We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Downtown hyatt, not so bad to be in downtown LA contrary to what I was advised” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The LA Hotel Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The LA Hotel Downtown to your Saves list
The LA Hotel Downtown
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   333 S Figueroa St, Los Angeles, CA 90071 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #111 of 324 Hotels in Los Angeles
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Downtown hyatt, not so bad to be in downtown LA contrary to what I was advised”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

I was advised to stay away from Downtown LA and yes, it may not be as pretty as the rest of LA but it is easy to commute from and has a few restaurants and shops to cater for your needs.
Taxi drivers will know it as the old Marriot so make sure you explain that to them if they have not heard of it. When I stay there, it was undergoing some renovations which were not too hampering. The staff were friendly and advised me on how to catch the blue bus to Santa Monica and where to catch the underground up to Hollywood. It is cheaper than staying other places in LA because it is a bit far from anything but I was mainly there for work with a little sight seeing and found it to be very satisfactory. There was a fridge to store a few items bought from the Target down the road about ten mins walk and a tea and coffee machine.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

536 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    200
    136
    52
    37
See reviews for
79
118
55
192
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Stayed here for three days as part of three week trip. Hotel is undergoing renovation so fitness suite was closed. We were not told this when booking and so this was a big disappointment Our room was clean with a new carpet and a lovely en suite. Watch out for the wooden surround that the bed sits in. It extends past the bottom of the bed but is hidden by the duvet. I ended up with a large bruise on my leg. Ice available(which was handy at that point) and a bucket is provided for this.
There was not a lift to first floor reception so we had to manhandle all of our luggage up on the escalator. We did not need this after 30 hours of travelling. Plenty of staff around but nobody offered to help. Asked at reception where we could go nearby but were advised not to walk out at night. We did go out and had absolutely no trouble although there are many, many homeless people in this area. The receptionist wanted to sell us bus tours and when we refused she had no time for us.
Next morning the lift was not working and that was the norm during the day. We had to use the service lift. Sometimes there were signs advising you but mostly you found this out when the lift did not come. Pity we were not allowed to bring our luggage up on it the previous night.
Breakfast in the hotel is very expensive. If you go out of the door to the left of the reception desk, you can use the walkway, which is above street level, to access nearby buildings where you can eat for a fraction of the cost.
The subway is a short walk away and you can go to Hollywood on it. As seniors we purchased a TAP card for a dollar. After this we paid only 25c to go anywhere by subway or bus for the duation of our stay. There is a lot to do and see in the nearby area including a beautiful cathedral and a concert hall. Don't bother asking the black female at reception. Three times she gave us wrong information and had we not met other guests who had spoken to her male colleague, we could have got lost. Santa Monica beach is easily accessed via the fast bus, a few minutes from the hotel. At Hollywood there is a vast array of tours and Hop on Hop off buses.
It is such a pity about the rude unhelpful staff as they set the tone for the hotel. If this is a sample of Hyatt's hospitality, I doubt that we will use their hotels again.
A word of thanks to the room maids who were extremely pleasant and did a great job.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, MO
Top Contributor
352 reviews 352 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

I am here during the renovation and they are almost done. The new lobby and reception desk is being done as I write. Stayed here three nights and booked the room through American Airlines and got a good rate. They gave me a room on the top floor (aka the "penthouse floor") although there is nothing overly swanky about it. Rooms have been remodeled and I thought it was nice. I liked having the room safe (no extra charge) although others say it is not bolted down. didn't notice! The beds are comfortable and the bathroom nice, and this is a good location. Had a good breakfast buffet here today. It is not a luxury property but it was clean and quiet, and what more do you want? It's not always easy to get a cab here so leave extra time if you're on a tight schedule.

Room Tip: Ask for the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

I spent the weekend of Oct. 4 there in room 546. I couldn't believe this is "becoming" one of the Hyatt Regency hotels for the following reasons:

1. Unfriendly receptionist;
2. Room equipped with a "movable" safety deposit box. The digital safety deposit box is not bolted to anything and anybody can simply pick it up and walk away with it;
3. Shower cap and Q-tips only provided upon request;
4. No replenishment of coffee condiments after the first day;
5. The door of the refrigerator was blocked by the cabinet door stoppers and can't be opened;
6. No bath tub, only shower;
7. No luggage rack provided.

Although the room appears to have been renovated, but it doesn't appear to be completed. Overall, it is a total disappointment.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

The air quality and noise of the current rennovation, unavailability of gym, relocation of gift shop into a closet, and completely rude front desk clerk upon check-in made this a rather unpleasant stay. The room was ok - but I arrived an hour earlier than standard check in and the blond female front desk clerk with the oral affect could not have been less pleasant or more unwelcoming had she tried. Food is limited and so-so, although the dinner servers at the hotel/lobby restaurant were so accommodating and friendly - that is the only reason I give this hotel a 2 rather than a 1 rating.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that does not face the freeway - even on the 12th floor you can hear the traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

The hotel is in a good location but is undergoing a lot of renovation so it's pretty dated. The room was large, clean and had very comfortable beds. It is easy to get around from here and there are plenty of places to eat within walking distance.

However the receptionist was so unhelpful.. I had hurt my back and needed to find some treatment urgently, when I asked for help finding a physiotherapist she just said I don't know and left it at that! Shame she really couldn't be bothered at all.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

The hotel is being renovated at the moment as The Hyatt group have taken it over but there were very few disruptions. The rooms have been modernised and are bright & clean. Cross over the bridge towards the World Trade Centre and you can buy breakfast at the deli for $5. The hotel is close to many cafes, bars & restaurants. I would recommend The Dubliner or The Engine. Be careful when crossing the roads as the lights change quickly!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The LA Hotel Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The LA Hotel Downtown

Address: 333 S Figueroa St, Los Angeles, CA 90071
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#58 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The LA Hotel Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 491
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the financial district of downtown Los Angeles. 491 Guest rooms and 69 suites are among the most comfortable and spacious in the downtown area. The L.A. Hotel Downtown offers a beautiful outdoor heated pool, a restaurant and one lounge. Close proximity to many attractions including Staples Center, LA Convention Center, L.A. Live, Walt Disney Concert Hall, Cathedral, Dodger Stadium, Beverly Hills, Hollywood, Universal Studios and Disneyland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com and Tingo so you can book your The LA Hotel Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Los Angeles Downtown Hotel Los Angeles
Los Angeles Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The LA Hotel Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.