We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go... partake in the good, mediocre and terrible, but the best people watching in town.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hollywood Boulevard

Hollywood Boulevard
Los Angeles, CA 90069 (Central L.A)
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Special Offer
$58*
and up
Hollywood Highlights and LA Beaches Tour from...
Ranked #139 of 310 Attractions in Los Angeles
Type: Scenic/ Historic Walking Areas, Landmarks/ Points of Interest, Cultural
Activities: Shopping
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Famous Hollywood street known for its trendy shopping and the stars of famous actors imprinted on the sidewalk.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
56 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Go... partake in the good, mediocre and terrible, but the best people watching in town.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

If you stay around El Capitan, Grauman's and don't venture too far past Highland, its a decent experience to take family from out of town, but don't be surprised for the disappointment and the slight resentment your guests will have towards you for cursing them with the knowledge that Hollywood Boulevard is incredibly underwhelming.

There are bright spots to the street, but the further you get past Highland the more decrepit and filthy the street will get; though the saving grace of this street that pushes it out of a poor rating is the people watching. All kinds of people from any and all walks of life mix while traversing the streets odd shops and restaurants.

So go for a visit to say you've been there, but don't overestimate the streets charm. And don't keep your eyes glued to the walk of fame beneath your feet or you'll miss the true majesty of the people who are walking right besides you.

** Not really a kid or conservative mother friendly street for the most part. If you have kids take them to the Disney soda shop and keep it on that block and you should be safe, same with any conservative mothers or visiting family.

Also no public restrooms for 98% of the street.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

520 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    152
    159
    79
    43
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kent,
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“It has to be done, but do it quickly. In fact stay in the car.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

Unlike many people we really like LA, but Hollywood Bvld was quite easily the low point. As others say, it's dirty, full of down and outs and others trying to get you to part with your hard earned dollars. It's also the only place in LA we didn't feel safe.

The street is badly maintained, full of smoke shops and shops selling naughty undies, they looked like sex shops, but I don't think they were.

If I were a star, I think I would refuse to let them put my name here!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtown, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Worth the time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Sometimes a "must see" is just that -- you see and move on. Hollywood Blvd was a good site-seeing stop. The walk up and down was fun as you check out all of the names on the stars on the sidewalk. There are plenty of souvenir stores (more than you care to stop in), but also the regular shops, as well as Ripley's, etc. Be sure to go into the courtyard across the street from El Capitan. Not only is there a fountain with water shooting out of the pavement, but more stores, and another "photo op" of the "Hollywood" sign. We found a street with free parking, but that was a rarity. There was a lot for $7 down by Arizona St., and one for $10 off Highland (at the elementary school) just above Sunset.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicosia, Cyprus
Top Contributor
502 reviews 502 reviews
310 attraction reviews
Reviews in 131 cities Reviews in 131 cities
287 helpful votes 287 helpful votes
“IT COULD BE BETTER”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

As we had high expectations, we were dissapointed. It was very crowded, not very clean and generally not impressive as supposed to be the Hollywood Boulevard.We saw the Kodak Theatre, the Guiness world records museum, wax museum, the Historiv Chinese Theatre, we walked and find some famous stars, we had starbucks coffee that i like a lot and had lunch at the Fresh fire kabob. Definetly we coulden't leave Los Angeles without being there......

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
40 attraction reviews
Reviews in 116 cities Reviews in 116 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
“Could Be So Much More”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

As a lot of the other reviews say this place offers a lot and delivers very little with it basically being a hangout of hustlers, druggies, vagrants and other forms of lowlife which survive here.
I would still say go and have a look but keep your expectations in check or else your starry eyed ideas of Hollywood might fall woefully short.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hollywood Boulevard also viewed

 

Been to Hollywood Boulevard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hollywood Boulevard, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.