We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, convenient, comfortable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of JW Marriott Hotel Los Angeles at L.A. LIVE

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added JW Marriott Hotel Los Angeles at L.A. LIVE to your Saves list
JW Marriott Hotel Los Angeles at L.A. LIVE
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   900 West Olympic Boulevard, Los Angeles, CA 90015 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Up To 25,000 Points
Ranked #19 of 324 Hotels in Los Angeles
GreenLeadersSilver level
Williston, Vermont
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Friendly, convenient, comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

I spent five nights at this Marriott in December, there for business. No hotel is perfect, but this was certainly a comfortable stay, and the positive outweighed the glitches.

The positive - clean and modern decor, with warm colors. Wardrobe with full-length mirror, light, iron and ironing board, robes. All the expected amenities (mini-fridge, coffee maker, etc.). Friendly service (concierge brought an item I left in the elevator to my door, front desk took a message at an awkward moment, friendly greetings from the cleaning staff in the hallways.). The outdoor heated pool and hot tub on the fourth floor was a a real treat (and this was December). The access to and ease of printing out boarding passes was great. And the location was wonderful.

Room for improvement - using room cards in the elevators was a real pain. To go to the guest floors you had to fumble with your card, and sometimes your floor was passed before you got it in. Often the cards had to be reinserted multiple times. Even the concierge apologized for this and said that it was a known problem. At times of heavy usage, the fitness room was not always well cared for. Although the room and bathroom were very nicely cleaned, there were inconsistencies, such as forgetting to restock a stirrer for the coffee (I used the ice tongs!) or to replace the shampoo. And when I went to put a drink in the mini-fridge, I found an old drink and yogurt from a previous guest (luckily not too old!). Finally, it seems a shame that Internet access is included at cheap motels around the country but not a higher end hotel like this. Another gripe - no place to hang your towels next to the sink and tub (only two hooks, on the other side of the room.) They ask you to hang towels as an eco-measure, but don't give you space to do so.

Overall, a good stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    564
    414
    103
    32
    28
See reviews for
162
196
61
555
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (246)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

The JW Marriott is a new hotel in downtown LA. It's in a nice renovated area of the downtown right next to The Staples center. There are a lot of walking areas and restaurants around the hotel. Good hotel to stay if you see a show at the Nokia theater which is literally 30 second walk from the hotel.
We used the Ritz Carlton spa associated with the hotel, which was nice, maybe a bit too modern decor, only problem, it did not have a jacuzzi in it, had to go to the rooftop pool area on a different floor to use a jacuzzi. The pool area was actually very cool and relaxing.
My only problem with the hotel was with the valet only parking. You have to pick your car on a different floor. If I have to pay 40 dollars to park I expect to be pampered, not be inconvenienced to get the car on a different area and take a different elevator. If I do all that work, might as well park the car myself.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellicott City, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

My husband, two teenage daughters, and I were treated to a life of luxury when we stayed at this JW. We were upgraded to the Vice Presidential Suite while using Marriott points to "pay" for our stay and never wanted to leave our room: Two entrances(with doorbells!), one large foyer, a master bedroom, living room with sofa bed, dining room, kitchen, 1-1/2 bath, 2 large flat screen tvs, one small tv embedded into the master bath's mirror! Service was amazing! We were only there for 3 days/2 nights, but we would go back in a minute. Dining is all within walking distance. It overlooks the Nokia Theater and Staples Center.

Room Tip: We overlooked the Staples Center, Nokia Theater, and pool area and were treated to light displays in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

I was up there for the LA marathon in October. In my rush to checkout after the race I left several items in the bathroom. I called lost and found as soon as I got home and left a message with my room number and what was left behind. The following day I got a call telling me that "no items matching your description were found in that room." It sound like housekeeping just tossed the items in the garbage (an electric toothbrush, case and canvas toiletry bag) .

I called two days later to speak to a manager. She promised she would double check with lost and found and would call me right back "after a meeting". I waited two days and heard nothing. I called one more time and spoke to another manager on duty. He promised to also do a quick check and would call me. I never heard back.

I understand that it's 100% on me for leaving the items behind but the lack of follow through by the staff was pretty pathetic.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

We had a great stay here. My partner was here for a three day conference and I was a little concerned it would be a corporate / clinical hotel (as I was on my own during the day) but I needed have. This hotel was superb - and considering its enormity was incredibly welcoming and had such a great atmosphere. Every member of staff I encountered from the front desk, the coffee shop first thing in the morning to the poolside bar in the afternoon were incredibly attentive and friendly. The room itself was spacious, clean and the views over LA Live are pretty impressive at night.
The pool was a good size with comfortable loungers and chairs, poolside waiting staff and live music.
The hotel is surrounded by many restaurants, but if none of those take your fancy, the room service at the hotel was very good. The hotel is also just a few minutes from a cinema and based next door to the Staples centre.

We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle Rock, Colorado
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Stayed at the JW Marriott while attending the Zero to Three National Training Institute conference. It is a BIG hotel in a big and revitalized downtown area of Los Angeles. Lots going on every night with a car show, live entertainment events and sporting events within walking distance. The hotel is in the middle of a mall-like complex with restaurants and event centers opening up from this mall. There is music being pumped out in the lobby and the mall at all hours, and light shows, people and city "happening" that increased on Friday night.

Food was very good everywhere we went - well, this is California! - in the hotel, at the conference and at near-by restaurants - but expensive unless you get out of the immediate area.

Hotel was professionally managed, everyone was helpful and polite, the room was very comfortable and included a small refrigerator - always appreciated.

The workout room was large and had lots of equipment and areas for weights and stretching.

The pool was really nice as well.

The elevators created a lot of stress as people tried to figure out how to use their room keys to activate the elevator buttons but a little practice got that down. I was happy to be on the 4th floor, which did not require this extra step. But a good safety feature of a downtown hotel.

All the expected business amenities and the conference was managed very smoothly.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fullerton, California
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Located adjacent to the Staple Center and Nokia Theater, the JW Marriott and Ritz-Carlton hotels are the perfect place to stay if your travels take you to Downtown Los Angeles. Within the LA Live complex are a number of restaurants that will meet your needs. Fleming's Steak House is always fantastic, excellent happy hour there as well, reservations for dinner a must (use Open Table). The Palm Steakhouse is about two blocks away, as well. Wolfgang Puck has an excellent Italian restaurant all in all, about 8 great eateries. If you are not a local, or even if you are, you must eat at The Original Pantry, been open at the original location 24/7 since 1921. GREAT breakfast, ham&cheese omelet is to die for, mountain of fried potatoes and sourdough bread/toast. Comfort food all day/night. Located one block away. Large multi-pled movie theater next door to complex.

The JW Marriott has an excellent restaurant located right next to two of their full service bar and wine bars. Great drinks and excellent bar bites. A very lively scene, but comfortable. The rooms are all contemporary design and furnishing. Large showers and comfy beds. The Concierge Level lounge is excellent, one of the best I have visited at a Marriott. The only downside is the outrageous fee for underground parking, about $40 bucks a night, so keep that in mind if you intend in driving there. Within the same building is the Ritz-Carlton hotel. I have not stayed, but if you do, all of the above is available. Within the Ritz-Carlton is a new Wolfgang Puck Asian restaurant and bar, located on the 32nd floor or so. Killer view of Los Angeles. Even if you don't dine, it is a must for cocktails in the evening. This complex is fantastic if you travel to the downtown area for a concert, Laker/Clipper basketball game or other event. Probably the best hotel complex in all of downtown Los Angeles.

Room Tip: Look for AAA rates, if your dates are flexible, utilize the "my dates are flexible" button...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to JW Marriott Hotel Los Angeles at L.A. LIVE? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Hotel Los Angeles at L.A. LIVE

Address: 900 West Olympic Boulevard, Los Angeles, CA 90015
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 324 Hotels in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — JW Marriott Hotel Los Angeles at L.A. LIVE 4*
Number of rooms: 877
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Priceline and Tingo so you can book your JW Marriott Hotel Los Angeles at L.A. LIVE reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JW Marriott Hotel Los Angeles at L.A. LIVE, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.