We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel considering you are in downtown LA” 4 of 5 stars
Review of JW Marriott Hotel Los Angeles at L.A. LIVE

Save Saved
You added JW Marriott Hotel Los Angeles at L.A. LIVE to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
JW Marriott Hotel Los Angeles at L.A. LIVE
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   900 West Olympic Boulevard, Los Angeles, CA 90015 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$50 Nightly Credit
Ranked #20 of 323 hotels in Los Angeles
Los Angeles
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great hotel considering you are in downtown LA”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

The JW Marriott is a new hotel in downtown LA. It's in a nice renovated area of the downtown right next to The Staples center. There are a lot of walking areas and restaurants around the hotel. Good hotel to stay if you see a show at the Nokia theater which is literally 30 second walk from the hotel.
We used the Ritz Carlton spa associated with the hotel, which was nice, maybe a bit too modern decor, only problem, it did not have a jacuzzi in it, had to go to the rooftop pool area on a different floor to use a jacuzzi. The pool area was actually very cool and relaxing.
My only problem with the hotel was with the valet only parking. You have to pick your car on a different floor. If I have to pay 40 dollars to park I expect to be pampered, not be inconvenienced to get the car on a different area and take a different elevator. If I do all that work, might as well park the car myself.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,062 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    521
    385
    97
    31
    28
See reviews for
151
177
59
519
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ellicott City, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

My husband, two teenage daughters, and I were treated to a life of luxury when we stayed at this JW. We were upgraded to the Vice Presidential Suite while using Marriott points to "pay" for our stay and never wanted to leave our room: Two entrances(with doorbells!), one large foyer, a master bedroom, living room with sofa bed, dining room, kitchen, 1-1/2 bath, 2 large flat screen tvs, one small tv embedded into the master bath's mirror! Service was amazing! We were only there for 3 days/2 nights, but we would go back in a minute. Dining is all within walking distance. It overlooks the Nokia Theater and Staples Center.

Room Tip: We overlooked the Staples Center, Nokia Theater, and pool area and were treated to light displays in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

I was up there for the LA marathon in October. In my rush to checkout after the race I left several items in the bathroom. I called lost and found as soon as I got home and left a message with my room number and what was left behind. The following day I got a call telling me that "no items matching your description were found in that room." It sound like housekeeping just tossed the items in the garbage (an electric toothbrush, case and canvas toiletry bag) .

I called two days later to speak to a manager. She promised she would double check with lost and found and would call me right back "after a meeting". I waited two days and heard nothing. I called one more time and spoke to another manager on duty. He promised to also do a quick check and would call me. I never heard back.

I understand that it's 100% on me for leaving the items behind but the lack of follow through by the staff was pretty pathetic.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

We had a great stay here. My partner was here for a three day conference and I was a little concerned it would be a corporate / clinical hotel (as I was on my own during the day) but I needed have. This hotel was superb - and considering its enormity was incredibly welcoming and had such a great atmosphere. Every member of staff I encountered from the front desk, the coffee shop first thing in the morning to the poolside bar in the afternoon were incredibly attentive and friendly. The room itself was spacious, clean and the views over LA Live are pretty impressive at night.
The pool was a good size with comfortable loungers and chairs, poolside waiting staff and live music.
The hotel is surrounded by many restaurants, but if none of those take your fancy, the room service at the hotel was very good. The hotel is also just a few minutes from a cinema and based next door to the Staples centre.

We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle Rock, Colorado
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Stayed at the JW Marriott while attending the Zero to Three National Training Institute conference. It is a BIG hotel in a big and revitalized downtown area of Los Angeles. Lots going on every night with a car show, live entertainment events and sporting events within walking distance. The hotel is in the middle of a mall-like complex with restaurants and event centers opening up from this mall. There is music being pumped out in the lobby and the mall at all hours, and light shows, people and city "happening" that increased on Friday night.

Food was very good everywhere we went - well, this is California! - in the hotel, at the conference and at near-by restaurants - but expensive unless you get out of the immediate area.

Hotel was professionally managed, everyone was helpful and polite, the room was very comfortable and included a small refrigerator - always appreciated.

The workout room was large and had lots of equipment and areas for weights and stretching.

The pool was really nice as well.

The elevators created a lot of stress as people tried to figure out how to use their room keys to activate the elevator buttons but a little practice got that down. I was happy to be on the 4th floor, which did not require this extra step. But a good safety feature of a downtown hotel.

All the expected business amenities and the conference was managed very smoothly.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fullerton, California
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Located adjacent to the Staple Center and Nokia Theater, the JW Marriott and Ritz-Carlton hotels are the perfect place to stay if your travels take you to Downtown Los Angeles. Within the LA Live complex are a number of restaurants that will meet your needs. Fleming's Steak House is always fantastic, excellent happy hour there as well, reservations for dinner a must (use Open Table). The Palm Steakhouse is about two blocks away, as well. Wolfgang Puck has an excellent Italian restaurant all in all, about 8 great eateries. If you are not a local, or even if you are, you must eat at The Original Pantry, been open at the original location 24/7 since 1921. GREAT breakfast, ham&cheese omelet is to die for, mountain of fried potatoes and sourdough bread/toast. Comfort food all day/night. Located one block away. Large multi-pled movie theater next door to complex.

The JW Marriott has an excellent restaurant located right next to two of their full service bar and wine bars. Great drinks and excellent bar bites. A very lively scene, but comfortable. The rooms are all contemporary design and furnishing. Large showers and comfy beds. The Concierge Level lounge is excellent, one of the best I have visited at a Marriott. The only downside is the outrageous fee for underground parking, about $40 bucks a night, so keep that in mind if you intend in driving there. Within the same building is the Ritz-Carlton hotel. I have not stayed, but if you do, all of the above is available. Within the Ritz-Carlton is a new Wolfgang Puck Asian restaurant and bar, located on the 32nd floor or so. Killer view of Los Angeles. Even if you don't dine, it is a must for cocktails in the evening. This complex is fantastic if you travel to the downtown area for a concert, Laker/Clipper basketball game or other event. Probably the best hotel complex in all of downtown Los Angeles.

Room Tip: Look for AAA rates, if your dates are flexible, utilize the "my dates are flexible" button...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Great hotel, comfortable beds. I had three rooms booked. Upon arrival I asked to have three double bed rooms - they were able to accommodate us all on the 4th floor. Two rooms side by side, which was appreciated. The two rooms had a very nice little outside area with a coach and two chairs. We could also go back and forth via our "patios". I felt very safe since the doors were solid with good locks. Quiet rooms. Great room service and a very relaxing bar downstairs with coaches and tables - very good for socializing - a living room feel without being in a fishbowl.
Easy to get coffee in the morning and easy to get around LA. Great location for USC events.

Room Tip: Ask for a patio outside your room. You can have wine with friends and feel very secluded.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to JW Marriott Hotel Los Angeles at L.A. LIVE? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Hotel Los Angeles at L.A. LIVE

Address: 900 West Olympic Boulevard, Los Angeles, CA 90015
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 323 hotels in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — JW Marriott Hotel Los Angeles at L.A. LIVE 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Priceline, Marriott and Venere so you can book your JW Marriott Hotel Los Angeles at L.A. LIVE reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JW Marriott Hotel Los Angeles at L.A. LIVE, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.