We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Universal”
Review of Universal Studios Hollywood

100 Universal City Plaza, Los Angeles, CA 91608 (Central L.A)
800 864 8377
Website
Update attraction details
Ranked #15 of 369 attractions in Los Angeles
Book Now

Type: Amusement/ Theme Parks
Owner description: Get ready for the ultimate Hollywood experience! Find a full day of action-packed entertainment all in one place: thrilling theme park rides and... more » Owner description: Get ready for the ultimate Hollywood experience! Find a full day of action-packed entertainment all in one place: thrilling theme park rides and shows, a real working movie studio, and Los Angeles’ best shops, restaurants and cinemas at CityWalk. Universal Studios Hollywood is a unique experience that’s fun for the whole family. Explore Universal Studios backlot on the legendary Studio Tour. Then face the action head on in heart-pounding rides, shows and attractions that put you inside some of the world’s biggest movies. End your day with the energy and excitement of Universal CityWalk. All this and much more. Only at Universal Studios Hollywood, The Entertainment Capital of L.A. « less
Write a Review

7,597 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,235
    2,298
    757
    205
    102
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
There are newer reviews for Universal Studios Hollywood
See the most recent reviews
Clovis
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Universal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Everything great. We booked upgraded your with personal tour guide Natalie who was courteous, knowledgeable and amusing. Expensive but worth the price as had family from a Germany attending for first time.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Being in the movies”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

I visited LA with my cousins and husband this summer over the labor day weekend. This was the most fun thing we did in LA. Although it was very hot during the day, the fans with water sprays kept us cool as we went from one attraction to another. One can cover all the attractions within a day, maps and displays with waiting time for rides are set up everywhere. There are enough reasonable food options within the park and the Universal Citiwalk just outside has many more. We took the normal tickets and actually managed to repeat some of the rides. Finally, the attractions themselves are terrific! They are much better suited for teens and adults as compared to Disney. The quality of effects make you feel as if you are actually inside the movie especially Transformers and Mummy. Definitely a must do when in LA .

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elk Grove, California
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good family and friends fun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Had a good time with friends during mid week. We had prepaid passes and the entry was confusing as everyone bunched up at the ticket booths. Need to be better marked so prepaid s can get thru the entry gates. Loved Transformers and Jurassic Park rides but thought the Mummy was boring....just a lot of jerking in the dark. All in all a good time. Bring money as food and drink is expensive!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
63 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“A must see”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

This would have to be one of the best attractions in la and has some thing for eveveryone.I would recommend you to get there early as it was fairly bbusy and we went bona Tuesday in their off season.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“A fun day out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

I was lucky enough not to have very long lines. The longest line I have waited in was for the Simpsons ride and House of Horrors. The best rides in my opinion were the Transformers ride and the King Kong ride, cause of the 3D experience. Prepare to get wet in some rides (if you are unlucky seated). The special effects show wasn't that interesting and a lot of people left during the show. The Blues Brothers was a good show and I had a good scare in the House of Horrors. In line of the Simpsons ride you will have enough entertainment, which makes the waiting a bit better to endure. Revenge of the Mummy is mostly a ride in the dark, which made it less attracting to me.
I didn't see the animal actors nor the WaterWorld show, so no comment on that.
The morning was the best time to get your picture with any of the characters walking around. I think they avoid the warm weather (which I can totally understand). Talking about warm weather and cooling down: they have cooling stations scattered around the park spraying a cool mist from fans.
It was nice to see, but I will not go again. Even with the 15 dollar discount (for SoCA residence) it was a lot of money. I would rather visit other parks with more rides. Parking is 15 to 30 dollar (it's not a far walk if you take the 15 dollar parking, so I would recommend that unless you are disabled and/or have trouble walking).

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Universal Studios Hollywood also viewed

 

Been to Universal Studios Hollywood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Universal Studios Hollywood, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.