We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We love the orange chicken and this is our go-to favorite Chinese food in the south bay.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hunan Home's Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Hunan Home's Restaurant
4880 El Camino Real, Los Altos, CA 94022-1405
650-965-8888
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 74 Restaurants in Los Altos
Cuisines: Chinese
Restaurant details
Los Altos, California
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“We love the orange chicken and this is our go-to favorite Chinese food in the south bay.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

We have been eating here in 1992 and the orange chicken is the best we have had anywhere and we have tried many restaurants. I also love the beef with tender greens. The food is always good and the lunch special has several starters included in the price. The staff works pretty hard to serve even when it gets pretty crowded. Probably not fancy enough for a "date night" but very, vey good for enjoyed and delicious dinners.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    10
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Los Altos, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Tasty Chinese food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

We have eaten at Hunan Home for many years. The service is good, the selection of dishes is extensive, and the food is quite tasty. Most of the customers are Chinese, which should tell you something.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, CA
Top Contributor
221 reviews 221 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
869 helpful votes 869 helpful votes
“Liked the brocolli beef, not crazy for the spicy orange chicken, nor the Chinese chicken salad”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We went there for lunch on the recommendation of a co-worker. Hunan Home's restaurant is located on El Camino near San Antonio road, on the hill side, close to the famous Chef Chu's restaurant. Unlike Chef Chu's, Hunan Home's restaurant has plenty of available parking and no waiting.

The interior is rather plain looking, and not at all elegant. However the food is very good for Chinese food. In fact many of my Chinese American co-workers prefer it to Chef Chu's.

We ordered from the lunch specials, which come with salad and soup on the side.

The hot and sour soup was full of vegetables and bamboo, thick, and hearty, with enough
vinegar. I actually prefer the soup with bits of pork, but it was fine as is.

The Chinese chicken salad was very unusual in that it did not have much lettuce, but rather more green vegetables, with bits of chicken. Not in the same ball park as Chef Chu's here.

The beef chow fun was a huge dish with thick noodles and good size slabs of tender beef. The high quality of beef is a good indication of a good restaurant

The beef broccoli also had lots of tender beef, with well cooked yet not mushy with a very
green color. They did not overcook the broccoli, as it was still firm and crunchy.

The spicy chicken came with orange peeled: fried, breaded chicken morsels, with orange
flavor. It was a little too spicy and greasy for me. One of my co workers gets this dish to go about twice a week.

We will be back for another lunch here, as it has good value.

I would not go out of my way to eat at Hunan Home's restaurant, as there are plenty of just as good Chinese restaurants in my home town of Sunnyvale, including Tao Tao and Ginger Cafe. And in Palo Alto I prefer Mings's, and in Menlo Park Su Hong's.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Superb Chinese Dining!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our meal here with friends. It is one of their favorites and we were wishing we lived closer to dine here more often. The MuShu was excellent and the tofu appetizer, so good; try the snow pea greens with garlic, if available--wonderful! And the eggplant with garlic was some of the best we've had. The ambiance is simple but clean but the food is worth the trip!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good overall”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

This is actually a Taiwan style restaurant, not a Hunan one. They even don't have boiled fish. The food is still good, though. I would suggest they change a name:)

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hunan Home's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Hunan Home's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hunan Home's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.