We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Masterpiece” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Bel-Air

Save Saved
You added Hotel Bel-Air to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Bel-Air
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   701 Stone Canyon Rd., Los Angeles, CA 90077 (Westside)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Deluxe Breakfast Getaway
Ranked #2 of 322 hotels in Los Angeles
Oklahoma City
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A Masterpiece”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Stayed 3 nights and felt more relaxed than if I had gone somewhere else for a week. A true vacation. Room was spectacular, very large and quiet, with a fireplace. Room service was excellent as was the food. The staff were friendly, not in the least snooty. We were treated with resect, much like the famous guests staying there. Had the opportunity to meet Wolfgang Puck during lunch on our last day. The 90 minute deep tissue massage was heavenly and workout facility was more than adequate. Highly recommend!

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the hillside area. Very quiet and peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise F, General Manager at Hotel Bel-Air, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear scrow595,

When you visit Hotel Bel-Air you often feel as if you could be anywhere in the world! I am pleased you enjoyed every aspect of your stay, including your visit from Chef Wolfgang.

Please come back and visit us again!

Warm Regards,
Denise Flanders
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    269
    47
    11
    13
    5
See reviews for
64
156
21
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
109 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Mission style, with tiled mediterranean fountains and country club style outdoor dining. Pink walls, and a gorgeous tiled swimming pool. A beautiful restaurant and bar. Our only regret was taking one of the entry-level rooms, which whilst still lovely in its art deco glam could have been larger. For more check out neilsonparc's hotel lust list.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise F, General Manager at Hotel Bel-Air, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Dear neilsonparc,

I am glad you enjoyed your stay at Hotel Bel-Air and you were able to capture the true essence of the hotel. Did you know we have our own paint color “Bel-Air Pink,” that is original to the hotel?

We hope to welcome you back to Hotel Bel-Air in the near future.

Warm Regards,
Denise Flanders
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

They earn every one of those five stars. My room was beautiful, immaculate,comfortable...faultless. We loved it so much, we ate breakfast on our patio every morning in our robes, rather than leave the property. Room service was perfect and timely every morning. Drinks at the bar were delicious and served by a friendly and knowledgeable bartender. Dinner at Wolfgang Buck restaurant was delicious, and our sommelier was also very knowledgeable and helpful. The walking path around the lake with the swans is so pretty, it's a crime not to stroll around it. The surprising part was how conveniently located it is to everything. I thought the hotel would be more of a hike, but it is really convenient to Beverly Hills, Westwood, and the 405. Last, but certainly not least, a special thank you to Mat, our concierge who went above and beyond. You are a dear. See you next time.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise F, General Manager at Hotel Bel-Air, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear daratillot,

It sounds like you had a wonderful experience during your stay with us! Hotel Bel-Air is truly an enclave of tranquility, so close yet so far from the hustle and bustle of Los Angeles. It's intimacy and natural setting lend itself to escaping from it all. I will make sure to give a special thanks to Matt, he will be happy he made a difference in your stay.

See you soon!

Warm Regards,
Denise Flanders
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

5 big stars hotel we stayed at the loft room
Food quality is perfect specially the breakfast
Hotel garden is amazing established
Front desk and the concierge are very helpful

But there was sounds at night it seems that there is ghosts

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise F, General Manager at Hotel Bel-Air, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear Ahmed A,

The loft rooms are one of the newest additions to the hotel, and I am pleased you enjoyed them! I am also very happy to hear you enjoyed breakfast, the garden environment and the our five-star staff provided you with superlative service.

We hope to see you again at Hotel Bel-Air.

Warm Regards,
Denise Flanders
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Got recommended for dinner at this hotel on my wedding anniversary and very glad that i did, just stunning, only had a lovely meal in Wolfgang Pucks restaurant, and sorry to say i didnt see the hotel in all its glory in the daytime

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise F, General Manager at Hotel Bel-Air, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear welltravelledDorset,

Thank you for celebrating your anniversary at Wolfgang Puck at Hotel Bel-Air. I am glad you enjoyed your dining experience as well as our spectacular garden setting. Experiencing the nighttime and daytime at Hotel Bel-Air is a must. Both provide a special experience and I look forward to the day you will be back to see us, perhaps this Spring when the blossoms are in full bloom?

Warm Regards,
Denise Flanders
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

The renovated Hotel Bel-Air is beautiful, but is a little to modern for our taste, and lacks a bit of the charm that the old hotel had. That being said, the service was excellent from check-in to check-out, the rooms are gorgeous (even though it was difficult to figure out the phones, iPads, lights, etc without a lesson, becaue it's so high tech) and the grounds, with the lush greenery and swans, is magical. We live in Los Angeles so it was a treat to stay just for one night. It's pricey but worth it as long as a bit of serenity and getting away from the crowd is what you are looking for.

Room Tip: The upgraded loft rooms are nice but a bit of a walk unless being close to the Spa is what you are l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise F, General Manager at Hotel Bel-Air, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear Denise T,

I appreciate you taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay. I am sorry to hear the design was not your taste, but we understand just like viewing a work of art, design and decor is a very personal experience.

It is great to hear you enjoyed the service, the rooms, and the beautiful grounds. We hope to see you again!

Warm Regards,
Denise Flanders
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Hotel Be-Air is my choice from now on when in LA.
Absolutely superb! We had amazing service from the beginning to the end. This is what I call service! There has been some top notch training involved for sure!

The ambiance of this place is incredible - situated in the middle of beautiful forest trees, you don't even feel you are in the middle of a cosmopolitan city!

The restaurant is by Wolfgang Puck, whom we met, and really great!
The bar is great also.
The SPA is fantastic, small but offers great treatments!

For it being such a great place, the price is reasonable compared to other hotels. It's close to Rodeo Dr., Sunset, and Santa Monica is 10 minutes away on the hwy. Really central!

Spectacular and can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise F, General Manager at Hotel Bel-Air, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear live4thebeach072,

I am happy to hear Hotel Bel-Air is your first choice when staying in Los Angeles! It is great to hear our five star staff made a difference in your stay.

Chef Wolfgang is an amazing individual and spends a lot of time at Hotel Bel-Air, I am glad you were able to meet him. The location of Hotel Bel-Air is something that really sets us apart, being only up the street from Sunset Boulevard and Beverly Hills, when you arrive to the hotel you feel a world away. It is a true escape in the heart of Los Angeles.

See you soon!

Warm Regards,
Denise Flanders
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Bel-Air? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bel-Air

Address: 701 Stone Canyon Rd., Los Angeles, CA 90077
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Westside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Los Angeles
#1 Spa Hotel in Los Angeles
#1 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Los Angeles
#3 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
#4 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Bel-Air 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on 12 acres in the Bel-Air Estates neighborhood of Los Angeles, the iconic Hotel Bel-Air is one of the most beautiful, romantic, and exclusive hotels in the world. Just opened after a two year transformation, this Spanish mission-style urban oasis wins a never-ending stream of praise for its faultless service, luxurious accommodations, and magical ambiance. All newly renovated rooms and suites feature a new generation of design aesthetic and is reflected through different design themes from the glamorous decades of the 1930s, 40s and 50s conveyed in a fresh, youthful and elegant manner. The famous restaurant, bar, catering and in-room dining services are managed by world-renowned Master Chef Wolfgang Puck with a menu featuring modern California cuisine with European and Mediterranean influences in a spectacular garden setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Amex, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Hotel Bel-Air reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Bel Air

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Bel-Air, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.