We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good but Not Matsuhisa” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nobu Los Angeles

Nobu Los Angeles
903 N. La Cienega Blvd, Los Angeles, CA 90069 (Central L.A)
3106575711
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Nobu Los Angeles is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #179 of 8,551 restaurants in Los Angeles
Price range: $50 - $50
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Central L.A
Cross street: Willoughby
Hermosa Beach, CA
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Very Good but Not Matsuhisa”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Almost all the dishes served at Matsuhisa, kind of Matsuhisa Light
Very good service , very attentive, knowledgeable.
The food was very well prepared and they had a nice mix of Vegan options and also they were willing to modify certain dishes to accomodate my wife's vegan diet .

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

76% Recommend
    53
    34
    16
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
229 reviews 229 reviews
189 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“So much fun...but at a price (£230 for 2 fyi)...amongst the celebs”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

It had been a while singe we had been to Nobu London...years in fact, so we thought we would give it a try.

I must say, all the dishes were amazing.

We had miso soup, mini wagyu beef tacos, mini lobster tacos, the famous black cod, the wagyu beef dumplings and the jidori chicken and pistachio souffle (not amazing).

There was no snobbery at all, we went in jeans and tshirts (we don't like getting dressed up just for a meal) and the atmosphere was great. Our bill was £230 but £110 of it was for drinks!

We did choose our dishes with care as you can easily do £200 per head if you get carries away...and we ate very slowly...not something we are great at...we were perfectly full.

There were some celebs in the house and it was fun to be there on halloween.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire UK
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Efficient and Friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Extremely efficient and effective service by the staff at this restaurant complimented the excellent dishes.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Nice japanese food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

overall very nice experience---was in la for business and had the chance to visit the location with some friends---you don't feel to be in a chain restaurants-same from the london and milan branches-.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Sashimi to die for”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

This restaurant was excellent, from the appetizer to the dessert (chocolate souffle). The restaurant was very busy and even though we had booked 6 weeks ahead of time , we had to wait for 20 minutes. But it was well worth it. The prices were reasonable considering that the restaurant is well known,. We would love to return again.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nobu Los Angeles also viewed

Los Angeles, CA
Los Angeles, CA
 
Los Angeles, CA
 

Been to Nobu Los Angeles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nobu Los Angeles, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.