We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real nice experience!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Paramount Studios

Paramount Studios
5555 Melrose Avenue, Los Angeles, CA (Hollywood)
323-956-1777
Website
Improve this listing
Visit like an insider
Top Rated
$44*
and up
Los Angeles Hop-on Hop-off Double Decker Bus Tour
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: Group tours/walking tour, Group tours/day tour
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The only remaining "big name" studio located in Hollywood and the only continually operating studio in Tinseltown. Offers behind-the-scenes tours to visitors.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Tilburg, The Netherlands
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A real nice experience!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

I visited 3 studio's (Universal, Warner Bros. and Paramount) and I liked this one best! Mainly be cause it was a very personal tour. Only 8 people were in our group and our guide Shannon took time asking about our names, where we came from and what our favorite movies were.

It's a 2 hour tour and they tell you all kinds of interesting fact about movies that were filmed on the locations you visit. Including some clips from those movies, shown on an iPad.

Absolutely something you shouldn't miss if you like movies...

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

652 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    362
    171
    63
    30
    26
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great insight into an historical site”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

Our group was taken round on our VIP tour by Jesse. My family was joined by a couple from Toronto and one from California. The first element of the tour was a stop and the cafe for a coffee etc, issue of headsets so that the guide didn't have to shout and a chance for Jesse to learn all our names - as we were only 7 it wasn't too difficult. We walked down to the iconic gate for photo opportunity and then a walk through the lovely theatre. After this stop it was on to the golf buggies and a tour round some of the sound stages and specialist work areas. We stopped for a surprisingly good lunch - served in the studio gardens and then continued into the backlot areas of the studios. Eventually finished up back at the gift shop to collect our complimentary photo etc. No rush to have us leave the site, so we enjoyed the winter sun for a while and browsed the internet via the studio wifi.
Would recommend this tour strongly to any of my friends who have any interest in cinema or television

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Fact-filled and perfect for movie lovers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

Took a Saturday am tour -- property was very quiet since shooting typically doesn't take place on Saturdays, but that meant we got to see a lot of things typically closed to visitors during the week. Our guide, Billy, was very gregarious and open to answering lots of random questions about Paramount's films and the TV shows filmed on site. Highlight was getting to go into the Sumner Redstone building and see the bookcases filled with Academy Awards the Studio has won. If you're lucky, you will get to tour sets of current TV shows and may even spot a star or two. Gift/coffee shop was a little lacking beyond the expansive offering of movie titles. Overall, a lot of fun and I'd say it was worth the $48/person admission. Would try to get in on the 4-hr VIP tour next time.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, Canada
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
40 attraction reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
“The Reel Hollywood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

We booked our reservation online the night before our tour. Parking is available across the main entrance for $10 cash only. We were assigned a guide who took us to the Paramount store/ cafe to browse and use the restroom. Our family of 4 was grouped with 4 other people so a party of 8 was still small enough to have a very personable tour. A wireless earpiece was provided to everyone which made hearing what our guide had to say much easier. Most of the tour is on a cart but you do get off to go inside some buildings and stage sets. Our guide was very knowledgable and explained much about the history of Paramount Studios as well as the current day operations. The tour was approximately 2 hours long and in my opinion worth the $48 admission. If you are a film and TV fan be sure to visit the Paramount Studios.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zierikzee, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Very personal tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

The tour of Paramount probably can't be compared to Warner Bros, but then again it's way more affordable. The major plus side on this tour is that it's very personal. Groups are maximised to 8 people and our host Jocelyn started with getting to know us (by name) and what our interests were with regards to the movies and TV series. From there on we got a lot of highlights and interesting facts from the rich history of Paramount. You are driven around the studio grounds in an extended golf cart and make lots of stops where you hear all the trivia and stories that are connected to these places and people.
Really loved this tour. It was one of the unexpected highlights of our stay in LA.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Paramount Studios also viewed

 

Been to Paramount Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Paramount Studios, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.