We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Victorian Mansion at Los Alamos

Save Saved
You added The Victorian Mansion at Los Alamos to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Victorian Mansion at Los Alamos
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   326 Bell Street, Los Alamos, CA 93440   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary bottle of wine
Ranked #1 of 2 Los Alamos B&B and Inns
Porterville, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

The Victorian Mansion is probably one of the best places I have ever stayed in my life. We did not arrive until 9:30 Friday nite, and Diane met us to check us in. She was so friendly and showed us all the ammenities, took her time even though it was late. Breakfast is delivered to your room every morning, and it is wonderful. We stayed in the Paris room, and I can't wait to come and try one of the other rooms very soon. I met Rod Saturday morning, and he is so friendly, makes you feel right at home. I would recomend this place to anyone wanting a special weekend away in a wonderful room. The painting on the walls of our room was beautiful. I would see something different every time I looked, the artist is very talented. Thank you Rod and staff for a great experience. We went to Madonna Inn for two nites after this place, and there is no comparison, I would say the Vick is #1.

Room Tip: The French room is wonderful, but it is up two flights of stairs, and the loft bed is up stairs, jus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    2
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
4
99
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Austin, TX
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

I took my wife here for a birthday weekend getaway. It was fantastic! A few tips for those who are considering the same:

Easy set-up: Rod arranged roses at arrival, birthday balloons for our second day, which allowed me to go down in the romantic "hall of fame" with my wife. He truly wants to help you shine.

Plenty to do: Try the Kenneth Volk vineyard, about 20 minutes away for a great tasting (and if you’re lucky, a behind the scenes tour). We found the “Full of Life Flatbread” restaurant as great food with no waiting for a table if you go after 8pm (earlier than that, you may have challenges)

Variety of rooms: You could make a tour of the 6 rooms, trying 1 for each getaway weekend. Paris and Pirates are on the top floor, nested among dormer windows; so if you have trouble climbing stairs or are over 6’2” tall, you may prefer the other rooms

Something to look forward to is the cast-away ship and tree house, both outside the mansion confines, in 2014!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marina del Rey, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

"Honey, do you want to stay in the Roman Room or the Pirate Room?" When my husband first asked me this question in 2012, I thought he was nuts. A B&B with themed rooms? Yikes! I'm so glad he proved me wrong. My husband and I first traveled to the Vick in May of 2012 for our anniversary and we immediately knew we wanted to return in 2013! Each room transports you with it's amazing details, from the knick-knacks, furniture, and murals! Beds our cozy, the bathtub is huge and luxurious, and Rod (the owner) does a wonderful job of ensuring your entire stay and journey through Los Alamos is perfect. We've stayed in both the Roman and Pirate rooms, and each one is a trip! A trip to wine country is not complete without a trip to Los Alamos, and The Vick is icing on the cake.

Room Tip: Every room is an adventure!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corona, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

What an amazing experience! We stayed in the Roman room and couldn't have asked for more! Every aspect of the room was themed, from the movies, to the decor to the jacuzzi. Bed was extremely comfortable. Rod, the proprietor, is nicest host ever. Really class act place. All the rooms have their own draw and detail. We rented a Harley out of Ventura, rode up the coast and stayed here for our anniversary. Best one yet (of 12)! Highly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Gatos, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

By far the best place I have ever (caps wanted) stayed at. Both inn-keepers were phenomenal. Rod, the proprietor, is the heart of the place. There are only six rooms in the house, and we stayed in the 50's themed room. We viewed almost all the other rooms (less one because it was already occupied), and my boyfriend was in absolute awe of the room we stayed in. He is restoring a '64 Caddy, so to sleep in a '56 was far beyond any other experience he has had. The attention to detail in the rooms and the customer service has created a memory that will last a lifetime. We are already discussing what the next room will be that we stay in...if it isn't the the 50's room.
Highly recommend this place!!!(caps wanted)

Room Tip: No tips, just go!! (Caps wanted)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

The Victorian Mansion at Los Alamos is one of my wife and my favorite places to stay anywhere. We have travelled extensively, and have stayed at some of the best hotels around. Our last stay was to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary, and it completely lived up to our high expectations. While we had planned to stay in the Gypsy suite to mirror our third wedding anniversary, we were given a tour of several of the other themed rooms by Tina, who was incredibly accomodating, friendly, and helpful. After seeing several rooms we decided to stay in the Egyption suite instead. We were not disappointed! Everything about how that, and all of the other rooms are decorated, makes it obvious that decorating, running, and maintaining this very special place was, and remains, a labor of love. Once you stay in one room, you will want to stay in other rooms on subsequent trips. Following our visit, Mr. Rod Rigole, the mansion's proprietor, personally called me to insure that our stay lived up to our expectations. The customer care we experienced is absolutely first rate. I can't say enought positive things about this unique location and how it is run. If you are looking for a very special stay while travelling up the California coast this is one place you should definitely check out.

Room Tip: That's difficult. The web site does not do each room justice. If you like the theme, you will...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South San Francisco, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Our stay at the Victorian Mansion was nothing short of wonderful. We were promptly greeted upon arrival and given a short history and tour of the mansion. Then to our room - the Egyptian Suite. The minute we stepped into the room we immediately felt like we had just been transported to another land. It's the perfect romantic getaway from the cares and worries of the outside world. The attention to detail was fantastic and the props didn't look cheesy at all. This was a surprise birthday gift for my wife and she loved it. We were very well treated by our hosts and felt relaxed and comfortable. I would highly recommend the Victorian Mansion.

Room Tip: All the rooms are fantastic. It depends on the kind of theme you're looking for. I can highly re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Victorian Mansion at Los Alamos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Victorian Mansion at Los Alamos

Address: 326 Bell Street, Los Alamos, CA 93440
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Alamos
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Los Alamos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Victorian Mansion at Los Alamos 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the outside, the Victorian Mansion is a gorgeous, recently-renovated 1864 Victorian nestled in the heart of wine country. On the inside, it houses six incredible theme suites featuring theme beds, in-room hot tubs, fireplaces and hidden bathrooms. Music, fragrance, handpainted murals and tiles, movies and furniture will immerse you in the fantasy of your choice - will you stay in a sheik's tent? A 50's drive-in? A pirate ship? A gypsy caravan? Fantasy does not come at the expense of luxury or taste. Each room features impeccable decor and premium mattresses, sheets, towels and bathrobes. With our standard rates, a delicious bottle of local wine waits for you on arrival and a hot, gourmet breakfast is delivered to your suite every morning. Come visit us in the heart of the wine country made famous by the movie, Sideways - only a short drive from Los Angeles or San Jose through some of the most breathtaking scenery in the US. Get ready for an unforgettable experience! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Victorian Mansion at Los Alamos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Victorian Mansion At Los Alamos Hotel Los Alamos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Victorian Mansion at Los Alamos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.