. They don't provide many soaps, etc either. So, make sure to bring your own comforts of products that you like from home.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JGB1022, Manager at Highland Gardens Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Thank you for posting a review. We take your input very seriously. We are constantly upgrading our accomodations to make sure your stay is a pleasant one. Thank you again for the positive review. Sofa beds are not always the most comfortable, so we also offer roll away beds with a better mattress. We look forward to your stay with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Quinta, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

This hotel is in a great location for a reasonable price. Other than that there is nothing positive to say. We checked in and when we got to our room it hadn't been cleaned. We were given another. It was a nice enough room but old. The shower was tiny and the faucets were confusing. towels were small and scratchy. Not sure how they can advertise free breakfast, its just bad coffee and packaged danish. We were on the street side and had alot of traffic noise.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JGB1022, Manager at Highland Gardens Hotel, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
We apologize for any inconvenience we may have caused you. Rooms are constantly being renovated and updated. If you return, see me, and I will make sure you are satisfied with your accommodations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winkhill, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We stopped in here while trying to find a reasonably priced hotel/motel in the Hollywood area without going into a dive and so when I walked into the lobby to ask about room price/availability, it seemed ideal as the lobby and front area are very swish and modern. You can see it’s been a 60’s hotel but looked like it had been revamped from the outside with sleek smoked glass balconies added to the frontage. The room was $149 with taxes for a twin queen, so price wise pretty good for Hollywood, but the outside and lobby are a bit misleading as the actual hotel rooms are older and a bit of a let down. Our room was very bare and had a battered old fridge in the corner with a microwave balanced atop it. The beds were clean and comfy but the shower very small and old school (I never bothered trying to get a shower as it was pretty off putting). There was a wall socket hanging off (which I avoided using and did notify the desk about when I checked out) and some peeling/rotting woodwork right outside the window. On the upside, the place is in a good location and you can just walk down a side street to Hollywood Blvd and the staff were nice enough. There is a limited complimentary continental breakfast included (bread, cream cheese, toaster, muffins, juice boxes, tea/coffee) so it’s enough to start you off until you get something real to eat somewhere else. One major downside was that the WiFi in the rooms was an extra and chargeable at $10 for 24 hours (but they do have a couple of PCs in the lobby which they said were free to use, but when I tried it was asking for payment to log onto the connection). I got the feeling that this place has been taken over and they are part way through re-doing the place (but just not reached the rooms yet)! I wouldn’t stay again until the rest of the hotel has been upgraded to match the lobby but then it will probably justify an increase in price, so really not too bad if you need somewhere to crash for a night.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Unfortunately I had stuffed up our reservations and booked the wrong month at another hotel!!

We were in Hollywood and desperate for a room for 2 nights - the staff at the other hotels had sent us here - I wish we hadn't been but there were very few places available and we had already tried other hotels that were booked out.

The lobby is nice and yes it's free car parking and free wi-fi in the lobby only.... BUT the rooms were old and yukky. The bathrooms are getting very very old and a bit mouldy. The rooms were dusty and the carpet didn't look like it had been vacuumed properly, the door to the balcony wouldn't open properly.

Not nice - I won't stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonkoping, Sweden
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Good location, very close to Hollywood. Big rooms with separate kitchen. There is a pool. Breakfast is terrible for us Europeans, but we didn't expect ´t more. Overall good place to stay at when you explore Hollywood and Universal area, very close to Mullholland drive and scenic drives.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Highland Gardens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highland Gardens Hotel

Address: 7047 Franklin Ave., Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90028
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #174 of 339 Hotels in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Highland Gardens Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 118
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your Highland Gardens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highland Gardens Los Angeles
Hotel Highland Gardens

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Highland Gardens Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.