We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Every time Love it” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Bel-Air

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Bel-Air to your Saves list
Hotel Bel-Air
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   701 Stone Canyon Rd., Los Angeles, CA 90077 (Westside)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Deluxe Breakfast Getaway
Ranked #2 of 339 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
Farmington Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Every time Love it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

If you live high, there is only one place to go in the LA area. Beverly HIlls Hotel Bel-Air. Truly this Hotel loves it clients and treats them such. I travel all over the world. This is one of the best best anywhere. From the location to the staff to the rooms. Yes there are celebrites there, but the Hotel always treats it quest as though the are all celebrites. The privacy here is also a very wonderful part of the experience. Wonderful Restaurant also. No need to leave the Hotel while you are in the LA area. Richard Rollins.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise F, General Manager at Hotel Bel-Air, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear Richard Rollins,

It is wonderful to be considered one of the best hotels in the world from a well-traveled guest such as yourself. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your time with us and thank you for recommending Hotel Bel-Air. We look forward to your return.

Warm Regards,
Denise Flanders
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

471 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    366
    70
    15
    13
    7
See reviews for
92
212
31
49
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This was a plush, classy, ritzy place. Celebrities and people with money definitely stay here as a matter of fact I spotted a couple,,,anyway,,,,its a great place to hide away surrounded with the high hills and greenery. They have individual bungalow looking accomodations which I enjoyed one which has their own private patio, with an office that is enclosed with glass windows where you can see the walkway. The bathroom was granite filled shower and sink and the surrounding bathtub. The bed was so huge and plushy you felt like you wanted to sink in it and not get up. There was a flat screen on the wall in the bedroom as well as the bathroom above the huge tub. There were guest robes and house slippers and fruit and chocolates to snack on beside the refrigerator stocked with eat and pay snacks. They do offer Sun. Brunch

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise F, General Manager at Hotel Bel-Air, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Tacmyster,

I am happy you enjoyed your recent visit to Hotel Bel-Air. With the majority of our rooms located on the ground level in a residential neighborhood, like a private home, the hotel is truly residential and one of a kind. It is wonderful to hear you enjoyed your room and overall experience at Hotel Bel-Air.

We hope to see you again!

Warm Regards,
Denise Flanders
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Even the most bored traveler will get the 'Wow effect' entering the Bel Air.

We arrived in the evening and were immediately surrounded by the wonderful fragrances of the garden.

The staff is simply excellent (smiling, not snobbish) and the hotel lay-out remember the Hollywood grandeur of the 50's.

The Bel Air is located in the Bel Air neighborhood, a quite a beautiful area. Though, close from many beaches, attractions or down town L.A.

Rooms are perfectly clean, with a sober and beautiful design. Bathrooms are perfectly equipped.

We had dinner at the bar (excellent pianist) and at the restaurant (Michelin star quality).
Breakfast is 'à la carte', good news for those bored with buffets and have many newspapers, including two in French.

In summary, the Bel AIr is a great place to stay (really) and offer decent pricing.

Room Tip: Ask a room not to close from the restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise F, General Manager at Hotel Bel-Air, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Pierre G,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience at Hotel Bel-Air on TripAdvisor. When our guests cross over our famous bridge into the beautiful gardens it provides them with a truly unique experience, or as you put it our “wow effect.” It is great to hear the staff provided you with the five star service we are known for. I am delighted you enjoyed dining at Wolfgang Puck at Hotel Bel-Air and The Bar & Lounge.

Thank you for recommending Hotel Bel-Air and please do come back and visit us again!

Warm Regards,
Denise Flanders
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
84 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

I'm always surprised to reserve a room at the beautiful Hotel Bel Air during the week at similar rates of the standard business hotels. The rooms are very comfortable and the adjoining patios with the lush tropical landscaping always makes me fell like I'm on vacation even when I'm not. The service is excellent. The Hotal Bel Air is also a very romantic hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise F, General Manager at Hotel Bel-Air, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear RD o,

Thank you for choosing Hotel Bel-Air on your recent visit to Los Angeles. I am glad we were able to make your business trip feel like a vacation! We hope to see you again very soon.

Warm Regards,
Denise Flanders
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Level Contributor
40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

This is a beautiful hotel. Very calm, beautifully designed, carefully managed. It is quiet by the pool- very elegant....quiet in the room- very tranquil. It is a hotel that does not seem to have "crowds"..... its very calm and soothing. I like this hotel much more than the better addressed Beverly Hills Hotel and Bungalows. (But, my Singapore friends prefer the BHH&B.)
I am sure it is subjective - your mood that day, the person checking you in/ escorting you to your room, instructing you on the personal iPad, etc.....but I just love this hotel. One of my favorites.
Recently redone. Gorgeous room design. Super quiet. Great service. Etc.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise F, General Manager at Hotel Bel-Air, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Ocean88,

Hotel Bel-Air is located among 12 acres of gardens in a residential neighborhood creating the ultimate environment for an urban retreat. Even when we are 100% full, our guests would never know. It is truly a unique and beautiful setting.

It is very nice to hear we are your favorite hotel, and we hope you will be back to visit us in the near future.

Warm Regards,
Denise Flanders
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minnesota
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Secluded estate in Bel Air which is as quiet as it gets. No wonder stars stay here to "hide"! The layout is odd, but that's what makes it special. It would be fun to see the interior of every room on the property as I'm sure no two rooms are identical. Wolfgang Puck restaurant was fantastic, yet pricey. Try the lamb shank!!

Had a problem with our room, I complained and assistant manager, Rebecca (sp?), immediately took care of the problem, arranged for a new suite, no questions asked, and re-welcomed us with plates of treats and a very nice message. Customer service here is 5 star for sure.

Stayed with two younger teenagers and they loved it too. The cozy outside fireplace is a great place to have a cigar! The lobby is cozy, with excellent updated interior design. Would stay there again in an instant!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise F, General Manager at Hotel Bel-Air, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear DietandCoco,

Thank you for your recent review. Since Hotel Bel-Air was originally a private Spanish estate it has many different unique qualities as a hotel. Every room in the hotel does have a one of a kind layout, which we find our guests love because they have endless options and many try different room categories so they can determine their favorite for their next visit. On your next visit I encourage you to try some other options.

I am pleased to hear your entire family enjoyed the Hotel Bel-Air experience and we hope to see you again soon.

Warm Regards,
Denise Flanders
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level Contributor
121 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Spent Spring Break in Los Angeles. Did a lot of research to try to decide between BHH and HBA. So glad we chose HBA. We were traveling with our two kids ages 13 and 8, a babysitter and our toy poodle. We got room 177 which was perfect for us with two bedrooms, two and half baths and a large living room with pull out couch. Only downside was it had very little light and no views. However it was great to have the square footage and have all of us under one roof. Where do I start? We pulled up and my 8 year old decided to pump the theme of the "Prince of Bel-AIr" from his IPod when we arrived at the valet. They valet were very sweet, laughed and I knew were at the right place. Overall all of the staff was very attentive yet never arrogant. Gwen our tireless Concierge hugged me as she and I had gone back and forth on so many activities. She was superb. Coming from a cold and wet New York the gardens were incredible. Flowers everywhere and we never tired of walking the grounds. The pool was fabulous, good service and no scene. Tolerant of children but not loud either. We ate often at the Wolfgang Puck restaurant as the food was outstanding and the service was also accomodating. Overall the hotel is very elegant, chic and reminds you of Old Hollywood. Also after two days at Unversal Studios and Disneyland we were oh so happy to return to the quiet sanctuary of the Bel-Air. Absolutely perfect. Have the Monroe if you are over 21 and the Peach Smash if under 21.

Room Tip: Get a room with a patio if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise F, General Manager at Hotel Bel-Air, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear rdkflk,

I am pleased your family decided to stay at Hotel Bel-Air on your recent Spring Break in Los Angeles. It is great to hear you enjoyed staying in our Two Bedroom Bel-Air Suite and that our staff provided you with attentive service throughout your stay. I will be sure to pass along your kind note to Gwen, she will be happy she put a special touch on your stay.

Monroe’s Passion is a great recommendation! It is our signature cocktail and pays homage to our former resident, Marilyn Monroe. We truly enjoyed having your family stay with us and hope to see you back this summer!

Warm Regards,
Denise Flanders
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Los Angeles
Downtown
Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza
Central L.A
Magic Castle Hotel
Magic Castle Hotel
#1 of 339 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 stars 2,397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hollywood
Loews Hollywood Hotel
Loews Hollywood Hotel
#18 of 339 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 stars 2,007 reviews
Downtown
The Ritz-Carlton, Los Angeles
The Ritz-Carlton, Los Angeles
#11 of 339 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 stars 330 reviews
LAX Area
Residence Inn by Marriott Los Angeles LAX / Century Blvd
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bel-Air? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bel-Air

Address: 701 Stone Canyon Rd., Los Angeles, CA 90077
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Westside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Los Angeles
#1 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#1 Luxury Hotel in Los Angeles
#4 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
#6 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Bel-Air 5*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on 12 acres in the Bel-Air Estates neighborhood of Los Angeles, the iconic Hotel Bel-Air is one of the most beautiful, romantic, and exclusive hotels in the world. Just opened after a two year transformation, this Spanish mission-style urban oasis wins a never-ending stream of praise for its faultless service, luxurious accommodations, and magical ambiance. All newly renovated rooms and suites feature a new generation of design aesthetic and is reflected through different design themes from the glamorous decades of the 1930s, 40s and 50s conveyed in a fresh, youthful and elegant manner. The famous restaurant, bar, catering and in-room dining services are managed by world-renowned Master Chef Wolfgang Puck with a menu featuring modern California cuisine with European and Mediterranean influences in a spectacular garden setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Agoda, EasyToBook, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Bel-Air reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Bel Air

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Bel-Air, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.