We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Retreat! Best Service!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Bel-Air

Save Saved
You added Hotel Bel-Air to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Bel-Air
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   701 Stone Canyon Rd., Los Angeles, CA 90077 (Westside)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Deluxe Breakfast Getaway
Ranked #2 of 323 hotels in Los Angeles
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Amazing Retreat! Best Service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

This resort hotel is in the hills of Bel Air above Beverly Hills. The newly renovated rooms are very tech oriented, you can control everything from the phones or iPad in the room.

The best part of the hotel is the service, everyone remembers you by name, and the answer is always yes. Probably one of the best hotels we have ever stayed!

Another to recommend is the food at the hotel, it is excellent and you can order anything. Especially the best is to have a relaxing lunch at the pool. They serve it on elevated trays.

One thing to recommend, if you stay here you should rent car to take full advantage of the LA area.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a patio, lots of space. We would recommend the ones in between the reception and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise F, General Manager at Hotel Bel-Air, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear 781elephant,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Hotel Bel-Air. I am thrilled to know that you enjoyed your stay with us, from the unrivaled location, to the guestrooms, to the restaurant. However, what means the most to me is to read that you received exemplary service for all our team members during your recent visit. And I couldn’t agree more - lunch by the pool is delightful, especially with the endless California sunshine that we are lucky enough to enjoy.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Warm regards,
Denise Flanders
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    280
    49
    12
    13
    6
See reviews for
70
161
22
38
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

Great location and very peaceful. We stayed one night as we were doing the VIP tour at Universal the next day and didn't want to hit the LA traffic on the Monday morning. We were staying at the Pelican Hill resort in Newport for 16 nights and wanted to have a brief visit to LA and do the Universal tour. Hotel Bel Air did not disappoint us the service was impeccable from the valet parking to the free local limo service. I would thoroughly recommend this hotel and as its in a very peaceful area of LA but close to downtown.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise F, General Manager at Hotel Bel-Air, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Dear Putney69,

Thank you for your recent review of Hotel Bel-Air. It's great that you decided to stay with us on your brief visit to LA and avoid the city's infamous traffic! I am so pleased that you enjoyed your experience ... from the great location and peaceful setting, to the house car service provided for our guests. But what means the most to me was to know that you appreciated the impeccable service provided by our very special team members.

Thank you again for your kind words and we very much look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Warm regards,
Denise Flanders
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

From the moment I left my car with the valet and walked over the bridge, I knew I was in for something special. I booked through Amex Platinum's FH&R program, and was able to check in early and get the promised upgrade. The included breakfast was done simply as a bill credit for anything ordered in the restaurant or by room service before 3PM, up to $80, which was so handy. I had a deluxe guestroom with patio, from which you literally cannot be overlooked by another person. The decor of the guestroom was immaculate, with great amenities (heated bathroom floors, B&O televisions, iPad room controllers). Service knows you by name from check-in. I can't think of a single negative thing to say about my entire stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise F, General Manager at Hotel Bel-Air, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Dear kathycastro,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit at Hotel Bel-Air. It is wonderful to know that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay ... from the amazing location of the hotel, to the décor and amenities within the guestrooms. Most of our accommodations do feature private patios and this very special feature is much appreciated by our guests. And I too love our heated floors! But what means the most to me is to hear that you received Five Star service from all of our team members, who clearly provided you with a memorable and unique experience during your stay with us. Thank you again for your kind words, which I will happily share with everyone at the hotel.

We hope to welcome you back very soon. Until then, enjoy the summer season.

Warm regards,
Denise Flanders
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

Exceptional! Stayed for 4 nights and couldn't find a fault.

Room, service, food, people......top shelf!

Courtesy car was easy to access to and from the hotel. Concierge sorted tour bookings and gave fantastic recommendations for restaurants.

Great stay!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise F, General Manager at Hotel Bel-Air, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Dear Whytex,

Thank you for your review of Hotel Bel-Air. How wonderful to hear that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay, from your guestroom, to the food, to the service provided by our five star serviced professionals. But what delights me most is to know that our concierge team was able to provide you with ‘fantastic recommendations for restaurants,' which enabled you to truly appreciate LA's vibrant dining scene. Please know that I will share your kind words with our team, as I know it will mean a great deal to them.

Looking forward to welcoming you again very soon.

Warm regards,
Denise Flanders
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

we have always stayed in the beverly hills hotel on sunset for 10 years and its a great hotel.
we recently discovered the sister hotel the Bel air.
its so peaceful and quiet, apart from weekends, when it gets crowded by the pool and in the restaurants but the service and the rooms are fantastic.
we booked already to go in 2015,you need 4 nights minimum as its takes this time to really chill out.best time to go is arrive sunday and leave thursday,you get the place to yourselves.
spa/gym fantastic,has free shuttle limo to restaurants and shopping.
we loved it.
dave

Room Tip: get a room with a patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise F, General Manager at Hotel Bel-Air, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Dear lordcave,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Hotel Bel-Air. It is great to hear that you have been staying at our sister property, The Beverly Hills Hotel, for the past ten years. We are so fortunate to have two sister properties in Los Angeles that offer such unique experiences and meet a variety of specific needs and preferences.

It's wonderful that you decided to drive up the road and try Hotel Bel-Air this time. I am delighted to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your experience, from the peaceful setting, to the spa facilities, to the house car service provided for our guests. I am even more thrilled to hear that your stay was so pleasant that you decided to return in a year. We very much look forward to welcoming you again then!

Once again, thank you for your kind words and we will see you again in 2015.

Warm regards,
Denise Flanders
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

The hotel is stunning, and the service is beyond perfection. It was worth every penny, and it is the only hotel I will stay in while visiting Los Angeles. Thank you to the entire staff for making my visit so enjoyable. The hotel is luxurious and beautiful. The setting is serine. The staff is kind and helpful to a person.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise F, General Manager at Hotel Bel-Air, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Dear daratillot,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay at Hotel Bel-Air. I am delighted to hear that you loved the hotel so much ... from the setting, to the rooms, to the overall product. But what makes me extremely happy is to hear that you were provided with five star service by our team members, ‘making your visit so enjoyable.' Thank you again for all your lovely comments, which I will make sure to share with everyone as I know it will mean a great deal to them.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back during your next visit to Los Angeles.

Warm Regards,
Denise Flanders
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

We stayed one night at the Bel Air and left with a positive first impression.

Arriving a little early our room wasn't quite ready so the lady at front desk asked us if we'd mind waiting and would call us when it was ready. We were sort of left to wander around the property for half an hour which felt a bit odd.

Nevertheless, after finding ourselves back in the comfortable lobby I asked for some coffee to help stave-off our jetlag which was duly brought out and a nice gesture. Even more so was the room upgrade we were offered which was unexpected but highly appreciated.

After freshening up we enjoyed drinks at the bar (the cocktails are superb!) and enjoyed a light supper there too. Food is excellent, service attentive and charming.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise F, General Manager at Hotel Bel-Air, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Dear TJF1976,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay with us. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you had the opportunity to also sample some wonderful cocktails and light fare at The Bar and Lounge. But you must know that what means the most to me is knowing that you were provided with an ‘attentive’ and ‘charming’ service by our team members.
I am, however, sorry that your check-in was not reflective of the Five star standards that we are committed to delivering to our guests on a daily basis. I will make sure to follow up on this in order to ensure it does not happen again.

Thank you for your kind words and we do hope to welcome you back on your next visit to Los Angeles.

Warm Regards,
Denise Flanders
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Bel-Air? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bel-Air

Address: 701 Stone Canyon Rd., Los Angeles, CA 90077
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Westside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Los Angeles
#1 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#1 Luxury Hotel in Los Angeles
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Los Angeles
#3 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
#5 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Bel-Air 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on 12 acres in the Bel-Air Estates neighborhood of Los Angeles, the iconic Hotel Bel-Air is one of the most beautiful, romantic, and exclusive hotels in the world. Just opened after a two year transformation, this Spanish mission-style urban oasis wins a never-ending stream of praise for its faultless service, luxurious accommodations, and magical ambiance. All newly renovated rooms and suites feature a new generation of design aesthetic and is reflected through different design themes from the glamorous decades of the 1930s, 40s and 50s conveyed in a fresh, youthful and elegant manner. The famous restaurant, bar, catering and in-room dining services are managed by world-renowned Master Chef Wolfgang Puck with a menu featuring modern California cuisine with European and Mediterranean influences in a spectacular garden setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Amex, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hotel Bel-Air reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Bel Air

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Bel-Air, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.