We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Chinese food” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Panda Express

Panda Express
121 N La Cienega Blvd, Los Angeles, CA 90048 (Central L.A)
(310) 659-4568
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #877 of 8,555 restaurants in Los Angeles
Price range: $0 - $10
Cuisines: Chinese, Fast Food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Neighborhood: Central L.A
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
2,850 reviews 2,850 reviews
1,002 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 125 cities Reviews in 125 cities
7,044 helpful votes 7,044 helpful votes
“Good Chinese food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Had a quick lunch at the Panda Express located in the International Terminal at LAX recently and was generally pleased with my lunch. The Chinese food here is not genuinely authentic to what you will find in China or Hong Kong but it is a nice, sweet, interpretation and made for a nice lunch.

I had the 2 entree plate (US$8.95) that was a large box of egg fried rice and two mains, I tried the Orange Chicken and the Beijing Beef. Both were on the sweet side but the flavour of both meats was fine. The Beijing beef was surprisingly good. Rice served with the plate was ok. The portion was too large for me to finish, much more that we usually try to eat in a single sitting back home.

Overall, I liked the Panda Express, found their food to be a nice version of Chinese food. Would have no problem eating at a Panda Express branch from time to time.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

78% Recommend
    16
    13
    4
    0
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belo Horizonte, MG
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Perfection!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

By far, my favorite restaurant/fast food of all times. I love chinese and if you are a lover also, this is your place to go. Cheap, clean and amazing!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linwood, New Jersey
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“worst panda ever”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

I like going to Panda express because they are usually good and consistent. This location was not. Went 7/21 sunday evening and the food looked past its shelf life, but I got it anyway because I had never had a bad experience in the past. Big mistake. Service was not friendly, food was barely warm, the egg rolls looked like bricks, and they overcharged me on the entrees. Food was tasteless and boring, had been sitting too long I think.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“We loved Panda Express”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

We ate at a few different Panda Express restaurants throughout LA, and have to say we loved it!!The plates are huge, at first we bought a plate each for our family of 5, then we worked out that we can easily share less plates for us all. The food is delicious, much better than living off pizza and burgers while on our trip.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City, Philippines
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
“A Chinese Fastfood in Los Angeles, California”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

One of the largest fastfood chain of Chinese cuisine is Panda Express. When we were staying at Alisa Viejo, we had take out dinner. Then, our family of five moved over to Fullerton. With the erratic weather, we had to wait for a sunny day to walk around the neighborhood and down to the Mall below. The kids with my Mother of 88 years old in a wheelchair first shopped at Old Navy and Target. When lunch time came, we all met with the rest of the family at Panda Express. It was easy to order.....Rice toppings of sweet and sour pork, fish fillet in black bean paste, noodles, congee and your typical chinese food. The restaurant even had a table outside and we all decided to have our lunch in the open air. Surprisingly, the other family members followed in their own cars and we had an instant family meal on a nicely warm sunny day.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Panda Express also viewed

Los Angeles, CA
Los Angeles, CA
 

Been to Panda Express? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Panda Express, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.