We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Check out the tranquil outdoor waterfall area” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Museum of the American West

Museum of the American West
4700 Western Heritage Way, Griffith Park, Los Angeles, CA
323-667-2000
Improve this listing
Ranked #154 of 310 Attractions in Los Angeles
Type: Specialty Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This museum was founded by Hollywood legend Gene Autry.
MANHATTAN BEACH
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Check out the tranquil outdoor waterfall area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

My friends and I took the free entrance on new year's day. Spent the morning looking at the latest Jews in LA Mosaic exhibit, had lunch nearby in Glendale, then came back to look at the rest for a couple of hours. I enjoyed the lifelike statues, especially the one of Pony Express rider jumping on the horse while grabbing essential items. While the exhibits had a large collection of Hollywood memorabilia, they also represented different cultures such as Mexican / Latino, Chinese, and Native American with interesting stories that help us identify with people long ago. Hollywood exhibits bring back memories of our childhood TV shows and movies!
I was just about to leave when I noticed a small outdoor area downstairs, about the size of a large patio, surrounded by large rocks and waterfall. My kind of place!

A few other items stood out in my mind: 1. painting of the bear being captured 2. story of the native who was put in San Quentin for protesting the building of railroad tracks near her home, and 3. the 70 lb gold saddles.
I want to bring my husband here to look at the saddles and cowboy exhibits as I know he'd get a kick out of them.
Driving there is sort of weird. The LA Zoo street exit appears suddenly as the 134 and 5 freeways merge. You exit, then turn left onto the road to get to the parking lot, which is across the street from the zoo. Easy free parking.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    5
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ellicott City, Maryland
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
80 attraction reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“Different than expected”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

We visited the museum of the American West expecting it to be like a traditional history museum. While there are elements of the region's history and some background of people who migrated to the area, most of the focus was on the entertainment industry. Sure, the industry is a big player in Los Angeles, and Gene Autury was obviously a major influence in the museum, but I was expecting more general history.

The cafe was really good, and it was great that we could park for free. There was also a farmer's marking going on while we visited. It was nice to get some fresh fruit.

If you're interested in western movies, this is a great museum to visit. If you're looking for a more general history of the American west, you may be disappointed.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
58 attraction reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
168 helpful votes 168 helpful votes
“Good museum - cafe good too”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Had an enjoyable visit, and the cafe is good too.
There were no crowds, and I understand it is like that most of the time.
This falls into the category of "very do-able" museums, that is, you don't have to invest a whole day.
Loved the section on depiction of the west in movies and tv, and the care taken to explore the role of Native Americans, women, African-Americans...
And who knew there could be a Michael Jackson link!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clara, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good for whole family.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Super kitsch, wide range of western items. Covers western movies, especially "B"s, tv shows. Has quality Native American and Western art, period artifacts, local artwork, local history, western guns. My five year old was entertained for over 2 hours. He loved the interactive movie making display and being allowed to use some period toys.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Nice day out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

This is an interesting and well laid out museum experience. It is in many ways a smaller version of the National Western Heritage Museum in Oklahoma City. However it has a bit of a broader collection in that it includes a variety of western experiences, such as the Chinese area that is also an interactive display for children and includes a walk through house for children to enjoy. There are a variety of child friendly displays, beautiful saddle and leather displays, movie cowboy costumes and so much more. I enjoyed spending the morning at this accessible and well planned museum.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museum of the American West also viewed

 

Been to Museum of the American West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Museum of the American West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.