We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's Tough to Go Wrong” 4 of 5 stars
Review of JW Marriott Hotel Los Angeles at L.A. LIVE

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added JW Marriott Hotel Los Angeles at L.A. LIVE to your Saves list
JW Marriott Hotel Los Angeles at L.A. LIVE
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   900 West Olympic Boulevard, Los Angeles, CA 90015 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #26 of 339 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
Folsom, California, United States
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“It's Tough to Go Wrong”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

The lobby is a hub of activity that contributes to a hip, fun feeling. The staff is courteous and efficient. The property seemed to be a slightly scaled up version of other JW hotels and that is a good thing. Our room was modern and well-maintained. All thing considered, I'd definitely stay here again when business or pleasure calls in the area!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,322 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    651
    477
    120
    43
    31
See reviews for
187
233
72
630
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (286)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hillsborough, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

This hotel is truly beautiful and "snazzy"... the lobby is gorgeous, and the rooms are very spacious and comfortable. Any Marriot I've ever stayed in is lovely, and the staff very friendly. It's just that they kind of all blend together after a while, and there is nothing really unique and memorable about it. It's me, I know... but I'd rather stay in a comfortable, clean hotel that is personal and special in some way. Unless you are going to a concert or sporting event, there is NOTHING within walking distance of interest. Every touristy type place you could want to go to is at LEAST a $50 ONE WAY taxi ride. If you have a car, good luck in the traffic, but at least you can get around more economically. I should have rented a car... even with the parking fee, it would have been cheaper than all the taxi rides. The bathrooms are luxurious; room service good, and fast. The elevators are lightening fast.

Room Tip: Avoid 4th floor unless you want to have a lot of traffic from the pool-goers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

Beacon in the night after multiple delayed flights left us stranded at LAX for the night. Appearing at the check in desk at 3 am, disheveled, no luggage, cranky - their front desk team whipped into action! Checked us in, got my daughter a T-shirt to sleep in, all the toiletries we needed for the night. EXCELLENT service. The room was big, clean and with pillow top mattresses. Water pressure outstanding

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

Nice lobby, good staff and service, good rooms. Overall very comfortable. An excellent breakfast. Located brillliantly. Behind the hotel is alively square with restaurants and a lot of activity. Good fun around

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

We had a very pleasant stay at this hotel. I was surprised by the decor and cleanliness, pleasantly so. We stayed on the concierge level and really enjoyed ourselves. We ate breakfast every morning at their restaurant - it was delicious and the service was top notch.

I would definitely recommend this hotel and come back for another stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waynesboro, Virginia
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

As I have mentioned in previous reviews, when I review a luxury hotel, I compare it to similar types of luxury hotels (I fully expect it to be several notches above a Fairfield Inn!). That being said, this hotel deserves a solid 4 star, bordering on 5 star rating. The location is amazing (across street from Staples Center and next to LA Live and the Nokia Theater) and hotel is very fashionable, clean and well attended. As a Marriott platinum member, I was upgraded to a Jr Suite (would love to see a Sr Suite as my room was quite spacious with a fantastic view). I also had access to the "executive lounge", which had a standard breakfast (same each day, which got boring) as well as light dinner food and snacks through the day. Fitness center was quite well appointed although several TV's did not work. Why not 5 stars? I do not like the extra cost for internet (waived for platinum members, but still...), the $42 parking (luckily I took a shuttle but if you drive, park across the street!), no microwave in the suite, no variety in breakfast and several dead TV's in the fitness center. None of them big items, but enough combined to cost a star. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

I stayed in a beautiful Executive King Corner Room, it was very large and offered great city views out of both windows. The bathroom was also very spacious with a huge shower too! The hotel is in the LA Live Complex and there's a movie theatre, a bowling alley, restaurants and bars in the complex and it's located next to the Staples Center. The location is fabulous, great for families, friends or couples that want to be in an area with a lot to do within walking distance.

Room Tip: Corner suites are large and over great view of the city, especially at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to JW Marriott Hotel Los Angeles at L.A. LIVE? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Hotel Los Angeles at L.A. LIVE

Address: 900 West Olympic Boulevard, Los Angeles, CA 90015
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 339 Hotels in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — JW Marriott Hotel Los Angeles at L.A. LIVE 4*
Number of rooms: 877
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, BookIt.com, Priceline, Marriott, Orbitz, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your JW Marriott Hotel Los Angeles at L.A. LIVE reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JW Marriott Hotel Los Angeles at L.A. LIVE, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.