We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the trip.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Beso

Beso
6350 Hollywood Blvd, Los Angeles, CA 90028 (Central L.A)
(323) 467-7991
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Beso is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,332 of 8,658 Restaurants in Los Angeles
Price range: $20 - $80
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Central L.A
Cross street: Corner of Ivar St.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
“Not worth the trip.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Parking is $10, either Valet or Lot, and they do NOT validate unless you are going to the Pantages Theatre (must show ticket for proof). Unless you happen to already be in the area, it is not worth going out of your way to eat here.

Although we came at 6pm, right when they opened, we were offered a small table eventhough there were plenty of booths available. Then later on, they squeezed another couple next to us when there were a plethora of other tables in the vicinity that were not yet occupied.

They are proud of their establishment; once you see the prices and the quantity that was actually offered. When I asked the server, Carrie, for which of the two wines she would suggest, the proper procedure would be to offer a sample of both; which was not the case and I expected this type of treatment at a supposedly high class place like this. The ONLY impressive thing was that the beverage servers and busboys were on top of things, always refilling the water and keeping your table clean of used silverware and dirty plates.

The food was subpar. I agree that the flatbread was surprisingly delicious but as for our entrées, it was similar to a chain restaurant. The desserts were overpriced for what you received: $11 for 5 small pieces (or one long) churros was extreme. Thank goodness we had a gift card to offset the cost of our bill or I would thoroughly be upset if we had to pay full price!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    34
    29
    12
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Typical celebrity venture...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Beso was incredibly underwhelming. The menu promises mexican inspired dishes with a california touch but what you receive is average food (in an extremely dark setting). A blind date? This restaurant would be a great option, you may slip away and not even have your date know (lights please!).

Servers were a tad over worked, or perhaps they are short staffed. Many times they are unable to have full or even adequate attention on your table. They have upstairs seating as well similar to Crustacean in Beverly Hills but I would not return.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Mirage, California
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Don't be put off by the section of Hollywood Blvd. that this restaurant is located on.

Once inside, it is very dark and smartly decorated with very interesting and tasty food, with a definite South American slant.

Very comfortable, good service.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hollywood, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“If you love scallops...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

This restaurant owned by Eva Longoria has the best scallops I've ever had. They are perfectly prepared. Tender and melt in your mouth. The flat bread is amazing, too. Crispy on the outside and chewy on the inside with a nice smoky flavor. I don't usually like Churros, but this dessert at Beso is so light and yummy. The only thing I would recommend them is to add a dessert for us chocoholics! Ambience is dark and sexy.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“I would not recommend anyone to go there; poorly prepared food, poor service.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Cafeteria food tastes better than the food at Beso ( Hollywood). Poor service, terrible lighting, poorly prepared food. Sorry complete waste of time and money.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Beso also viewed

 
Los Angeles, CA
Los Angeles, CA
 

Been to Beso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beso, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.