We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The good, the bad & the ugly” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Venice Beach

Venice Beach
Los Angeles, CA 90291 (Venice / Beach Areas)
310 399 2775
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Special Offer
$58*
and up
Hollywood Highlights and LA Beaches Tour from...
Ranked #72 of 310 Attractions in Los Angeles
Type: Neighborhoods, Beaches, Outdoors
Activities: Biking, Inline skating, People-watching, Nightlife, Walking, City walk sightseeing, Dining
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Lively, popular and crowded beach close to Los Angeles.
Westwood, Massachusetts
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“The good, the bad & the ugly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

While not for the faint of heart, Venice beach is a fascinating, one of a kind place to visit. The beach itself is beautiful, and the people who spend time there range from the ordinary to the bizarre.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,888 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    603
    666
    333
    160
    126
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
85 attraction reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Not bad”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Great bargain shopping, pretty lay back, great entertainment along the beach to watch. Fine to walk along with young kids they get a blast everyone scooting past or watching the entertainment

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Venice...Muscle Beach”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

My husband was interested in seeing THE Muscle Beach while in California. Even though it was a weekday, the boardwalk was reasonably crowded. We walked quite a distance to get to Muscle Beach. I found the area to be quite trashy, not in litter but in clientele. Several men were attempting to seduce young ladies as they walked by. "Medical" workers were advertising their low cost medical marijuana permits to anyone and everyone. This was in the middle of the day; I wouldn't want to be there at night! We stopped for a bit to watch the weight lifters at Muscle Beach. It was interesting that the well-equipped workout facility was in the middle of such a classless area. I'm glad we went for my husband's sake, but the rings, balance beams, etc. at Santa Monica Beach is much more worthy of your time.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richardson, TX
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Beautiful, almost perfect beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Although Venice Beach is probably better known for its rather eclectic denizens, who are indeed interesting and colorful, the beach itself is a Southern California gem! A huge, wide expanse of soft sand and gentle waves (when we were there that is; maybe it's different when a storm is coming). Great place to sunbathe, paddle, and swim (if you don't mind cold water). No seashells though. Not sure why. Parking near the beach is only $9 (it's more a block or two away!) and if you arrive early, you will probably find a spot with no trouble (on a weekday; can't vouch for the weekend).

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Nice but very busy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We briefly visited the beach when we were in Los Angeles. The beaches are certainly nice and there is a nice atmosphere with many different activities along the beach, but personally I would prefer a quieter place with more nature. If you want to be surrounded by many people then this is your place, but if you like a quieter place, than visiting one of the beaches further outside LA would be a better choice.

Visited August 2013

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Venice Beach also viewed

 

Been to Venice Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Venice Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.