We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Palo Alto Los Altos

Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott Palo Alto Los Altos to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Palo Alto Los Altos
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4320 El Camino Real, Los Altos, CA 94022   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Los Altos
Adstock, Buckinghamshire, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Convenient location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

Convenient location, good warmed winter pool with hot tubs - surrounded by orange trees, 24/7 gym, good business lounge. Unfortunately restaurant only open for breakfast and no room service which are weak points for international travellers.

Room Tip: Staff are friendly and helpful and will change rooms on request. Ground floor south wing best for po...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    44
    73
    24
    5
    3
See reviews for
37
13
12
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Munich
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

Courtyards as with all Marriott products are if nothing else consistent and good. Actually this one is expensive, even for the area, and falls short in a couple of ways. But first the good stuff.

The breakfast staff are an exceptional lot. They remember returning guests and new ones are warmly welcomed. The fresh fruit is perfect, juicy and sweet. The buffet food selection is not extensive nor particularly fine. But the omellette man, Felipe, is an undiscovered master of salsa. Every day he puts out a bowl of handmade salsa, very finely chopped, piquant, with a nice, strong, slow burn. Yesterday it was tomatillo- based, today tomato- based with a nice frim but not overpowering garlic and mixture of chillies. Amazing salsa, and a very nice man who remembers what all the guests from the day before ordered.

Front desk staff - well, they could do better. My wake-up call never came, and that is a very serious service breach in my book, few could be worse. My laundry was not returned, and no one answered the phone at the front desk - although after trying to figure out what the password was and suffering through a one- minute long recorded message about how wonderful the hotel voicemail system was, I received a sort- of answer to the laundry. The message- sender however was so confused that she could not put into words what she wanted to say and left a long and rambling series of sound bites. So I had to walk down the the front desk, wait a long time, and then had to pick through the returned laundry to find my shirt as they has lost the slip connecting the rooms to the returned laundry.

The grounds were very well- maintained, and the rooms and servicing were standard Marriott (which means very good.)

All in all there are better places to stay and cheaper places to stay but as long as Felipe is putting out his incredible salsa I'll keep returning - and ask for no more wakeup calls.

Room Tip: Get a room on the back side and you won;t have the road noise from El Camino Real.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ann arbor
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

This hotel had some good and not so good points. First the good - clean, nicely decorated, friendly staff, free wifi in room, large room. We went on points and was given a very nice room facing the courtyard so it was quiet (except the last night, we could hear the person talking in the room next door - thin walls). Not so good - lack of on-site dining for lunch and dinner, very expensive breakfast buffet - $12.95, dirty pool and hot tub. Might check out other Marriott hotels next time I am in the area.

Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truckee
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

Good:
Secure underground parking
Clean, albeit outdated rooms
Quiet night's sleep
Friendly staff

Bad:
Internet access is free, but is difficult to get to work (my boyfriend works in IT and he still has to fiddle with it every time we stay here. However, I did just say every time we stay here. This is our go to spot when we have business in Los Altos.
I requested down alternative pillows/comforter when I made the reservation. Somehow this wasn't in the system. However, the staff immediately came to the room and changed them. It was just a bit awkward standing there waiting.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012 via mobile

Stay here 50+ times a year. Very good staff but hotel is a little worn and needs a refurbishment. Old lobby but nice seating area.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heide, Germany
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

It is a Courtyard, but a nice one! It is newly renovated and very clean. Since it is on El Camino Real I thought noise is an issue but it is not. Had a very good nite sleep in a huge and very comfortable bed. Nothing to complain about, friendly service - good breafast - free parking garage. I will be back next time I am in Palo Alto.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012

I stayed at this Courtyard once in December and plan to return here on my frequent trips to Palo Alto. The lobby area is lovely and the courtyard with its tall palm trees, outdoor couches, tables and chairs and fire pits are great. I did not use the pool but it is a nice size with a couple of small hot tubs.
I had a room facing the courtyard on the first floor and it was clean and fine. My only complaint was that the towels were like sandpaper - very rough.
The lobby was nice for relaxing with a glass of wine from the bar and the breakfast service was good and the wait staff very nice. I had some trouble with the computers in the business area and I don't know what that was about.
The location is very good - close to Stanford and downtown Palo Alto.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Palo Alto Los Altos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Palo Alto Los Altos

Address: 4320 El Camino Real, Los Altos, CA 94022
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Altos
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Los Altos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Palo Alto Los Altos 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Marriott, Tingo, Priceline, Despegar.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Palo Alto Los Altos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Palo Alto Los Altos Hotel Los Altos
Courtyard Los Altos
Los Altos Courtyard
Los Altos Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Palo Alto Los Altos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.