We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Universal Studios Hollywood

Universal Studios Hollywood
100 Universal City Plaza, Los Angeles, CA 91608 (Central L.A)
800 864 8377
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Skip the Line
$139*
and up
Skip the Line: Front of Line Pass at Universal...
Ranked #14 of 310 Attractions in Los Angeles
Type: Amusement/ Theme Parks, Amusement Parks
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Get ready for the ultimate Hollywood experience! Find a full day of action-packed entertainment all in one place: thrilling theme park rides and shows, a real working movie studio, and Los Angeles’ best shops, restaurants and cinemas at CityWalk. Universal Studios Hollywood is a unique experience that’s fun for the whole family. Explore Universal Studios backlot on the legendary Studio Tour. Then face the action head on in heart-pounding rides, shows and attractions that put you inside some of the world’s biggest movies. End your day with the energy and excitement of Universal CityWalk. All this and much more. Only at Universal Studios Hollywood, The Entertainment Capital of L.A.
abu dhabi
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

The studio tour , very good trip ,explain a lot about Universal , need more than day to cover every thing .

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10,829 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6,187
    3,204
    1,031
    271
    136
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A must do...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Sensational. Enjoyed this the most. Easy to get to.. For $ 4.00 we caught a train from the railway station under hard rock on hollywod blvd ..it's only one stop and just follow the crowd. Safe for family's. As a big kid I loved this day and tried everything at least once.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“The Studio Tour is a must-do!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Some of the rides are a little outdated, especially when compared to the other Universal Studios theme parks around the world. The best activity here would be the Studio Tour, where you get to tour the actual studios used for making films. One of the outdoor sets was of an airplane crash which was used in War of the Worlds. It was cool because I had just watched the movie the week before!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“No Thanks”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

We are on a vacation from Indiana. First impressions really show you a lot we got off our bus to a mass of people. We found out this was the "line" to get in. You had to get your bags checked which I totally understand for security purposes. Come to find out they were checking for food and drinks and taking them from people. Anyway the probably over 1,000 people got squeezed into TWO lines!! Add to this people who are rude and you get a mob of pushing and shoving. It was dangerous! My son is in a wheelchair and he was being shoved and pushed left and right. There was no organization just shove through the mob to get in. When we passed through we complained to a worker. She went to get a supervisor and we were told this was a new thing they started and Thanks for the input. Felt like he really didn't care though.

Throughout the park we were met over and over with workers who just didn't really want to be there. They didn't talk much. Didn't make you feel welcome. Just didn't care. Yes the back lot ride is cool. Yes the few shows we were able to get into was okay. But not worth all the other.

We were supposed to go back a 2nd day and all agreed no way. Why put up with the torture of getting through the mob scene to get treated like you're in their way anyway.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian S, Manager at Universal Studios Hollywood, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to submit a review of Universal Studios Hollywood.

We strive to earn five-star reviews from every guest that visits our park. Your comments have been passed to the appropriate areas for review and consideration.

I am glad that you enjoyed our Studio Tour, and look forward to welcoming you back to our park during a time that may not be quite so busy.

Best wishes,
Guest Communications
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Prepare to get wet!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

The ride are really exciting, but a bit dated. Some of the animatronics were rather fake and it took the realism out of the experience. Apparently there is a similar ride in Universal Studios Singapore that is much more exciting and modern.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Universal Studios Hollywood also viewed

 

Been to Universal Studios Hollywood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Universal Studios Hollywood, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.