We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The 1880 Union Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Los Alamos
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The 1880 Union Hotel
Save
You added The 1880 Union Hotel to your Saves list
362 Bell Street, P.O Box 676, Los Alamos, CA 93440   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Los Alamos
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Love this hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

These people did a great job with preserving the circa 1915 feel of this place. And it is just fun. The food is great. The wine saloon next door is great. The grounds are great. Live music on weekends. Los Alamos is a tiny town in the middle of wine country. The 1880 Union hotel is a lovely place to unwind after a day of tastings. Don't expect luxury digs, though (unless you are in the presidential suite, which is amazing). Many of the rooms don't have a private bathroom.... but that wasn't an overwhelming hardship. Staff is friendly. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: On the weekends, there is live music and you are probably not going to go to sleep before 11pm (when...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    10
    0
    4
    3
See reviews for
9
28
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lexington, Kentucky
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

Born and raised in the Santa Ynez Valley, my family and friends outdid themselves by hosting an intimate and beautiful Sunday brunch for a surprise birthday party in the garden of this Historic Hotel. They made my 30th Birthday celebration one to remember - and made possible because of the staff. The 1880 Union Hotel is a a true gem of the Central Coast. The charm and history is preserved by a local native Dan Thompson, which only adds to the personal touch you will find in every part of the Union Hotel and family. Owner and operator Dan, takes his business seriously and cares about his customers like no other. From special events, to dining in or treating yourself to an overnight stay, you will be wowed by the decor, service, and overall experience. Classy and cozy, and not stuffy! The ambience is matched by first-class service - everyone that walks through the doors will be greeted and made felt special. My family has already booked our next celebration for my great aunt's 90th birthday. I expect our family to celebrate many more milestones here in the future and even make the drive from Santa Ynez for great cuisine, wine and live music on a weekend evening.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

This is like walking into a past time - loved it! Lots of history to this place and you go up a creaking old staircase to the original rooms which are full of antique furniture. Not all rooms have bathrooms. Can't wait to try the suites - they were full. Delicious breakfast interrupted by a visit from a baby possum. Very nice. Unspoiled. Seemed like they could do more with this place - it's a gem.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Ynez, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

We stopped by this hotel just to see what it looked like on the inside - and it's gorgeous! Very Victorian with amazing Victorian artifacts and décor. I asked the lady at the desk if she would have time to show us a room and she happily took us on a tour of the whole place and showed us about six different kinds of rooms. Each one was more beautiful than the last and the hotel has such a relaxed cozy atmosphere. Nearly everything is antique from the claw-footed bathtubs to the flowered wall paper. The view from the windows looks out on sleepy Los Alamos. The tour was so much fun and it's definitely a hotel we plan to go to soon - even though we only live 20 minutes away! The young girl who took us on the tour was so pleasant and so kind, just the nicest person. We got such a fantastic impression of this hotel. I wish Anthony on Hotel Impossible could visit it. He would be blown away.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

A colleague told us about this place, and we were delighted to stay here - we likely would have never known about it. We loved the historic element and were content with the rustic, yet comfortable Governor's suite we booked on line. We stayed on a slow Monday night ..the authentic saloon was open and other than ourselves, there were just a few locals playing good tunes on the jukebox. We tested our skills on the shuffleboard table with it's severe lean to one side!

Adding a few enhancements would make this a 5 star room: soap dish by the bathroom sink, directions on how to turn on the fireplace (hidden switch!), directions on how to use the TV, alarm clock, heavier lock on the Balcony Door (made me wish there was an in-room safe), and connect the surround sound speakers wired for the room.

We will definitely stay here again should we be in the area!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

When you first arrive you feel as though you should be tying up your horse and then busting through the saloon doors. It's a unique experience and one that I highly recommend. If your looking for an authentic and truly unique experience in a rustic hotel built well over a 100 years ago that offers the sounds and sights one should expect from an establishment that is titled with1880, then you should take the opportunity to enjoy a stay here. The floors creak and you never feel like your alone, which is a big part of its charm. If however you feel alone go down to the amazing saloon and get your self a whiskey from the bartender. It's also offers plenty of spaces which include the lobby and upstairs lounge to enjoy some good conversation, reading or just letting your senses take in all the decor. A great time and we will be back in 2014!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chico, CA
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We have only eaten here and hung out in the evenings after eating at Flatbread across the way. They do live music Fri and Sat nights and have a super cute saloon with shuffle board and billiards. They also have a cute garden patio with large size chess set. Staff is always great!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The 1880 Union Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The 1880 Union Hotel

Address: 362 Bell Street, P.O Box 676, Los Alamos, CA 93440
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Alamos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Los Alamos
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
1880 Union Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The 1880 Union Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.