We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel- Great Downtown LA location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of JW Marriott Hotel Los Angeles at L.A. LIVE

Save Saved
You added JW Marriott Hotel Los Angeles at L.A. LIVE to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
JW Marriott Hotel Los Angeles at L.A. LIVE
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   900 West Olympic Boulevard, Los Angeles, CA 90015 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #18 of 322 hotels in Los Angeles
San Diego, CA
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Nice hotel- Great Downtown LA location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

We stayed here for one weekend night while traveling to LA from San Diego. It was a nice JW and very well located. We were able to walk to LA live restaurants and coffeeshop closeby. Checkin was a little crowded since there was a Mary Kay conference going on. There was also some Australian business soiree taking place and there were some celebrity sightings according to a few Mary Kay ladies with whom we spoke. The room was about the same as a regular Marriott. Nice bathroom and shower. I would stay here again if I needed to be downtown. It's not cheap but JWs are higher end so rarely do I find them "cheap" per se. You can walk to the metro. The redline is about a half mile away and it will take you into Hollywood right near the Mann theatre and walk of stars.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,025 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    506
    372
    93
    28
    26
See reviews for
141
174
58
502
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
england
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We had a comfortable stay in this Hotel, it is situated in LA Live , the bed was very comfortable although with a ten hour time difference we were awake during the night, the TV came in handy ! The room/ bathroom was very clean , we were there as my husband was on business , It was my first trip to LA and I must confess I was rather underwhelmed by LA, the only nice part was Beverly Hills and of course Santa Monica which was nearby also. Breakfast in the hotel was good but at over $55 for two of us we only ate there once, little did we realise as we have a Marriott gold card we could have breakfast and evening nibbles and deserts for free in the executive lounge on 4th floor, that information was not offered to us at check in , maybe we should have read the literature! Couldn't fault the hotel at all and wouldn't hesitate to recommend if you need to be in that area.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

My husband and I returned to this hotel for the third time. We stayed at the Residence Inn Beverly Hills for the first few nights of our trip. We wanted to end our trip with a better quality Marriot but we were so disappointed that we will never go back again. Upon arrival we were told that we could only get two full beds and not a king. We requested a king bed but were told that it is never a guarantee. This was unfortunate since we were celebrating our anniversary! We asked for a late check-out and was told that they couldn't be accommodating. We asked for 15 extra minutes but it couldn't be done. We had a much better time at the Residence Inn. It is a ten minute walk to Rodeo Drive, the valet parking is almost half the price of the JW and we got free breakfast every day too. If you are looking for a hotel in downtown LA, a loud-lively scene and you don't mind spending the money, then yes, the JW fits your criteria. Otherwise, search for another hotel and save the money.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelanto, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

I stayed here for one night because I had an early morning event at the L.A. Convention Center and this hotel is a 5-10 minute walk from there (and also right next door to the Staples Center). All of the staff are extremely courteous and helpful. While the check-in desks are not very clearly labeled, you will kindly be pointed in the right direction if you are confused.

My only complaint about this hotel is that the mattress was very, very hard. Other than that, it was extremely clean, well-kept, and modern.

We ate breakfast at the hotel restaurant. The food was very good and the service was fantastic. Just as a side note, overnight parking is $40 but they tack it onto your bill.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FL
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Our trip was a combo of business/pleasure & this hotel served as a great place to recover from both. The hotel itself was fantastic as far as decor, comfort, service and amenities. The lobby is a busy place at most anytime of day (and night!) but always in a controlled way. Besides check-in, there is a great bar, coffee bar (Illy) & a couple restaurants all within the open-concept lobby. I liked that the elevators were a bit removed from the main area to keep congestion at a minimum for those people actually staying the the hotel.
We had 2 queens in our stylish room & overlooked the ice rink, Nokia Theater & Staples Center entrance. Made for some great people watching! The room was spacious, had plenty of storage & a big bathroom with all the amenities. Beds were really comfortable! My only complaint would be that at night our window was part of the huge lighted billboard type advertisement that covers almost the entire side the building. I used my hair clips to make sure the drapes were pulled together super good so no flashing lights entered the room.
LA Live is a small area but it has alot of restaurants/bars w/in a few block radius of the hotel. We especially LOVED breakfast at the Pantry a couple blocks away (the best french toast ever!) & dinner at the Yard House (mac & cheese for big people!) & El Cholo (margaritas to die for!). Also a Starbucks just out the back lobby doors. Don't really need it though with Illy coffee place right in the lobby.
We did have a rental car & paid the $20/day to park in the lot of the Figueroa Hotel. Cheaper than valet or the parking garage. I had no problems getting in & out of the downtown area to explore L.A. other than the awful rush hour traffic you would expect.
Would absolutely stay here again! And, on a side note, there's so much to see & do in downtown L.A. if you've got the time (& daylight hours).

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas, United States
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We stayed here for a business convention and could not have been more pleased. The property was beautiful and our room very well appointed. Large bathroom, lots of space for 3 adults to stay comfortably, lots of space to put your things and spread out. Great view of LA Live, in fact, we inadvertently were overlooking the Golden Globes red carpet! My bed and pillows were awesome and our little "coffee box" contained a nice selection of teas as well. Walking distance to some good restaurants and even a downtown Target. We had a delicious breakfast in the restaurant where the service was excellent. The check in was quick and efficient, check out the same, which is not always the case with a convention group. I was even able to walk up to a terminal right in the lobby and print off my boarding pass with no extra fees or waits. This is a higher priced property, but hey, it's LA and it offered high end decor & high end service. I did appreciate having access to computer terminal for my boarding pass, mini fridge and coffee/tea service for no extra charge, often at higher end locations there are charges for those items.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Stayed here for a work conference, definitely a no brainer choice for business travelers or if you enjoy the bar/ restaurant scene. LA live is a great area with vibrant night life, not for sightseeing but to have a night out in the town or go to an event next door to Staples Center. I was very pleased with the staff, even the housekeepers would stop and give you a warm welcome/ smile on your way around the hotel. Food in all the events was up to the JW Marriott standards, The room was very accommodating, good quality toiletries. The Spa is amazing, absolutely worth it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Free internet...
Show More
Downtown
Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza
Quiet, Free int...
Show More
Central L.A
Sofitel Los Angeles at Beverly Hills
Pool, Quiet, Lu...
Show More
Downtown
The Ritz-Carlton, Los Angeles
The Ritz-Carlton, Los Angeles
#9 of 322 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 stars 234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pets Allowed, C...
Show More
Downtown
Luxe City Center Hotel
Luxe City Center Hotel
#16 of 322 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 stars 374 reviews
Classic, Restau...
Show More
Westside
Luxe Sunset Boulevard Hotel
Luxe Sunset Boulevard Hotel
#25 of 322 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 stars 596 reviews
Quiet, Classic...
Show More
Four Seasons Hotel Los Angeles at Beverly Hills
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Hotel Los Angeles at L.A. LIVE? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Hotel Los Angeles at L.A. LIVE

Address: 900 West Olympic Boulevard, Los Angeles, CA 90015
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 322 hotels in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — JW Marriott Hotel Los Angeles at L.A. LIVE 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Otel, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Marriott, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your JW Marriott Hotel Los Angeles at L.A. LIVE reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JW Marriott Hotel Los Angeles at L.A. LIVE, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.