We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in LA” 5 of 5 stars
Review of JW Marriott Hotel Los Angeles at L.A. LIVE

Save Saved
You added JW Marriott Hotel Los Angeles at L.A. LIVE to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
JW Marriott Hotel Los Angeles at L.A. LIVE
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   900 West Olympic Boulevard, Los Angeles, CA 90015 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #19 of 322 hotels in Los Angeles
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great hotel in LA”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Wonderful location near LA Live. Close to USC. Wonderful staff ready to assist at a moments notice. The hotel's pool was in a quiet location with plenty of sun. The near by Ritz Residences provided car lovers some great opportunities to see exotic (and expensive) cars.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,018 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    502
    370
    92
    28
    26
See reviews for
139
174
58
499
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Haven, Connecticut
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I stayed there for business for a conference at the LA Convention Center. The Convention Center was close. The staff was super friendly , thanked me for my elite status , upgraded my room. The rooms were very open , updated and clean. The bathrooms were very nice.

The elevators were actually quick, the lobby beautiful and the ambiance perfect for a business trip.

This was a great experience, if I am in LA i will return.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
houston
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Stayed 4 nights at this hotel for a convention and overall not impressed; At >$300 a night and the flagship of the Marriott group I would have expected more. Check in was unorganized and took forever which is not fun after a long flight. Rooms are more like a Courtyard Marriott than a JW. Very simple rooms, no luxury and bathrooms are unimpressive. Service at the bar very slow and laid back. Food at the restaurant was just terrible- went there only because there arent many options in downtown LA. Checkout took forever to settle the bill which caused a delay to get back the airport. Would not recommend staying here as it is far from everything nice to do in LA.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

For a convention hotel, the JW Marriott was very nice. It was close to the Convention Center and LA Live gives attendees lots of choices for food and beverage. The WiFi had very spotty service and was expensive. It was better to be hard-wired in the room if you were going to pay for the service. There were plenty of towels in the bathroom although some were quite worn out. They gym and spa were part of the Ritz Carlton located next door so they were very nice although the spa was quite expensive. The Executive Lounge is normally not open on the weekends which could have been a big issue but our meeting organizer arranged to have it open for our meeting. If you are a business traveler and getting reimbursed for your stay or attending an event at the Staples Center or Nokia Theater, this is a nice hotel. Otherwise, it is quite far from tourist destinations and there isn't much around the area to do in free time.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Saskatchewan
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

This hotel is in the LA LIVE area, so close to the Nokia Theatre (right beside) and the Staples Center (across the street). It's also a 5 minute walk to the Convention Center. Despite looking nice, the shower is horrible, and you need to get into the shower to turn it on = getting soaked with cold water!

Room Tip: As always, try to get a room away from the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

This was my first time in LA and I went with a couple of friends who were Marriott members. This is an awesome hotel next to the Staples Center. The building is practically brand new and is very nicely finished. The staff was friendly and the room was over-sized with good views of LA Live. I wished I stayed longer!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed at the JW for a national convention. We were sad to find our room had leftover food in the mini fridge and dried up rose peddles behind the bathroom door (apparently someone had a nice night). Our tv did not work and they did send someone to fix it, but the next day it broke again. We are also not from the area and had not been to LA before. When we asked for directions to a shopping area they sent us 8 blocks in a very "shady" area where their were street vendors. Not quite my idea of a shopping area. We also were told to ride the Metro to get to Long Beach. Not a big deal to us, but it would have been nice to have been tipped off on how long it would take 1.5 hours and what areas we would be traveling through. I am just disappointed in the customer service of a JW. They never bothered to consider we may not be familiar to the area and never gave very good directions etc.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to JW Marriott Hotel Los Angeles at L.A. LIVE? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Hotel Los Angeles at L.A. LIVE

Address: 900 West Olympic Boulevard, Los Angeles, CA 90015
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 322 hotels in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — JW Marriott Hotel Los Angeles at L.A. LIVE 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda, Priceline and Venere so you can book your JW Marriott Hotel Los Angeles at L.A. LIVE reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JW Marriott Hotel Los Angeles at L.A. LIVE, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.