We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More like a hotel than hostel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Stay on Main Hotel and Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Stay on Main Hotel and Hostel to your Saves list
Stay on Main Hotel and Hostel
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   640 South Main Street, Los Angeles, CA 90014 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“More like a hotel than hostel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

Was really surprised at how much we liked the stay on main. Besides the shared bathroom you wouldn't know you're in a hostel. Funky, fresh and clean...the staff were helpful when you needed anything and the little cafe next door is great for the morning caffeine rush. Never tried the breakfast on offer as we were always out early. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

652 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    187
    169
    85
    120
See reviews for
34
190
155
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

This is not a hotel, it is an expensive hostel.
I agree with some other more negative reviews:
1. No Parking. Had to park down the street, and had to an extra $9 a night for that. and it's not a great area.
2. Sharing bathrooms/showers down the hall. no chair to put your towel/things, just a hook and a grab bar.
3. no closet, small tv, bad ac, was happy there was at least a sink in there.
4. to top it off, a dead cockroach overturned on its back in front of the sink.
One star for trying to be cute with its polka dot bedsheets.

We booked 4 nights, and left after one. Tried to cancel with expedia/booking.com and that might have taken more than an hour....

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, AUSTRALIA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

Stay on Main was good for what it was. The reception staff were great, really helpful organising tours and transport to various places and printing things for us! The rooms were clean, beds comfy, breakfast was good, we had a sink in our room which was SO helpful (because the bathrooms were shared). We had booked a room with a double bed to save money but they gave us a room with two singles when they realised it was just two friends. However, the location is very average. Downtown LA is dodgy and main street is no exception. Didn't feel 100% safe at night. Plus the streets are SO loud, with sirens going off at night....even with the windows closed. There were some good restaurants and coffee bars a block or more away, so that was good. It was relatively easy to get to hollywood etc with public transport nearby, but still a bit of a walk. THe bathrooms weren't great. Just single rooms off the hallway. Sometimes the showers were just so wet.. and a bathtub was leaking all over the floor in one of them. But we dealt with it and found another shower on a different floor. But for around $35 a night we weren't complaining! Just don't expect anything too fancy!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

I checked in less than an hour before this review....full size bed, tube tv, and sink come in a 12x12 room. The door has two latch locks top and bottom and a bolt. Bathrooms AND showers are communal located near elevators. I am recently out of college and still find it odd. I've also stayed in American hostels better than this.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

I had to budget on my US trip, and found this hotel to be a good deal for what I got, especially compared to the prices of other LA hotels. It was a bit weird sharing a bathroom with others but I got up early and really didn't have any issues with it, and the shower seemed clean with good water pressure.

The room was large and clean, the bed was a bit dumpy and soft but was still comfortable. I was glad to have a sink in my room as well for drinking / brushing teeth etc.

They do a free continental breakfast, including OJ, cereal, coffee etc which was really nice, and they have computers downstairs for use, although I was able to get free wifi in my room which was good.

The train to Hollywood is just a 5 minute walk away, although this is a pretty dodgy area at night and I would not feel safe walking from the train back to the hotel then! Even in the late arvo it was a little sketchy - it is downtown LA...But I had no problems in the daytime. If you want to get the Hop On - Hop off bus, it picks up about 4 mins around the corner and takes you to Hollywood / Santa Monica which is definitely worthwhile.

Reception staff were a little nonchalant at times, but were not rude or impatient.

Overall it was not bad. Just a word of advice - avoid the shop next door in the Cecil Hotel, the prices are exorbitant.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room on the inside area near a bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

The hotel has no parking, it is right int the middle of skid row, not very inviting, there is no AC in the rooms, the tv has very limited selection, If this were in my Home town Las Vegas, even prostitutes would stay away, and so should you the restroom had pee all over the toilet complained but it was still bad in the AM (group toilet and showers) can this even claim to be a hotel? It took over 20 min to checkin they even wanted id form the 5 yr old

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

It is rather cheap regarding the price.The enviroment is OK, and the location is good,easy to take bus and train.
Service is OK, the staff is polite. But they arrange us a 15th room at the highest level . So it is very hot during the summer night, and there is no way to cool except open the window. And sometimes you will heard loud voice from street.By the way, free breakfast is good, but cereal and milk are the only choosen you can make, maybe add orange juice.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Stay on Main Hotel and Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stay on Main Hotel and Hostel

Address: 640 South Main Street, Los Angeles, CA 90014
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Downtown , Central L.A
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 56 Specialty Lodging in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Stay on Main Hotel and Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay on Main is the hippest boutique hotel and hostel in downtown Los Angeles. We are located in the heart of LA’s Historic Core, surrounded by many of the newest and hottest restaurants, bars and night- clubs in downtown Los Angeles, California. We are located one mile to LA LIVE, minutes by Metro to famous Hollywood, short walk to the fashion, toy, jewelry districts and flower mart. Also, minutes by bus to China Town, Little Tokyo and USC…or hop on the bus right outside the front door for a unique site seeing ride to Santa Monica beach.Our location, style accommodations and vibe offer our guest the best value in Los Angeles. Stay on Main offers a menu approach to accommodation selection. Depending upon budget and lifestyle, guests can choose from a wide array of room types and amenities at stay on main hotel, from private rooms with private baths to shared rooms with shared baths down the hall.Stay on Main is youthful, high-style, and high-tech. our rooms are simple stylish and inexpensive. We offer convenient accommodations for the hip and spend thrifty traveler.In-the-know 18-30 year old international travelers and domestic travelers looking for modern, upscale accommodations on a budget will appreciate our variety of room types and options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, TripOnline SA, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Stay on Main Hotel and Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stay On Main Hotel Los Angeles

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stay on Main Hotel and Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.