We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Centrally located...off the beaten path” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hollywood Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Los Angeles
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hollywood Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added Hollywood Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
1701 N. Orange Grove Ave., Los Angeles, CA 90046 (Central L.A)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 85 Los Angeles B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Utah
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Centrally located...off the beaten path”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We made a spur-of-the-moment trip to LA to see the "Book of Mormon" and decided to stay at a B & B for a change. Any reasonable hotel in the area is over the $100 mark so we decide to spend a few bucks more and it turned out to be a wise decision. First, everything you see in the web site is true and represents the B & B well. Our room was very nice, right sized and very clean. The bath was well equipped, small but not cramped. As is the case with most B & B's, the living, dining and kitchen areas are open to the guests so we had the feeling of having a large home rather than a tight hotel room. That made it fun to come "home" in the evening...well worth the few extra bucks for a home rather than a hotel room!
It was NOT within walking distance to the Walk of Fame area of Hollywood...unless you really like walking. But on the flip side, it is in a nice residential area that begs for a nice walk and the owners will gladly fill you in on the celebrity neighbors. Only a couple of blocks away is Sunset Blvd. with a nice array of eating spots and for those of you deprived souls, like us, that have no Trader Joes in their state, there is one handy! "Two Buck Chuck" wine in our trunk for the drive home to Utah! Can life get better?
You'll enjoy your stay with William & Nina.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    33
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
37
103
7
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cold Spring, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Very pleasant stay and great central location. Unique, eclectic home added much charm and warmth to our stay. Nina and William were both friendly and pleasant. The Hollywood B+B provided everything we needed for our short visit to the Hollywood area.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southborough, Massachusetts
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I spent a most enjoyable week at this unique B&B. The house has wonderful decorating with rooms which are very comfortable. The outside pool is a nice plus. There a detailed maps to all major attractions. Breakfast is served in a large kitchen off the dining room. There is a computer with Internet access in a separate space. Parking is secure and on site. The owners were interesting and delightful. Overall an excellent value.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

This place is absolutely super! If you're in the area, and you need a few days to stay in Hollywood, absolutely take this place into regard! The owners of the place, William and Nina, are absolutely the most pleasant people to be around. William usually is around the kitchen in the morning - Very interesting person. I loved talking with him. The breakfast was plentiful with yogurt, milk, breads, etc. The rooms are really neat. I stayed in the Maverick which is sort of small, but really full of exciting thing that make the place neat. I also stayed in the Biarritz. Wow, what a neat room. Parking is tight, but thats normal for any place in LA. I swear, you will not be disappointed at all with the place. Do indeed try these folks. You won't be disappointed!

Room Tip: I stayed in the Maverick and the Biarritz, and both were absolutely super! I would guess any choice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cupertino, California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

If nostalgia for the "old Hollywood" has set in or if you are too young to remember the old, but interested in the contemporary, a stay at the Hollywood B&B is perfect for you. The decor, though a bit "crafty", reflects the decorative skill of your hostess Nina and William's construction skills have crafted a very comfortable setting. The beds are good, the bathrooms are great, the pool area provides a nice setting for post-touring relaxation and the breakfast is sumptuous and scrumptious with every conceivable amenity for a cold buffet.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

This place is awesome...w. Hollywood truley deserves this b&b and this b&b deserves Hollywood.
Situated towards the bottom of the hills this establishment has breathtaking views from a beautifully done pool area with plenty of art work and an assortment plants/cactus. Lounge chairs and chairs And tables, spaced out enough where guests have their own nook. The pool area along with the room comfort and it's character really give this house a 5 star rating. The kitchen is wonderfully equipped with every appliance and a sweet selection of breakfast, coffee and teas. William is a good man that truley loves his b&b and it really shows in the pride taken to keep this house cozy and comfortable. I will surely return in my next LA trip.

Room Tip: Take advantage of this great location and explore the hills by walk/jog or car by day and nightly vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Nina and william have created an extraordinary experience. From the moment you turn into the driveway off Hollywood blvd you enter a new and fantastical world only they could have designed. Nina is the artist painstakingly festooning every possible surface with brilliantly colored stone paint and tile supplemented with one of a kind statutary lamps tchotchkes maps wall Hangings collected by william over a number of years continents and habitats. The web pictures don't do justice to what is truly a wonderful arrangement and assortment of artistic pieces. It goes without saying the rooms bathes and fixtures are first class five star b and b apppointmens. Breakfast nutritional as well and check out the pool

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hollywood Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hollywood Bed & Breakfast

Address: 1701 N. Orange Grove Ave., Los Angeles, CA 90046
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Central L.A
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 85 B&Bs / Inns in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You are invited to enjoy Hollywood by staying at our whimsical 1912 Bed & Breakfast located right on Hollywood Boulevard and within walking distance of the Sunset Strip and the Hollywood Walk of Fame; Grauman's Chinese Theater; Hollywood&Highland Dolby Theatre, site of the Academy Awards; Disney's El Capital Theater; the Jimmy Kimmel Show and Madame Tussaud's Wax Museum along with many other exciting attractions. The proprietors, Nina (who speaks German, French and Spanish) and William are very well acquainted with Hollywood and Southern California and are happy to share information. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hollywood Bed And Breakfast
Hollywood Hotel Los Angeles

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hollywood Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.