We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Total waste of money!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Universal Studios Hollywood

Universal Studios Hollywood
100 Universal City Plaza, Los Angeles, CA 91608 (Central L.A)
800 864 8377
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Skip the Line
$139*
and up
Skip the Line: Front of Line Pass at Universal...
Ranked #14 of 310 Attractions in Los Angeles
Type: Amusement/ Theme Parks, Amusement Parks
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Get ready for the ultimate Hollywood experience! Find a full day of action-packed entertainment all in one place: thrilling theme park rides and shows, a real working movie studio, and Los Angeles’ best shops, restaurants and cinemas at CityWalk. Universal Studios Hollywood is a unique experience that’s fun for the whole family. Explore Universal Studios backlot on the legendary Studio Tour. Then face the action head on in heart-pounding rides, shows and attractions that put you inside some of the world’s biggest movies. End your day with the energy and excitement of Universal CityWalk. All this and much more. Only at Universal Studios Hollywood, The Entertainment Capital of L.A.
Mackay, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Total waste of money!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

Coming from Australia we had heard rave reviews of universal studios and we were disgusted with the cost of things and the lack of rides and characters! We went with our 5 yo daughter and got a 2 day pass, well what a total waste of money PLUS 2 days! We didn't even use the 2nd day ticket. The characters rarely came out and the lines were incredibly long. The lack of easily assessible drink stands were also disappointing. All in all we wish we never went to Universal Studios, compared to Disneyland it's 100% crap

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10,829 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6,187
    3,204
    1,031
    271
    136
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Clovis
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Universal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Everything great. We booked upgraded your with personal tour guide Natalie who was courteous, knowledgeable and amusing. Expensive but worth the price as had family from a Germany attending for first time.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Being in the movies”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

I visited LA with my cousins and husband this summer over the labor day weekend. This was the most fun thing we did in LA. Although it was very hot during the day, the fans with water sprays kept us cool as we went from one attraction to another. One can cover all the attractions within a day, maps and displays with waiting time for rides are set up everywhere. There are enough reasonable food options within the park and the Universal Citiwalk just outside has many more. We took the normal tickets and actually managed to repeat some of the rides. Finally, the attractions themselves are terrific! They are much better suited for teens and adults as compared to Disney. The quality of effects make you feel as if you are actually inside the movie especially Transformers and Mummy. Definitely a must do when in LA .

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elk Grove, California
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Good family and friends fun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Had a good time with friends during mid week. We had prepaid passes and the entry was confusing as everyone bunched up at the ticket booths. Need to be better marked so prepaid s can get thru the entry gates. Loved Transformers and Jurassic Park rides but thought the Mummy was boring....just a lot of jerking in the dark. All in all a good time. Bring money as food and drink is expensive!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
63 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“A must see”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

This would have to be one of the best attractions in la and has some thing for eveveryone.I would recommend you to get there early as it was fairly bbusy and we went bona Tuesday in their off season.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Universal Studios Hollywood also viewed

 

Been to Universal Studios Hollywood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Universal Studios Hollywood, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.