We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice area, not just the shuttle, more!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of California Science Center

California Science Center
700 Exposition Park Drive, Los Angeles, CA 90037
+1 323-724-3623
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Special Offer
$70*
and up
Go Los Angeles Card
Ranked #3 of 310 Attractions in Los Angeles
Type: Science Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Space Shuttle Endeavour on display in the California Science Center's Samuel Oschin Pavilion. Please reserve your passes online or by phone. Explore over 100 permanent interactive science exhibits spanning several galleries. Admission to permanent exhibit galleries is Free! (excludes IMAX and special paid exhibits) Visit Ecosystems -- a hands-on exhibit home to nearly 400 plant and animal species. Come discover amazing environments from the familiar to the fantastic, and find out how the physical and living worlds affect each other.
Los angeles
Top Contributor
506 reviews 506 reviews
120 attraction reviews
Reviews in 156 cities Reviews in 156 cities
231 helpful votes 231 helpful votes
“Nice area, not just the shuttle, more!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

Start by visiting the many areas full of screens, music, interactive activities for adults and children, history, nature, science treated, and then go to the space shuttle.
The highlight, of course, is the Space Shuttle and the whole area dedicated to it. For those who love the space missions is something that takes your breath away. The space shuttle is like a beautiful giant that will send to the space through your imagination. Don't miss the 3 D movie to complete your visit, and you will really feel the atmosphere.... If you spend more time in the area you can also visit the beautiful rose garden next door.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,160 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    782
    302
    59
    14
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
52 attraction reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“WOW”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

Just incredible to see the Endeavour Space Shuttle up close here at the California Science Center!! Don't miss the SR-71 spyplane too! Science Center is just the right size. You can see it all in a few hours.

We had lunch out back by the water fountain and the rose gardens. great pictures there too.

Try the Giant Lever at the entrance and see your strength trying to pick up the truck.

Hope you like the pictures i posted with this review

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prestatyn, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
58 attraction reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“A M A Z I N G !!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

for the price of the car park you can have a fantastic DAY out ..
bring a picnic and that's all you will pay ..
there is something for everyone here ..
then finish it off with a view of the Space Shuttle Endeavor that is breathtaking ..

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Fantastic seeting the real Space Shuttle”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

The centre is a must if you are technology interested. The added value here is the real size space shuttle and a lot of information on all the missions. It is free entrace to the centre, however you have to pay for parking and IMAX theatre if you want to see one of the 3 films available. We saw the Hubble 3D film that was 45 minutes and very informative in addition to clever use of 3D effects.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anaheim, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Be Prepared to Pay on the Weekends”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

Went there on Sunday, February 16, 2014. I checked out their website the day before to plan a trip with my family. The website states that admission to the permanent exhibition galleries is FREE, and that the attractions such as the Ecology Cliff Climb, High Wire Bicycle and the Motion-Based Simulator had a separate charge. The website also states that the IMAX has a charge, and that parking is $10. With that said, we were ready to check out the Endeavor and we were told we had to buy tickets. I told the lady that I thought it was FREE. She said that during the week, Monday through Friday, it's FREE, but on the weekends they charge $2 a ticket because they aren't exactly sure how many people to expect. I didn't mind paying the $2 a ticket, but THE LiNE I HAD TO STAND IN?!? And they only had 4 windows open for ticket sales AND a 5th one for WiLL CALL only. NO ONE was in the WiLL CALL lane, but the window operator didn't take anyone else from the GiGANTiC LiNE! I even tried purchasing this ticket online, but it wasn't available for same day purchase! I checked to see how it would be to purchase this coming Sunday's ticket for the Endeavor, and it states that it's $0.00. When I entered the quantity of 6 and clicked on Proceed to Checkout, it states that the Service Fee was $12. VERY MiSLEADiNG!!! They even have donation boxes before entering the turnstiles since the museum is supposed to be "FREE".

Make sure to wear comfortable shoes because you will be doing a lot of walking.

Other than that, my family and I had a great time! We also really enjoyed everything about the Endeavor. In 2012, we got the opportunity to witness the Endeavor piggyback a ride on the NASA plane, so to see its actual size up close was amazing! My children enjoyed watching the videos about the astronaut's potty and how they had their meals.

My children really enjoyed the exhibits especially the ones where they could touch and experience rather than just look. One of the exhibits we thought was really neat was the Rot Room. They got to spin this wheel like thing that would show the fast forward rotting process of strawberries, a rabbit, a rat, and a pumpkin. They also enjoyed the ball catching game where they pretended to be barnacles trying to catch their food. There is much to see and experience that a whole day is required most especially if you have little children with you. We would definitely come back!

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed California Science Center also viewed

 

Been to California Science Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage California Science Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.