We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique & Romantic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Victorian Mansion at Los Alamos

Save Saved
You added The Victorian Mansion at Los Alamos to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Victorian Mansion at Los Alamos
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   326 Bell Street, Los Alamos, CA 93440   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Los Alamos B&B and Inns
Los Angeles, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Unique & Romantic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Let me say right off the bat that we are not "theme" people. My husband and I eschew Disneyland and roll our eyes at all things kitsch. So I hesitated to book a room at the Victorian Mansion, in all its themed glory. Boy, am I glad I went for it! We had an incredible (kitsch-free) visit and made memories that will last long after we've drained our final bottle of Santa Ynez Valley wine.

STAFF
Rod, the proprietor, and his team are exactly what you want in the folks running your B&B: thoughtful, charming, and extremely attentive to your needs. I'm lactose intolerant and I made a note of it in my online reservation. I also called the Vick after booking to add a wine tour to our room package. A staff member called back immediately to confirm my package and my lactose-free breakfast. Then Rod personally called to ask exactly what I can and cannot eat (my own mother isn’t so attentive) and to arrange the wine tour with me. Customer service & attention to quality food both go a long way with me, and Rod hit it out of the park. Throughout our stay, we were delighted to receive consistent polite attention to our wellbeing, including regular check-ins on the comfort of our room and candid restaurant reviews.

THE ROOM
We had the Pirate Suite, but we got to take a tour of all the other suites too, because we were the first to arrive for the weekend. I have to say – I am blown away by the design of the place. They’re not kidding about the 200 artisans taking 10 years to create it. Our coffee table was made from AN ACTUAL CANNON. We were a little tripped out at first by how much we felt like we were on a boat. We may have run around saying things like “Pass the Charrrrrdonnay!” There may have been an invisible-sword fight. I couldn’t say.

THE HOT TUB
OMG the hot tub – your own PRIVATE in-room hot tub - is OFF THE HOOK.

THE FOOD
The breakfast was delicious (especially the pastries), and Rod is extremely responsive to special food requests. Plus, the breakfast comes straight to your room via dumbwaiter (yes, I said dumbwaiter), so a person could, conceivably, sit in the hot tub drinking coffee and eating croissant. Theoretically.

WINE TOUR
Rod offers several special packages – we did the Wine Lover’s Package and he arranged a wine tour for us. We were picked up in a private car (Escalade!) with one other couple, and every aspect of the tour was an absolute delight. You should seriously buy this package. Right now. Don’t drink and drive, people! Get a driver & an Escalade!

LOS ALAMOS
OK, there is not much cookin’ in Los Alamos. But between the two fantastic little tasting rooms down the street and a couple restaurants, we were satisfied. Just know that you are going to be in a tiny town.

STUFF TO KNOW
The Vick is truly unique and very quirky. You are not checking into a Doubletree or a Hilton here. You are stepping into a fantasy theme room and while this offers a world of special features, there are some limitations and every room is different. The Pirate Room is a little dark; I needed to open the stained-glass window during the day to let in some daylight. The Paris Room has a set of spiral stairs to the bed. I’d find that a challenge at night, but for some it’s the height of romance (so to speak). I recommend calling ahead to ask about the individual rooms and being specific about your preferences. If you like a lot of light, or to watch a lot of movies on the TV, for example, they can probably tell you which room is best for you. If you want to play Pirate-and-Damsel-in-Distress, that’s your business, but they can hook you up with the ship.

BOTTOM LINE
You’ve never stayed anywhere like this and it’s a little cuckoo-bananas ~ in a cozy, quirky, peaceful, romantic, awesome kind of way. Rod’s incredibly nice, so just call him if you have any questions or hesitations and he’ll take care of you.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    110
    1
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
4
96
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012 via mobile

Surprised my husband for his birthday and sure enough i cant wipe that big grin off his face!!!we booked the egytian suite and everything was just superb!!we are looking forward to stay in all the other themed rooms in the future!!:)

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012 via mobile

This was our first getaway together in 6 years and we couldn't have picked a better place! The rooms are amazing and perfect for that special time with your significant other, the staff is fantastic, and the little town is endearing! I honestly can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

We stayed four nights in July. Because the Egyptian Room, which we had reserved, was not available because of a water leak. We stayed two nights in the Gypsy Room, one night in the French Room, and one night in the Pirates Room. The craftsmanship of each room is very high. The staff is friendly and helpful. However we experienced several negatives. The B&B has no television so we missed the Opening Ceremonies and first days of the Olympics. The Gypsy and Pirates Rooms are so dark that after sunset it is impossible to read in the rooms. The staff provided a lamp after we requested one. So we huddled around a lamp to read. There are no chairs in the Gypsy and Pirates Rooms so you have to sit on the floor to eat--this is style over comfort. There are wooden benches but they are not comfortable. The Pirates Room has no wi-fi so we had sit in the hallway on the floor to connect to email and to work as the B&B has no common area. The breakfasts are just average. We drove into Santa Barbara one day to have a good breakfast. We found the rooms interesting to look at but uncomfortable to live in.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thevick, Owner at The Victorian Mansion at Los Alamos, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
We appreciate the time you took to provide feedback about your experience at the Victorian Mansion. I am sorry that your stay was disappointing. We really strive to make our guest's stay exceptional in every way, and really take it to heart when we fall short of that goal.

I would like to address the negatives you reference in your review. First, we are different than your typical hotel or bed and breakfast. Our suites are custom designed to create an immersive experience of fantasy and romance and unfortunately do not provide some amenities that are present in larger hotels which would detract from that experience, such as desks or standard tables and chairs.

Televisions: Our suites are equipped with LCD/TV monitors and DVD players with theme movies. Unfortunately, our small town does not have broadcast or cable television and we chose not to destroy the outside appearance of our 1864 Victorian with 6 satellite TV antennas on the roof. While it has not been an issue with most of our guests, we are attempting to address this situation with new technology so that guests who really want to watch television will be able to do so.

Impossible to Read: Our suites are designed with romantic lighting that guests can adjust to suit their preference (e.g. making the suite lighter or darker). However, as you have pointed out, some suites are not brightly lit in all areas of the suite. However, there are reading lights above the headboards on the beds, bright lights above the love seats (in the suites that have love seats), and we provide additional reading lamps if guests want more light - as we did with you. And we would have been happy to provide another reading lamp if asked.

Chairs: Once again, our bed and breakfast is different than your typical hotel or bed and breakfast. Each suite has seating, however, the original design of the theme suites encouraged guests to have breakfast around the themed coffee table. As we did with you, we also offer to provide a standard table and chairs if a guest would like more traditional seating.

Breakfast: I am sorry that you found our breakfast just average. We take great pride in our micro-roasted coffees and handmade baked goods, quiche, and strata. Your comment was surprising given that we have been asked by guests to ship our quiche and strata to them since prior to tasting ours, they never liked quiche or strata. But I am sorry that the breakfast that was served to you was less than what you had hoped for.

Wi-Fi: All of our suites have access to our wireless Wi-Fi network. I am not sure why one of the 3 suites you stayed in did not have access. We will definitely look into it and remedy the situation. We also offer a plug in option to our guests if their computers are unable to access our wireless network.

Egyptian Suite: As you mentioned, the suite you originally booked (the Egyptian Suite) was not available due to a water leak. However, we called you as soon as the situation arose (i.e. a week prior to your stay) to discuss the situation and provided you with a complimentary Romance Package upgrade and complimentary mimosas for the inconvenience.

There is no denying that the Victorian Mansion is a bed and breakfast that is rich with unique personality and craftsmanship. We tried our best to accommodate your needs, including allowing you to switch suites twice during your stay so that you and your daughter (who was staying in another suite) could experience the different theme suites. Many people love the features that make the Vick special and there are a few who prefer a traditional hotel experience and that is okay - we are just glad you tried us out.

Once again, we are sorry that your stay was less than perfect. We are all about the experience and strive to continually improve upon that experience. We will take your comments into consideration and address the issues you have raised to the extent we can so that the experience for our future guests is even better.

Sincerely,
The Victorian Mansion Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

So fun and romantic at the same time. Great food and wine in the area as well. Check out their website! It is in the town o Los Alamos. Super super small but very cool for a night away. I took my husband for a surprise bday celebration. He loved it!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

Howdy to ALL...
My wife and I were returning from a visit to the Redwoods... as a part of our 40th wedding anniversary of 'summer' trips... I spied 'the Vick' on-line and thought - 'Now THIS would be something different than our usual.' - took a chance and scheduled our visit as a capstone to our return trip home. I was absolutely right! We stayed in the Gypsy Camp and was blown away by the murals, the sunken hot tub, and of course the room itself. Rod, you are a most gracious host and of course the 'breakfast' was the icing on the cake. Thank you for a wondrous evening... and of course our sharing our story with you - Glad your wife enjoyed your sharing it with her.
All the VERY BEST!
Anthony and Karen Jones
p.s. To those undecided - It's well worth checking it out...

Room Tip: Book your room early and arrive early to ensure you get to see the others before they're occupie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Clemente, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

What a great B&B! We were looking for a nice place to take a little break from our very hectic schedules when we came across this gem on-line. We had never even heard of Los Alamos before searching for B&B's near and around Santa Barbara. After a little research into what the town had to offer, we decided it was exactly the type of romantic getaway we were looking for. We chose the Egyptian room and couldn't have been more pleased! Everything was clean, comfortable and well appointed.We loved the "secret" door to the bathroom! We had the opportunity to tour every room while we were there and probably would pick the Egyptian as our overall favorite, but we would have been very happy in any room. They all have their individual charm. The service was impeccable top to bottom; in fact the down-home hospitality we experienced at the Victorian could be found all over town. As we told literally everyone we had the pleasure of meeting, "Thanks! We'll be back!"

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Victorian Mansion at Los Alamos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Victorian Mansion at Los Alamos

Address: 326 Bell Street, Los Alamos, CA 93440
Location: United States > California > Los Alamos
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Los Alamos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Victorian Mansion at Los Alamos 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the outside, the Victorian Mansion is a gorgeous, recently-renovated 1864 Victorian nestled in the heart of wine country. On the inside, it houses six incredible theme suites featuring theme beds, in-room hot tubs, fireplaces and hidden bathrooms. Music, fragrance, handpainted murals and tiles, movies and furniture will immerse you in the fantasy of your choice - will you stay in a sheik's tent? A 50's drive-in? A pirate ship? A gypsy caravan? Fantasy does not come at the expense of luxury or taste. Each room features impeccable decor and premium mattresses, sheets, towels and bathrobes. With our standard rates, a delicious bottle of local wine waits for you on arrival and a hot, gourmet breakfast is delivered to your suite every morning. Come visit us in the heart of the wine country made famous by the movie, Sideways - only a short drive from Los Angeles or San Jose through some of the most breathtaking scenery in the US. Get ready for an unforgettable experience! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Expedia so you can book your The Victorian Mansion at Los Alamos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Victorian Mansion At Los Alamos Hotel Los Alamos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Victorian Mansion at Los Alamos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.