We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“terrible location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Stay on Main Hotel and Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Stay on Main Hotel and Hostel to your Saves list
Stay on Main Hotel and Hostel
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   640 South Main Street, Los Angeles, CA 90014 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
istanbul
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“terrible location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

location of the hotel is so unsafe. homeless people are around the hotel and when you go out starts to follow you. rooms and beds are OK but breakfast is terrible. there's only one option you can choose. it's corn flakes. so much noise in the street and hotel you can not sleep well.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

652 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    187
    169
    85
    120
See reviews for
34
190
155
56
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

I stayed in a single room with private bathroom and I spent about 40 dollars for night. The room wasn't super but ok for 40 dollars. A very beautiful room in Beverly Hills could have been at least 150-200 dollars per night, but I just needed a place to sleep after long walks visiting the city and the surroundings, so Cecil Hotel was perfect for me. The cleaners came every day, the breakfast was included and was simple but enough. The area is very beautiful with amazing buildings all around and the metro is at less then 10 minutes walking. The problem was the noise by night of the sirens of the ambulances, the police, vans fire...
Another problem was represented by the thousands of homeless people "living" downtown and that doesn't bring value to the hotel's location or joy to your heart.
So if you want to save money and spend more on eating, amusement and souvenirs, this hotel is perfect for you, especially if you travel alone or with young friends; if you want a peaceful or a romantic atmosphere, you must choose another place, but you will pay much more.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Te Puke, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Great location, helpful staff, clean rooms and good value. To people complaining about street noise, what do you expect, it's downtown LA!! Beds were comfortable and I enjoyed my stay there. Would recommend getting private bathroom as opposed to shared bathroom for convenience. Will definitely be making a return visit when I go back to LA. :)

Room Tip: Choose rooms with own bathrooms, because shared bathrooms are a bit inconvenient.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
italy
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012 via mobile

Great location. Unbeatable prices. Room clean. Good common spaces. Excelent pc free to use. Breakfast ok and pop corn for all at 4pm. Wifi for free. Really a bang for the buck. Unluckyly one day the room was not cleaned and the bed not set: when i went back in the evening none could explain why or solve the problem. That was really the only issue.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

My son and I had to visit supliers downtown LA and we didnot want to spend money but bying things. $75 a nigh for two with breakfast was just perfect for us. Also we were just blocks away to where we had to go.
Very efficient when reservation or checkout and with normal service for all purpose.
Building is very old but they provide clean and confortable beds and private bath with hot water, what else can you ask for that price?
Because breadkfast is allways the same, after two days we went two blocks away and had a nice meal.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Located next to the cecil hotel in downtown LA this is a modern budget place to stay. I had a private room with double bed, private shower and toilet but the majority of rooms are shared with shared bathroom facilities in the hall. Very noisy outside with lots of shouting and sirens throughout the night. Free breakfast is cereal and coffee but still a welcome touch for hungry travellers as well as free popcorn. Its true that the internet did not work in the room but there is a communal lounge where it works.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

We're a young couple and don't mind staying anywhere as long as it has a clean bed and decent bathroom, but we are not unhygienic. We knew we were having a shared bathroom but ended up not even using the showers. The toilets are in funny little rooms with not much leg room, the doors don't lock very well (as we found out!), and there are no sinks. You have to wash your hands in your room, which means touching several doors and your room key with germy hands. It also makes it inconvenient if you were nipping to the loo before going out. Not nice. We ventured into one of the bathrooms, and the floor was completely flooded and filthy. So no showers for us. The few showers on each floor are also shared between quite a few people so not the cleanest. The room itself was ok, the bed clean. It was quite noisy and the room was very hot. Breakfast was ok (cereal and toast) but the eating area was not nearly big enough. We booked it because it said it was close to Union Station - it is fairly close, but if you don't want to walk through streets of homeless druggies, take the bus. Overall, not a great area safety-wise and not a super-clean place, but if you want budget, it may be worth the risk.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Stay on Main Hotel and Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stay on Main Hotel and Hostel

Address: 640 South Main Street, Los Angeles, CA 90014
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Downtown , Central L.A
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 56 Specialty Lodging in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Stay on Main Hotel and Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay on Main is the hippest boutique hotel and hostel in downtown Los Angeles. We are located in the heart of LA’s Historic Core, surrounded by many of the newest and hottest restaurants, bars and night- clubs in downtown Los Angeles, California. We are located one mile to LA LIVE, minutes by Metro to famous Hollywood, short walk to the fashion, toy, jewelry districts and flower mart. Also, minutes by bus to China Town, Little Tokyo and USC…or hop on the bus right outside the front door for a unique site seeing ride to Santa Monica beach.Our location, style accommodations and vibe offer our guest the best value in Los Angeles. Stay on Main offers a menu approach to accommodation selection. Depending upon budget and lifestyle, guests can choose from a wide array of room types and amenities at stay on main hotel, from private rooms with private baths to shared rooms with shared baths down the hall.Stay on Main is youthful, high-style, and high-tech. our rooms are simple stylish and inexpensive. We offer convenient accommodations for the hip and spend thrifty traveler.In-the-know 18-30 year old international travelers and domestic travelers looking for modern, upscale accommodations on a budget will appreciate our variety of room types and options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, HostelBookers, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Stay on Main Hotel and Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stay On Main Hotel Los Angeles

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stay on Main Hotel and Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.