We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great day out” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Universal Studios Hollywood

Universal Studios Hollywood
100 Universal City Plaza, Los Angeles, CA 91608 (Central L.A)
800 864 8377
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Buy Tickets Online
$149*
and up
Ranked #4 of 720 things to do in Los Angeles
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Get ready for the ultimate Hollywood experience! Find a full day of action-packed entertainment all in one place: thrilling theme park rides and shows, a real working movie studio, and Los Angeles’ best shops, restaurants and cinemas at CityWalk. Universal Studios Hollywood is a unique experience that’s fun for the whole family. Explore Universal Studios backlot on the legendary Studio Tour. Then face the action head on in heart-pounding rides, shows and attractions that put you inside some of the world’s biggest movies. End your day with the energy and excitement of Universal CityWalk. All this and much more. Only at Universal Studios Hollywood, The Entertainment Capital of L.A.
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Great day out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Great day out, rides were great. Shame we couldn't get out of the tram on the studio tour to take pictures and have a look around. Wouldn't bother with queue jump tickets the big rides were really quiet when we got there, went on at least 4 times on each ride.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13,241 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7,623
    3,874
    1,270
    318
    156
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mackay, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Total waste of money!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Coming from Australia we had heard rave reviews of universal studios and we were disgusted with the cost of things and the lack of rides and characters! We went with our 5 yo daughter and got a 2 day pass, well what a total waste of money PLUS 2 days! We didn't even use the 2nd day ticket. The characters rarely came out and the lines were incredibly long. The lack of easily assessible drink stands were also disappointing. All in all we wish we never went to Universal Studios, compared to Disneyland it's 100% crap

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clovis
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Universal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Everything great. We booked upgraded your with personal tour guide Natalie who was courteous, knowledgeable and amusing. Expensive but worth the price as had family from a Germany attending for first time.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Being in the movies”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

I visited LA with my cousins and husband this summer over the labor day weekend. This was the most fun thing we did in LA. Although it was very hot during the day, the fans with water sprays kept us cool as we went from one attraction to another. One can cover all the attractions within a day, maps and displays with waiting time for rides are set up everywhere. There are enough reasonable food options within the park and the Universal Citiwalk just outside has many more. We took the normal tickets and actually managed to repeat some of the rides. Finally, the attractions themselves are terrific! They are much better suited for teens and adults as compared to Disney. The quality of effects make you feel as if you are actually inside the movie especially Transformers and Mummy. Definitely a must do when in LA .

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elk Grove, California
Level Contributor
90 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Good family and friends fun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Had a good time with friends during mid week. We had prepaid passes and the entry was confusing as everyone bunched up at the ticket booths. Need to be better marked so prepaid s can get thru the entry gates. Loved Transformers and Jurassic Park rides but thought the Mummy was boring....just a lot of jerking in the dark. All in all a good time. Bring money as food and drink is expensive!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Universal Studios Hollywood also viewed

 

Been to Universal Studios Hollywood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Universal Studios Hollywood, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.