We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Neighborhood Italian” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pompeii

Pompeii
100 State St, Los Altos, CA 94022-2810
650-949-2400
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 74 Restaurants in Los Altos
Cuisines: Pizza
Restaurant details
usa
Top Contributor
208 reviews 208 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 111 cities Reviews in 111 cities
229 helpful votes 229 helpful votes
“Good Neighborhood Italian”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

Very hospitable and personal service. Our waiter could quickly identify the most popular dishes and wines and guide our selections. Prices of both are very reasonable.

Portions are substantial. We therefore elected to split a Greek salad, a linguini con vognole and the chocolate cake with ice cream special. In all three cases, the one serving was more than enough for the two of us.

A very pleasant, reasonably priced lunch close to the heart of downtown Los Altos.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    12
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Not bad...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

I had a very nice business lunch here. We were lucky to be sitting outside in the sun, so we were all very happy. The food was good... not amazing, but not bad either. I would definitely go back when I am back in Los Altos, CA.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Fresh fish for dinner!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

I always check out the fish display and sometimes have the person choose a nice piece for me. May cost more if it weighs more than the standard serving but well worth it. Good atmosphere and rarely noisy.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Altos, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Quality for the money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Great service and homemade Italian food at a reasonable price.
Had lunch with friends today and we all were pleased with our choices.
The pasta is freshly made as is the bread and delicious soup of the day.
The salade con pollo was generous with lots of chicken. All in all
a good dining experience.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain View, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great local Italian restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Los Altos has what I would call a shortage of good restaurants. For a city filled with high-tech people and those higher income-earners, one would think that the selection would be better. Pompeii is one of the good ones in the downtown area. I've eaten lunch here several times and have always enjoyed my entrees. I have not been for dinner yet, but will try Pompeii for an evening meal soon.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pompeii also viewed

 

Been to Pompeii? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pompeii, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.