We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved Lunch at the Food Trucks across the street” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Los Angeles County Museum of Art

Los Angeles County Museum of Art
5905 Wilshire Blvd, Los Angeles, CA 90036 (Central L.A)
323-857-6000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 382 attractions in Los Angeles
Type: Art Museums
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Since its inception in 1965, LACMA has been devoted to collecting works of art that span both history and geography—and represents Los Angeles’ uniquely diverse population. Today, the museum features particularly strong collections of Asian, Latin American, European, and American art, as well as a new contemporary museum on its campus, BCAM. With this expanded space for contemporary art, innovative collaborations with artists, and an ongoing transformation project, LACMA is creating a truly modern lens through which to view its rich encyclopedic collection—more than 100,000 works strong. With this much to explore, we encourage you to spend an entire day with us, delving deep into the work of your favorite artists, taking a free tour, catching a film or concert, or just letting your curiosity lead the way.
San Rafael, CA
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
“Loved Lunch at the Food Trucks across the street”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Nice architecture and enjoyed the visit. Very close to La Brea Tar Pitt museum, so we walked over there after. some of the advertised pieces are out on loan (3 that were shown in the brochure). The statute garden is great - no need to go to Paris!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

754 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    487
    216
    43
    5
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“LACMA is a local gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Okay, so it's not MOMA... but it is LACMA. And, it's pretty good. Take the time to check out the exhibit calendars prior to going. Things get interesting.

There are free outdoor concerts certain parts of the year, and those are fun. Wine, music, art and the trendy set (anyone that loves any of the above)... a good vibe, to be sure.


Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua, Hawaii
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Impressive Museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We loved the LA County Museum or Art and the La Brea Tar Pits and Museum next door. The surrounding grounds are gorgeous very peaceful. A great way to spend a few hours on a hot LA day.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
37 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“LOVE LOVE LOVE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

This museum has really evolved and is now my favorite museum in Los Angeles. They have wonderful exhibitions and really fun events. For example, they have jazz on weekend summer nights. I also love the restaurant. If you eat at the restaurant they validate. My childhood memories of the La Brea tar pits which are located on the same property are fond. Great place to visit for locals and out of towners.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“quite a scene”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

I saw online there was a jazz band performing at the museum on a Friday night that we would be in town so we stopped by. I didn't realize it would be quite a scene. The band was great. All kinds of people were in chairs, getting drinks from the outdoor bar, having picnics on the grass with their kids and dogs. I had seen online that the museum was open late that night so we bought tickets. However, we didn't realize there was only one building open and we were only allowed entry to one floor which had 3 large modern art installations. That's it. Kind of disappointing. In retrospect, we should have walked through the museum in the afternoon, then stayed later for the band. We'll know better next time. See review in restaurant section for Rays & Stark Bar located at the museum.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Los Angeles County Museum of Art also viewed

 

Been to Los Angeles County Museum of Art? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Los Angeles County Museum of Art, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Los Angeles County Museum of Art to your Saves list