We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of JW Marriott Hotel Los Angeles at L.A. LIVE

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added JW Marriott Hotel Los Angeles at L.A. LIVE to your Saves list
JW Marriott Hotel Los Angeles at L.A. LIVE
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   900 West Olympic Boulevard, Los Angeles, CA 90015 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$25 Daily Credit
Ranked #20 of 324 Hotels in Los Angeles
GreenLeadersSilver level
australia
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Pleasant stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Good location in down town Los Angeles.
Many good restaurants nearby to choose from.
Rooms quiet, clean and comfortable.
Appreciate tea, coffee and bottled water provided. A request - china mugs instead of take away cups for in- room coffee?

Stayed December 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    594
    432
    108
    36
    28
See reviews for
167
207
64
581
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (265)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cairo, Egypt
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I believe this hotel is good enough for having conferences, group meetings or business dinners but if you are visiting LA for leisure than better look for somewhere else far from downtown.

Rooms: Vast area and well equipped furniture. Don’t expect a hint of luxury though; just the essentials
View: Nice view of LA downtown
Breakfast: Very poor open buffet with just few items. However, you can order nice omelette, pan cakes, waffles or French toast that are included in your breakfast.
Check in - Check out: Very fast, professional and friendly staff
Location: At the heart of downtown (however, it is totally unadvisable to stay at downtown LA)
Internet: I still can’t stop hating hotels who charge for Wifi but I have to say that connection was really fast and stable (12$ per day)
Sleep Quality: My room was at the 21st floor so i was far enough from street noise
Value: Good price for a luxurious hotel at the mid of downtown

Recommendation: If you are insisting on lodging in downtown area than this hotel might be a good, recommended option. However, my advice is to avoid downtown LA where there is nothing interesting to do and walking might be a bit unfriendly because of the homeless and countless crazy people talking and laughing to themselves.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

My family of four had a staycation at LALive JW Marriott after seeing Disney On Ice. Our stay was excellent. Great location, clean and modern accommodations, excellent customer service and prompt room service. We were able to check in at 12pm and requested a late check out with no problem. Definitely returning soon!

Stayed December 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

My arrival set the tone for my stay - unfortunately we perhaps got the most miserable front desk person checking us in. Not a smile or anything... just checked in and here's your room key. Disappointing for this level of hotel! The poolside was unattended when we were there even at 11am which I thought was surprising. The pool was also extremely hot - pretty much as warm as the jacuzzi so swimming in it was not very pleasant. The rooms are adequate (although you can hear noises outside) and perhaps on the large side. My other gripe is the extortionately high parking charges at $42 per day! Worth considering other hotels nearby which either have parking included or do not charge so much. Stayed at many JW and Marriott hotels but this is by far one of the most disappointing.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anna l, at JW Marriott Hotel Los Angeles at L.A. LIVE, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear MyopinionLondon,

Thank you for choosing the JW Marriott Los Angeles L.A.LIVE.

We sincerely apologize for the experience you had during your stay, especially during your check in time. Please note the managers at the Front Desk are well aware, and will ensure to review these issues with our Front Desk agents. With everything else you have noted, we will make sure to learn from these opportunities, and improve in the level of services we provide to our guests. We do hope to have you back with us in the future, and show you genuine care and comfort. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland Park, New Jersey
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I've never stayed at this hotel; however, the only thing my brother asked for for Christmas was JW Marriott pens. He had gotten one when he stayed at this hotel and loved it. So I emailed Marriott and they immediately forwarded my email to the hotel. I received an email from Michael Soriano, the Director of Services within 24 hours saying no problem, they would be happy to send me pens, free of charge. All he said was please stay loyal to Marriott.

I was thrilled - so many hotels these days are cheap or don't even respond to emails. However, I was even more thrilled and surprised when the box arrived and there were 50 pens! And a nice hand written note from Michael.

Marriott has always been my first choice for hotels and this just reinforces why. I would stay at this hotel purely knowing that the staff cares.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I am here for a conference at LA Convention Center. It is easy to walk to meetings, The staff in lobby are nice and helpful. The lobby offers 2 large bars and good space to meet and network with clients.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bay area, california
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I've been here twice now for corporate events. The rooms are spacious, simple, and clean -- very relaxing after a day of conference chaos. I was fortunate enough to get upgraded to a junior suite on this trip, but the standard room was plenty big as well.

There are plenty of nearby restaurants of all price levels and food variety nearby, which gives you plenty of choices for meals within walking distance.

The conference facilities are well organized and spacious, which makes it a great venue for an event. I've been to plenty of other events where the conference facilities were not nearly as convenient to the guest rooms. The catering services are also quite good. The mid-session oatmeal-raisin cookies were downright dangerously good.

The staff is very welcoming and friendly, even when faced with corporate conference chaos and all of the random attitudes and issues that come with it.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to JW Marriott Hotel Los Angeles at L.A. LIVE? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Hotel Los Angeles at L.A. LIVE

Address: 900 West Olympic Boulevard, Los Angeles, CA 90015
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 324 Hotels in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — JW Marriott Hotel Los Angeles at L.A. LIVE 4*
Number of rooms: 877
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your JW Marriott Hotel Los Angeles at L.A. LIVE reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JW Marriott Hotel Los Angeles at L.A. LIVE, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.