We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic Value for Money” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Orbit Hotel and Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Orbit Hotel and Hostel to your Saves list
Orbit Hotel and Hostel
607 North Fairfax Ave, Los Angeles, CA 90036 (Formerly Banana Bungalow Hollywood @ The Orbit Hotel and Hostel) (Central L.A)   |  
Hotel amenities
England
Level Contributor
94 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Basic Value for Money”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2011

We shared a 6 bed dorm and it was OK, the bunk beds were a bit rickety but it was clean and the bathroom was OK, had a bath and shower which was ensuite to the dorm room so only used between 6 of us.

The free breakfast downstairs was good, large portion of cereal and/or toast! For $2, you could get eggs, bacon and a waffle, amazing! The staff are really helpful and friendly and the tour around Hollywood is well worth the money. The tour guide is hilarious! The rooms aren't as noisy as I thought they would be. There's free wifi and computers to use so very convenient. Is a short walk to some shops and restaurants and close to the bus routes for everywhere else. A bit of a trek to the beach though as in the city.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    45
    16
    26
    29
See reviews for
3
32
19
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
166 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2011

we stayed here for four nights in a 4 bed mixed dorm, the room was small but that wasnt a problem, there werent big lockers so we were worried about leaving our bags out but it was fine, small lockers were provided for valuables, laptops etc, available wifi, very quick, also provided apple computers for people to use for free. Free breakfast was very good, coffee, toast, cereal etc. Staff were extremely lovely and helpful. Very happy with hostel and would stay there again, they also do free activities such as bbqs, and if your a single traveller the provide all sorts of tours too.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montesilvano Colle, Italy
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2011

Very dirty place, very poor service (brown and black blemishes on all sheets!!); you are in the middle of the street and a child would be able to open the door of your room! In the night none check the main door, be aware! breakfast is poor (toast, marmalade and butter -in wich everybody can take and leave pieces of other things...- coffee, cerals); very noisy and unsafe room. You can listen cars and people all the night, the light enter very early in you room: there aren't real tents! I checked out just 20 minutes later and the girl came to call us in our room, an said us: "next time be in time"!! The day before she had given the key of our room to a boy, who entered while I was in the bathroom!! The girl didn't say us "Excuse me"....
AVOID THIS PLACE, YOU CAN FIND BETTER PLACES WITH JUST A FEW EXTRA DOLLARS!!




Premetto che io e il mio ragazzo viaggiamo abbastanza da almeno dieci anni (organizzazione fai da te) e cerchiano sempre di risparmiare sul pernottamento, ma allo stesso tempo tentiamo di evitare le bettole...insomma non abbiamo la puzza sotto al naso e siamo stati in molti ostelli e strutture economiche, ma questo posto è assolutamente terrificante e le foto sono fuorvianti! Riassumo brevemente le motivazioni di questo giudizio:

- sporco, sporchissimo: asciugamani molto usurati con grosse macchie marroni, nere, gialle, buchi ecc...., polvere ovunque, bagno e camera puzzolenti.

- la nostra stanza era al piano terra, quindi praticamente in mezzo alla strada! Le veneziane bianche lasciavono entrare la luce fin dalle prime ore del mattino: tra i rumori delle macchine, delle persone e la luce, le ore di sonno sono state poche e disturbate (e noi quando siamo stanchi abbiamo il sonno pesante, di solito!)

- la serratura della stanza è praticamente inesistente, l'entrata dell'ostello di notte è aperta e senza nessun controllo: CHIUNQUE POTREBBE ENTRARVI IN STANZA DI NOTTE, NOI ABBIAMO AVUTO DAVVERO PAURA (MAI SUCCESSO PRIMA!!) Ovviamente l'ostello DICHIARA DI NON ESSERE RESPONSABILE PER GLI OGGETTI LASCIATI IN STANZA!

- il secondo e per fortuna per noi ultimo giorno trascorso in questo postaccio, hanno dato la chiave della nostra stanza a un ragazzo, perchè qualcosa evidentemente non è andato nell'organizzazione, e il poveretto ci è entrato in camera all'improvviso, pensando fosse vuota, con conseguente imbarazzo nostro e suo (io ero in bagno....) MAI SUCCESSO PRIMA!! Subito dopo viene anche la ragazza della reception, che senza nemmeno scusarsi ci chiede la data del nostro check in...mah

- il check out era alla 11, ma in genere se ritardi di poco, nessuno viene a romperti l'anima: alle 11.20 vengono a bussarci alla porta (NOI STAVAMO USCENDO DALLA STANZA PROPRIO IN QUEL MOMENTO), rimproverandoci per il ritardo!!! MAI SUCCESSO PRIMA! E alla fine, mentre ce ne andiamo, mi dice pure "Next time be in time" come se mi avesse fatto un favore a non addebitarmi una penale (c'è un cartello all'ingresso che la minaccia, MA NON PER 20 MINUTI!!)... PURE!!!!!! no comment, davvero!

-la colazione consiste in toast, marmellata in un barattolo, mista a rimasugli lasciati dai altre persone..., burro (coi soliti rimasugli), caffè americano e cerali. Frutta e waffles sono a pagamento!

- Il wi fi in camera NON funzionava, ma solo nei corridoi e nella stanza comune.

Avevamo letto i commenti negativi, ma alla fine l'abbiamo scelto perchè era il posto più economico e con parcheggio gratuito vicino all'hotel di una coppia di amici con cui abbiamo trascorso il soggiorno a LA! Altrimento a poco di più avremmo optato per una delle molte altre strutture più degne e SICURE disponibili!

Insomma EVITATELO, a pochi euro in più troverete di molto meglio!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2011

This was my first time staying at a hostel, so perhaps they are all like this place but surely hope not. I don't understand why its necessary to force budgeting college-age students to stay in such filth. It's should be more than possible to provide the bare bones basics, but in a sanitary, fun and safe atmosphere.

The photos pretty much speak for themselves. The only positives about my experience was that I was close to all of the bars and events for Gay Pride, and I had some incredibly fascinating roomies (spent about two hours chatting and drinking with them before heading out to the bars Saturday night).

What the photos don't mention is how incredibly strict the staff is if you're a non-California, US citizen in requiring to show travel documents. An out of state ID is not good enough, although an international passport is adequate. This is to prevent locals from staying there for cheap, but that makes no sense to me, since foreigners residing in California could just as easily whip out an international passport and not get harassed. If you're a US citizen, providing "travel documents" is virtually impossible since paper airline tickets don't really exist anymore and boarding passes are often taken from you when you board the plane.

Also not mentioned when booking online is that if you're over 35, you'll be turned away, even with a reservation. As a youth hostel, they limit guests to under 35.

Another negative is that the front door to the hostel is unlocked 24/7. Although its nice not to have a curfew, it wouldn't hurt to give guests a key (or a passcode) to the front door and then lock it after 10pm. Although I didn't gather that it was a terribly unsafe neighborhood, there definitely were a fair number of very strange folks out and about at night.

There's a community kitchen, but no grocery stores within a tolerable distance, so what the point of the kitchen is I have no idea.

The front desk guy demanded that I pay for my stay in cash. He said their credit card machine is always down. Total lie because I didn't even see a credit card machine. It's just their way of saving merchant fees. He took all my cash, including coins and I had to go back to an ATM so I could at least buy a lock for the locker in my room.

Clean linen? Perhaps, but you're expected to sleep with a flat sheet as your blanket. I woke up freezing and had to use my towel as a blanket. Also, they provide no soap to even shower with. The public bathrooms don't even have paper towels. You are expected to use an old bath towel to dry your hands on...which has also been used by an unknown number of people before you...and since there is no soap (all the dispensers were empty) the towel was probably loaded with germs.

Otherwise, it's absolutely filthy and disgusting. I don't think housekeeping does anything but the laundry. As you can see in the photos, it doesn't even appear that the walls get wiped down. Kind of makes you wonder what else doesn't get sanitized.

I left after one night and got a room at the Marriott Courtyard (immaculate and enormous) on a bargain booking site for only $50....only $30 more per night than this nasty place. Would you believe that Orbit has private rooms for $75? That's $25 MORE than I paid to stay at 4 star Marriott (tripadvisor rating). Unbelievable!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2011

Me and a friend booked a private room in this hostel, and would advise anyone staying there to do the same. Our room was awesome, it had a double bed, and a bunk bed with a tv with loads of channels, a fridge, microwave and decent bathroom. Room was also well decorated. Other good features from this hostel were the trips to nearby themeparks, free computers a pool table, good social area and nice kitchen with free breakfast. All in all a decent hostel with no major drawbacks, the staff weren't particularly welcoming or helpful but who cares, they give you the information you need. Located well, not far from Hollywood blvd/ sunset blvd. Some people may think it's too far but in my view it really isn't, also loads of nice shops and eateries nearby.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev
Level Contributor
38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2011

shabby interrior could be accepted but the cockroaches between the brown bags are impossible.
Hostel provides free WIFI and parking!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2011

I recently stayed at this hostel and was quite apprehensive after reading a few bad reviews. However, I was very pleasantly surprised upon my arrival. The hostel is really clean, with large, open plan common room area, with TV, and a good sized kitchen. We stayed in a 6-bed dorm which opened up onto the outside patio area. Rooms were really spacious, with wardrobe space, lockers, comfortable beds and en-suites with bath. The free breakfast was more than adequate, and you had the option to pay for extra food for just a couple of dollars.
The staff were extremely helpful- they showed us round the hostel and gave us a really good map and info about local buses to all the attractions.
To get to Hollywood Boulevard took about 10 minutes on the bus and cost $1.50 each way. We took a leisurely stroll back from there to the hostel via Sunset Boulevard and Santa Monica Boulevard, which took a while, but was the best way to see more of the city. We stayed for 3 nights and really enjoyed our stay- I would definitely recommend this hostel to anyone wanting to stay in a reasonably priced hostel that's not right in the thick of things but close enough to still enjoy all the sights!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Los Angeles
Central L.A
Palihotel
Palihotel
#85 of 340 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 stars 167 reviews
Central L.A
Rodeway Inn Los Angeles
Rodeway Inn Los Angeles
#170 of 340 in Los Angeles
3.0 of 5 stars 139 reviews
Central L.A
Beverly Laurel Motor Hotel
Beverly Laurel Motor Hotel
#137 of 340 in Los Angeles
3.5 of 5 stars 257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hollywood
Orange Drive Hostel
Orange Drive Hostel
#9 of 56 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 stars 213 reviews
Hollywood
USA Hostels Hollywood
USA Hostels Hollywood
#7 of 56 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 stars 506 reviews
Downtown
Stay on Main Hotel and Hostel
Stay on Main Hotel and Hostel
#24 of 56 in Los Angeles
3.0 of 5 stars 690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orbit Hotel and Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orbit Hotel and Hostel

Address: 607 North Fairfax Ave, Los Angeles, CA 90036 (Formerly Banana Bungalow Hollywood @ The Orbit Hotel and Hostel)
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Central L.A
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 56 Specialty Lodging in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Orbit is a safe and secure two-story Hotel featuring 32 newly remodeled rooms. Private rooms have a comfortable queen size bed and TV, some having sunny balconies and high ceilings, or a beautiful view of the West Hollywood Hills and Melrose Avenue. Dorms have 6 per room, all with closet space, shelves, their own private baths and showers. They are clean and well-kept. All rooms have a cool, colorful, retro-futuristic design giving the place a swanky Hotel vibe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers so you can book your Orbit Hotel and Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orbit Hotel Los Angeles

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Orbit Hotel and Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.