We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chef Chu's

Chef Chu's
1067 N San Antonio Rd, Los Altos, CA 94022-1323
650-948-2696
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 74 Restaurants in Los Altos
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Chinese, Dim Sum
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Outstanding!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

I am not a big fan of eggplant dishes: I can eat them fine, but I am not particularly drawn to that particular vegetable. I do make a huge exception to this when it comes to Chef Chu's. Their double-braised eggplant is one of my personal favorite dishes of any kind. Using a very high flame to quickly sear the eggplant, they then add a unique blend of spices (and of course garlic!) to prepare this terrific dish; the food simply melts in your mouth. Their seafood is always fresh and delivers the most succulent flavors. Service is fast with a knowledgeable wait staff. Make reservations: it is often very crowded with a typical wait of over 30 minutes

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    54
    18
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Too hyped, didn't deliver”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

We had been told that Chef Chu's food was legendary so we went in with high expectations. The highlight was the chicken salad, which was crisp, fresh and came with a delightful sauce. The rest of our large order was lackluster with way too much oil in several of the noodle and vegetable dishes. For this expensive menu, the food fell flat.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A very special treat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

We were so impressed by the selection, the presentation of each plate was "artful" and the food was excellent.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petra - Wadi Musa, Jordan
Top Contributor
565 reviews 565 reviews
379 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 102 cities Reviews in 102 cities
252 helpful votes 252 helpful votes
“We're so lucky to live by this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Hooooh my goodness. This place was recommended to me multiple times, but I had no idea what I was in for.

We got seated (two of us) pretty quickly at 6:30 on a Friday night, which was a pleasant surprise given the reputation of the place. We did get just enough time to peruse the wall of famous visitors to the place-- what a mix! (Justin Bieber, Steven Seagal, and Jimmy Carter all have been here. Of course)

The eggplant and garlic dish (braised eggplant in garlic sauce) and the salmon chef special were both absolutely phenomenal. You don't get a huge amount of food for the price, but the taste absolutely overcomes you with every bite. It's worth it. We're so lucky to live by this place!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Palo Alto, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“You can't go wrong with Chef Chu's”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

We were a party of 12, the food was great, the service was very efficient and attentive, and the prices are very reasonable. We loved it.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chef Chu's also viewed

 
Los Altos, CA
 

Been to Chef Chu's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chef Chu's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.