We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Genuine Article” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Colori Kitchen

Colori Kitchen
429 W 8th St, Los Angeles, CA 90017 (Downtown)
(213) 622-5950
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Colori Kitchen is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #222 of 7,958 Restaurants in Los Angeles
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: Olive
St Louis MO
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The Genuine Article”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

Tips: 1)Making a reservation and showing up 20 minutes early is the best way to limit waiting time.
2) BYOB, no corkage fee, 1/2 bottle per person limit (I don't know what would happen if you brought your own corkscrew but with Italian food this good, moderation is always the best way to enjoy it fully anyway).
This was my third or fourth trip to Colori Kitchen to enjoy its excellent food, friendly service, and frenetically exuberant atmosphere. Beef carpaccio, melanzane (eggplant) parmigiano, pasta puttanesca, pumpkin ravioli are among my many favorites.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    15
    3
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Texas
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Funky place--great food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012

Our USC student daughter made reservations for us here as she had heard it was great! Kind of a strange area, but we found it easily. The bad news is that we waited almost 30 minutes past our reservations before we were finally seated. They did apologize, but this was too long. We did not know that it was BYOB--and no one offered to call the place down the street referenced in a couple of reviews. However, once seated, the food and service were excellent!

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Take a chance, try something different and be really surprised!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2011

Having stayed downtown Los Angeles at LA Live many times, I have tried all the resturaunts nearby. But saw a review about this place and looked interesting. I have to admit, it is not in the best part of town and doesn't look like much when you walk in. We sat down and looked at the menu. We asked for a wine list but the waiter said, "We don't have a liquor license, but you can call the liquor store down the street and they will deliver to your table. My wife and I were shocked at first, but then saw the hummor and went for it. Five miniutes later, a guy walks in and we ended up with a $25 dollar bottle of wine that was great. We ordered the pork chops with spaggetti. The food was to die for and the portions were very large. If you are looking for a five star luxury place, this is not it. But if you are looking for great food, a funky atmosphere and a staff who were very downhome friendly, this is it! And oh yeah, it is very Italian and the food is great. We had a great diner and a bottle of wine, for less than $100. Well worth the adventure and you will be proud of yourself, for taking a chance on a great find!

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“First time good, second time not so much.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011

The first time we went, we liked it very much. I had the ciopino and the arugala salad. Had a great waiter. Loved it so much we went back.
Second time was a disaster. The waiter thought my DH ordered 2 entrees but ,he did not.
My clam linguini was just ok. DH had carbonara, mediocre at best.
What gives Colori?

  • Visited August 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Top Contributor
350 reviews 350 reviews
158 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 115 cities Reviews in 115 cities
166 helpful votes 166 helpful votes
“Authentic Italian done allegro”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2010

Don't think you are going to sit around here.
This extended hole in the wall with limited seating, cheap n cheerful table clothes and fantastic authentic food is hot ticket whether for dine in 45 minute lunch or a dinner. The setting at 8th and Olive is eclectic - there is a strip club next door in the old partially burnt out Hotel Bristol and street life is abundant - leave your DeBeers and Mikomotos at home. Parking on the street or in a structure on Olive between 7th and 8th, approach from the South, its one way.

Demand for seating is high and reservations on Thurs, Friday and Saturday are often declined - we know that for 2 we can get in with a wait, more than that and you are out of luck. If you get there at 530 or 6 you will get a table, there is a second round of bookings at 8pm or so.
Grey cardigan wearing couples from San Marino and RPV are often moved on at this time.

The food is great: Features Buffalo mozzeralla, Ciopinno, home made pasta. Coffee is excellent. Minimal corkage for BYOB.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Colori Kitchen also viewed

 
Los Angeles, CA
Los Angeles, CA
 

Been to Colori Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Colori Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.