We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient and with excellent service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of JW Marriott Hotel Los Angeles at L.A. LIVE

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added JW Marriott Hotel Los Angeles at L.A. LIVE to your Saves list
JW Marriott Hotel Los Angeles at L.A. LIVE
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   900 West Olympic Boulevard, Los Angeles, CA 90015 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$25 Daily Credit
Ranked #20 of 324 Hotels in Los Angeles
GreenLeadersSilver level
San Francisco
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Convenient and with excellent service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

This is not where I would normally stay, but it was convenient for a conference I was attending there on site. It is a pleasant, new space of large proportions. The rooms were standard business class hotel fare with internet costing an extra 12.95 a day. The bathrooms were large with a standing glass shower only in my room. The housekeeping service was prompt and efficient. I ate twice in the casual lobby restaurant. The food was fairly good and not exorbitant by large city hotel standards. I was always pleased with the service in the restaurants which seemed gracious but not obsequious or fake. I did not try the rooftop pool and bar which seemed defunct in the off season. I did not get out much this trip, but having been in LA numerous times, I can say the location is fairly central, especially if you are there for a convention or Staples Center event. There are numerous restaurants and bars to choose from right out the door. Therein lies the one drawback, it is very busy (probably non-hotel guests) as it is a thoroughfare for the LA live complex. I was there on St. Patricks Day weekend and the lobby was overflowing with a very young crowd. Be aware it is a convention hotel too. Probably weekdays will be more serene. It is a good choice for downtown LA if you do not like risks. And it is a quick 30 minute cab ride from LAX (about $62 including the tip).

Room Tip: Even number rooms face south over the Staples Center. Odd number rooms face north over the LA skylin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    594
    431
    108
    36
    28
See reviews for
167
207
64
581
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (265)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Wonderful location near LA Live. Close to USC. Wonderful staff ready to assist at a moments notice. The hotel's pool was in a quiet location with plenty of sun. The near by Ritz Residences provided car lovers some great opportunities to see exotic (and expensive) cars.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I stayed there for business for a conference at the LA Convention Center. The Convention Center was close. The staff was super friendly , thanked me for my elite status , upgraded my room. The rooms were very open , updated and clean. The bathrooms were very nice.

The elevators were actually quick, the lobby beautiful and the ambiance perfect for a business trip.

This was a great experience, if I am in LA i will return.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
houston
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Stayed 4 nights at this hotel for a convention and overall not impressed; At >$300 a night and the flagship of the Marriott group I would have expected more. Check in was unorganized and took forever which is not fun after a long flight. Rooms are more like a Courtyard Marriott than a JW. Very simple rooms, no luxury and bathrooms are unimpressive. Service at the bar very slow and laid back. Food at the restaurant was just terrible- went there only because there arent many options in downtown LA. Checkout took forever to settle the bill which caused a delay to get back the airport. Would not recommend staying here as it is far from everything nice to do in LA.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

For a convention hotel, the JW Marriott was very nice. It was close to the Convention Center and LA Live gives attendees lots of choices for food and beverage. The WiFi had very spotty service and was expensive. It was better to be hard-wired in the room if you were going to pay for the service. There were plenty of towels in the bathroom although some were quite worn out. They gym and spa were part of the Ritz Carlton located next door so they were very nice although the spa was quite expensive. The Executive Lounge is normally not open on the weekends which could have been a big issue but our meeting organizer arranged to have it open for our meeting. If you are a business traveler and getting reimbursed for your stay or attending an event at the Staples Center or Nokia Theater, this is a nice hotel. Otherwise, it is quite far from tourist destinations and there isn't much around the area to do in free time.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Saskatchewan
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

This hotel is in the LA LIVE area, so close to the Nokia Theatre (right beside) and the Staples Center (across the street). It's also a 5 minute walk to the Convention Center. Despite looking nice, the shower is horrible, and you need to get into the shower to turn it on = getting soaked with cold water!

Room Tip: As always, try to get a room away from the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

This was my first time in LA and I went with a couple of friends who were Marriott members. This is an awesome hotel next to the Staples Center. The building is practically brand new and is very nicely finished. The staff was friendly and the room was over-sized with good views of LA Live. I wished I stayed longer!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to JW Marriott Hotel Los Angeles at L.A. LIVE? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Hotel Los Angeles at L.A. LIVE

Address: 900 West Olympic Boulevard, Los Angeles, CA 90015
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 324 Hotels in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — JW Marriott Hotel Los Angeles at L.A. LIVE 4*
Number of rooms: 877
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your JW Marriott Hotel Los Angeles at L.A. LIVE reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JW Marriott Hotel Los Angeles at L.A. LIVE, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.