We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do Not Miss” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Japanese American National Museum

Japanese American National Museum
369 East First Street, Little Tokyo, Los Angeles, CA 90012 (Central L.A)
213 625 0414
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #37 of 310 Attractions in Los Angeles
Type: Libraries, History Museums, Specialty Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Museum dedicated to the history and culture of Japanese-Americans.
Santa Monica
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Do Not Miss”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Should be required for all those under age 50. Wonderful, informative, factual, easy to get to, safe neighborhood and a friendly, competent staff. Young persons need to understand how badly our culture and society treated Japanese-Americans during WW II.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    17
    5
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
97 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Japanese Art and History”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

The Museum is in Little Tokio, near a branch of MOCA. There are several galleries with art and history. On one visit we came across an exhibit telling us how to make origami swans for, I don't remember what, but the idea was visitors would make thousands of these to commemorate something. I've forgotten the details, but remember help my wife to make the swan.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Don't miss CHADO, the Tea Room in the Terasaki Garden Cafe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

The museum provides an incite into 20th-century American history that is often swept under the carpet. A must see.
Afterward stop and have tea in Chado; outstanding food served by a knowledgable wait staff, in a delightful garden.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Interesting Art and Exhibitions”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

JANM is in a great location, and has interesting artwork. I went for the Giant Robot Biennial and the show was amazing! I went back several times. Japanese culture is a major influence, especially in pop culture, and when you're in DTLA, and roaming little Toyko, Koreatown, etc. a stop at JANM is a must.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherman Oaks, CA
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Giant Robot Exhibit, But No Robots”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

When we first heard about the annual giant robot exhibit at the JANM we thought our son would enjoy seeing all the robots. However, the name is a misnomer. The exhibit is named after the kids store, nearby and there are no large, "actual" robots. There are cases and cases of robots on exhibit, but these are hand-made robots, anywhere from one inch to 12 inches tall, handmade, without any moving parts--they are not robotic. Their robots are models of robots. They do represent the cultural interests of Japanese American kids/teens, however, but they do not move, and they are not giant--by any means. From an adults perspective, you are invited into the post modern view of very creative people. You can see the influence of 'Japanese Anime:' Japanese Animated products, TV and film figures. But there are no large (giant) robots anywhere to be found. On the other hand, you are introduced to up-and-coming LA artist, you get a glimpse of what goes on inside the minds of people influenced by Japanese Anime, and there are some very good works of art displayed. You can also experience life of a Japanese immigrant to the US around the turn of the century, and during World War II. There is a reconstructed living quarters that gives you an idea of life in concentration camps. There is a pile of suitcases and some artifacts showing how little the immigrants brought with them and how much of the life they are used to living is left behind. The experience is very well done and adults or more advanced teens will learn much from their visit to the JANM, but our 4 yo was thoroughly bored and disappointed. He really wanted to see a giant robot!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Japanese American National Museum also viewed

 

Been to Japanese American National Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Japanese American National Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.