We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall pretty good!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Palo Alto Los Altos

Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott Palo Alto Los Altos to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Palo Alto Los Altos
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4320 El Camino Real, Los Altos, CA 94022   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Los Altos
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Overall pretty good!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2011

When I first got to my room I wasn't that impressed, although I had just come from an awesome stay at a beautiful hotel in Seattle, so my perspective may have been a bit skewed. The decor was just ok, a little outdated. There were 2 things that I had to complain about:

1) No restaurant IN the hotel if you wanted a meal other than breakfast. I got back from a work meeting and had a raging headache - I hadn't been able to eat all day (migraine - no good) so I came back to my room and passed out for a few hours. I woke up and was sooo hungry but still feeling crummy. I just wanted something to eat but I didn't want to have to leave the hotel. So I was out of luck. No restaurant in the hotel that is open past the early afternoon. They DID have a little market next to the front desk, so I microwaved some chunky soup (right there - because there are no microwaves in the room) and had some pop-tarts. Not a great dinner but I needed something. I know there were lots of places to eat nearby but I really didn't want to go out, so I guess it's kind of my own fault.

2) No wifi? To use the internet I had to plug in using an ethernet cable (they provided). Not great if you need to work but wanted to relax in bed while working... couldn't do it. The internet was pretty fast once I got myself plugged in and set up, but as I previously mentioned I had an awful migraine and the last thing I felt like doing was sit at the desk. Now I was traveling for business, so if this was a personal trip this wouldn't have been a big deal, but for me it was kind of annoying.

The room was very clean, the bed was comfy - but there was only a thin blanket on the bed and I like big comforters, but that's just my personal preference. The people were nice and when I did get to grab some breakfast at the breakfast place in the hotel, the food was very good. The location was convenient for me because it was only about a mile away from my client's offices, but I don't know what else was around town as I didn't get a chance to do much exploring.

I think if you're going for a personal stay and this hotel is convenient to where you are going then it's a good place to stay - although for me personally I may try to see what else is available in the area next time I have to go to Palo Alto.

Room Tip: They gave me a handicapped room (however I'm not handicapped so they may have just been short on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    44
    73
    24
    5
    3
See reviews for
37
13
12
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
148 helpful votes 148 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

Clean, recently updated rooms and a great staff. Great location within walking distance to many great food choices.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011 via mobile

I stayed here for a night during a recent work trip to palo alto. A regular Courtyard..but rather noisy. Maybe a room that doesn't face the street may help.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Mexico
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

This was by far one of the best hotels that we have stayed in. The staff was so friendly and accomidating. The location was great and near everything we wanted and needed. This hotel was clean, beautiful, and spacious. We didn't want to leave to come home :)

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011

My husband stays here quite often for work and I joined him for one night last week. The hotel is on a busy street but the rooms are quiet even if the room faces the road. The room was spacious (king and sofa) with a nice layout, though the sink in the bathroom area was quite cramped. I really enjoyed the lotions and shampoos! (I usually stay at Hilton properties so this Courtyard was quite different for me...)

The bed was very comfortable and the staff were friendly. The parking garage in the basement gives you some extra commute time in the AM as getting out seems to take a bit of time. The good thing with the garage is that you feel that the car is safe and secure.

The location was also convenient, especially to Stanford - I'd recommend this hotel to business or leisure travellers.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011

Not a high class stay, but a comfortable one in an expensive city. It was a nice alternative and convenient for driving in the area. Garage parking was convenient and the staff was helpful and courteous. Not a glamour place, but a nice one where I felt safe and not gouged on price. Full gym was convenient.

Room Tip: handicap accessible with garage parking
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011

This is a very well maintained and well run hotel. Staff are all friendly and very helpful. Rooms were large, modern and clean.
The breakfast was good, and the service was efficient. The outdoor patio area with the firepits were a bonus.
On the downside, the beds were very soft, and there were no in room safes.

Room Tip: You may want to choose a higher floor as you can hear the guests above stomping around in their room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Palo Alto Los Altos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Palo Alto Los Altos

Address: 4320 El Camino Real, Los Altos, CA 94022
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Altos
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Los Altos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Palo Alto Los Altos 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Marriott, Tingo, Priceline, Despegar.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Palo Alto Los Altos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Palo Alto Los Altos Hotel Los Altos
Courtyard Los Altos
Los Altos Courtyard
Los Altos Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Palo Alto Los Altos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.