We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved Hollywood B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hollywood Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Los Angeles
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hollywood Bed & Breakfast
1701 N. Orange Grove Ave., Los Angeles, CA 90046 (Central L.A)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 76 Los Angeles B&B and Inns
Cairns, Queensland, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Loved Hollywood B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

We found LA quite a culture shock so the peace & inviting appeal of the wonderful B & B definately enhanced our time in LA. We stayed for 5 nights with two teeenage boys.The hosts Nina & William are both very friendly and helpful. They have perfected the act of being right there when you need them but they dont intrude on your stay. The rooms are spacious, comfortable and very clean.There is some traffic noise in the front rooms Comet & Premier but that didnt annoy us at all however it was winter. We found the breakfast very enjoyable with lovely fresh food and fabulous company of both the hosts and other guests. We found the resturants on Sunset Boulevard within easy walking distance, the strip however requires more of an effort but is still achievable. Overall this was a very positive experience for our family and we would definately return.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    117
    28
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
28
90
5
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2012

William is nice, friendly and helpful (didn't meet Nina). The house is really stylish decorated with all the placements from all over the world, you can see the owner's taste and thoughts in every detail. Our Comet Room is really cute and warm and equipped with HD TV channels. Super clean and delicately decorated. Plus the bed is the most comfortable one during my stay in USA. They have pool and a lot of guides, books and magazines. All you need to do is relax and enjoy your time there. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: I can hear cars passing by in my Comet room. But not that influential anyway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2012

this B&B is a lovely plave, feels very homy. Our room was cosy and spacious (Biaritz). We could hear some traffic noise but not much so it did not bother us.
As many other reviewers have commented, the house is decorated in a very eclectic style, and one could spend hours going from one exhibit to another.
Nina is lovely host, knowlegeable about the area and willing to help you around.
We found it very handy that tea/coffee-making facilities, cookies and fruits were available to guests at any time.
All in all, we have had a highly enjoyable and relaxed stay!

Room Tip: The Biarritz room looks a bit dark on the photos, however in reality, it is not dark at all, so if y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2012

We stayed at Hollywood B & B for 3 nights. It was such a great place to stay as the hosts were so helpful but also let us do our own thing. The house is amazing and loved the colours, style of rooms and just the feel of the house. The location was perfect and an extra bonus was the free parking. The breakfast was deluxe - lots of variety! We would defiantly stay here again if we retuned to LA...it felt like home!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, WI
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2012

Stayed 5 nights in the Biarritz room while visiting LA for the Rose Bowl. The room was comfortable, roomy enough for two, with a comfortable bed and a nice bathroom, and easy access to the patio/pool area. The B&B is well located near Hollywood, but is far enough away that you don't deal with the crowds and noise. The only noise is that of traffic on Hollywood Blvd. but that is only heard if you are outside and even then quickly becomes background noise. There is plenty of convenience in the neighborhood whether you have a car or not. Restaurants, grocery, pharmacy, etc. are all walkable.

Nina and William seem to make it a point to not hover over their guests; we rarely saw them. However, when you need them, they are readily available to assist. This makes for a very relaxed, chill atmosphere that we enjoyed.

Nina took very good care of us and made a point to accommodate our sleeping later habits by providing coffee to our room each day and extending the breakfast hours later than normal. We certainly appreciated that flexibility.

The grounds are interesting with many eclectic pieces scattered about inside and out to intrigue and amuse.

I recommend the Hollywood B&B without hesitation.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2011

This house is a 1912 California Bungalow which has been passionately restored and decorated with Nina's (the owner) particular flair for creative excess, one might say, but it works. There is light and colour everywhere you turn - glass, crystals, tiling, paintings, soft furnishings - the list goes on. But the outstanding thing about all the OTT artiness is that it is scrupulously clean, not dusty and dark like a B and B I was at a few months ago. Nina is also generous with the breakfast layout with good quality food - great choice of milks, teas, hot coffee at the ready, various scrumptious breads, spreads and fruits. You feel like living up to the high standard set by being careful of the lovely wooden floors and the sparkling bathroom and kitchen. Nina is also very helpful with details of how to get around LA with public transport (much easier to have a car but buses and trains will do it). The beds were heaven after a month of travelling around the world where the beds were either way too soft or rigid (why don't accommodation owners understand that firm and supportive is not the same as hard as a rock?). We were there in the quiet time just prior to Christmas which suited us fine - such a haven after our busy month of travel.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2011

We stayed at the Hollywood B & B for three days at the end of September 2011. It was wonderful. Both Nina & William did their utmost to make us comfortable. One of our party required gluten free and was really pleased with the effort Nina had made to accomodate her. The house has to be seen to be believed - really colouful with so many treasures to see & admire. We found the location to be really good to- not so far a walk from the Hollywood attractions. Would love to return there.

Room Tip: Both rooms we had ie the Comet & Premier had excellent amenities
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hollywood Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hollywood Bed & Breakfast

Address: 1701 N. Orange Grove Ave., Los Angeles, CA 90046
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Central L.A
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 76 B&Bs / Inns in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You are invited to enjoy Hollywood by staying at our whimsical 1912 Bed & Breakfast located right on Hollywood Boulevard and within walking distance of the Sunset Strip and the Hollywood Walk of Fame, Grauman's Chinese Theater, Hollywood&Highland Theatre, site of the Academy Awards and home of Cirque du Soleil's IRIS and Madame Tussaud's Wax Museum. The proprietors, Nina (who speaks German, French and Spanish) and William are very well acquainted with Hollywood and Southern California. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hollywood Bed And Breakfast
Hollywood Hotel Los Angeles

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hollywood Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Hollywood Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list