We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Downtown LA Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of JW Marriott Hotel Los Angeles at L.A. LIVE

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added JW Marriott Hotel Los Angeles at L.A. LIVE to your Saves list
JW Marriott Hotel Los Angeles at L.A. LIVE
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   900 West Olympic Boulevard, Los Angeles, CA 90015 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$25 Daily Credit
Ranked #20 of 324 Hotels in Los Angeles
GreenLeadersSilver level
Chicago
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Perfect Downtown LA Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

If you are going to the Staples Center, Nokia Theater, or the Convention Center, this hotel is perfectly located. In fact, the location, with its close proximity to numerous dining and entertainment options, is the best thing about the hotel. The rooms are pretty typical of a Marriott. The lighting in the bathroom was poor and there was no fan in the bathroom, but those are minor issues. Everything else in the room was perfect. The maid service was excellent. I would definitely stay here again. For a quick meal or drink, Tom's Urban and The Yard House are a one minute walk away and are reasonably priced and offer good food. In fact, the breakfast at Tom's Urban was excellent and the place was nearly empty every morning, so I enjoyed amazing service.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    596
    433
    108
    36
    28
See reviews for
168
208
64
582
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (266)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Orange, California
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

First time to stay with JW - I think they are emulating the Mandarin Oriental in decor and style - there were some issues with the location - $42 for parking?? Unbelievable... The flashing lights from the big screens on the surrounding buildings were hard to block out with the curtains - great design in the bathroom - high end toiletries. The bed was comfortable - although no international TV stations - that was weird given the location and clientele... $12 for internet - because the can - and the bed skirt was stained - so I don't know if I would stay again.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms facing the plaza with the big screens - they can be really bright at night!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atherton, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

I enjoyed my stay at this lovely hotel. The rooms were updated and very large. Clean updated bathrooms with view of the Staples Center, and Nokia Theater. I would highly recommend staying here if you plan on staying in the download LA area. Thumbs up JW Marriott, keep up the good work!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

Nice hotel. I stayed for one night to attend an even at LA LIVE. The lobby is very nicely decor and spacious. Open roof pool on level 4. We stayed at floor 18. I don't like the bars outside my windows. I'm not sure if this applied for the whole hotel but these bars are ugly and they ruin my view. I had a two double beds room and the beds were small for two people. The room was spacious. The bathroom is big but there was no standing shower.
They valet park your car but you have to go down to the garage to pick up. And $42 valet parking is standard at these downtown hotels. You can park across the street for $10 overnight with security and gated. Since I traveled with my family, I had to park at the hotel for convenience. Otherwise, just park across the street.

Stayed April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Hills, California
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

I am a loyal Marriott Rewards Member so I am always looking for "deals" for a weekend getaway through the Elite Program. Downtown LA (DTLA) is a great destination even though I live only 45 miles south of Los Angeles. This is the 5th time I have stayed at the hotel and it never disappoints. Look for packages and special promotions - it will most likely be cheaper and it may even force you to get out of the room and explore LA Live and the downtown LA area. We opted for the package that included GRAMMY Museum + Regal Theater + Valet + $50 hotel credit + Deluxe King Room. The room was AMAZING (room 1576). It was an end unit and windows wrapped around the entire large room. The bathroom window wall (yes I said window wall) looked over Nokia Theater and Staples Center as well as the pool. The gym was really nice (they even supplied headphones which was a nice touch) and the $50 credit was perfect amount for a nice room service breakfast. Staff is always great and we always end up at the lobby bar for a nice drink and great people watching (it was the Clippers Playoff Game and FIFA World Cup Trophy Tour so lots of people in the lobby bar!). Make sure you venture out downtown. We love our favorites:

- Bottega Louie is a loud hip restaurant with great upscale pizza/salads/entrees and drink (don't forget all the macaroons and decadent desserts)
- Mas Malo for Mexican Food - ask for "chewy chips" if want something new!
- Seven Grand (a MUST for handcrafted whiskey drinks - ask the bartenders to make you something off menu - you won't be disappointed!)
- Golden Gopher - Cold beer and a great jukebox (trust me!!!)
- Cana Rum Bar (rum bowls, rum bowls, rum bowls)
- Rivera (great menu)
- Alma (make sure you make reservations in advance)
- El Cholo Cantina (wicked Cadillac Margaritas and guacamole)
- Cole's or Philippe's (The Original French Dip Sandwich). My favorite is Cole's (love the atomic pickles!)

You also have your pick from all the "chain" restaurants in LA Live, but our suggestion is to explore the restaurants in downtown - not as many tourists and better food/drink. Tip: for a great view go up to WP24 (located in Ritz Carlton) for appetizers/drinks. Also, catch a performance at Orpheum Theater - it is a great venue to see anyone perform!

Room Tip: Get a deluxe king on the end - amazing wrap around windows and bathroom window wall!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
342 reviews 342 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

The hotel was nice. The location is great for LA Live. The rooms were good sized. Comfortable beds with nice linens. The staff was friendly
.
The 4th floor pool area is inviting and you can get some great views of LA Live and the surrounding areas.

My only complaint about the hotel would be the outrageous fee they charge hotel guests for overnight parking. I find it ridiculous, in general, that hotels charge guests to park when they are staying at their hotel but $42 per night is beyond ridiculous!!! There are no other secure parking options available so guests have to pay.

I would never stay at this hotel again based on the fee for parking. This is not Manhattan.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anna l, Sr. Admin Assistant at JW Marriott Hotel Los Angeles at L.A. LIVE, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Dear christyreznor02,

Thank you so much for your kind words about our staff. We are glad you were able to enjoy your stay and location of our hotel! We are sorry we did not meet your expectations in regards to parking. Currently we offer a self- parking rate which is comparable to other full- service properties in downtown, but we understand your frustration with the parking rate. We appreciate your business and hope you will continue to use our facility when in Los Angeles.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

I stayed here for a conference for five days and rate this property a 10. I wanted to stay on a concierge level floor, but it was sold out, so front desk representative allowed us access to the executive lounge, which was also amazing. Breakfast in lounge was superb and the staff there was even better. Room was on the 15th floor and had nice view downtown. I dined on property, LA Market, a number of times and the food and service was perfect. Saw a Clippers and Lakers game and it was a 4 minute walk from the property. Room was sizeable and bed was comfy. Lobby was nice and really enjoyed the outdoor couches for waiting on cabs/car service.

Room Tip: Higher floors are best.
See more room tips
Green Features: It was nice that they employed green practices. It encouraged me to re-use towels and conserve on water consumption.
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to JW Marriott Hotel Los Angeles at L.A. LIVE? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Hotel Los Angeles at L.A. LIVE

Address: 900 West Olympic Boulevard, Los Angeles, CA 90015
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 324 Hotels in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — JW Marriott Hotel Los Angeles at L.A. LIVE 4*
Number of rooms: 877
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Marriott, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your JW Marriott Hotel Los Angeles at L.A. LIVE reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JW Marriott Hotel Los Angeles at L.A. LIVE, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.