We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FUN” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Victorian Mansion at Los Alamos

Save Saved
You added The Victorian Mansion at Los Alamos to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Victorian Mansion at Los Alamos
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   326 Bell Street, Los Alamos, CA 93440   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Los Alamos B&B and Inns
Santa Barbara
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“FUN”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

So fun and romantic at the same time. Great food and wine in the area as well. Check out their website! It is in the town o Los Alamos. Super super small but very cool for a night away. I took my husband for a surprise bday celebration. He loved it!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    109
    1
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
4
94
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Riverside, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

Howdy to ALL...
My wife and I were returning from a visit to the Redwoods... as a part of our 40th wedding anniversary of 'summer' trips... I spied 'the Vick' on-line and thought - 'Now THIS would be something different than our usual.' - took a chance and scheduled our visit as a capstone to our return trip home. I was absolutely right! We stayed in the Gypsy Camp and was blown away by the murals, the sunken hot tub, and of course the room itself. Rod, you are a most gracious host and of course the 'breakfast' was the icing on the cake. Thank you for a wondrous evening... and of course our sharing our story with you - Glad your wife enjoyed your sharing it with her.
All the VERY BEST!
Anthony and Karen Jones
p.s. To those undecided - It's well worth checking it out...

Room Tip: Book your room early and arrive early to ensure you get to see the others before they're occupie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Clemente, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

What a great B&B! We were looking for a nice place to take a little break from our very hectic schedules when we came across this gem on-line. We had never even heard of Los Alamos before searching for B&B's near and around Santa Barbara. After a little research into what the town had to offer, we decided it was exactly the type of romantic getaway we were looking for. We chose the Egyptian room and couldn't have been more pleased! Everything was clean, comfortable and well appointed.We loved the "secret" door to the bathroom! We had the opportunity to tour every room while we were there and probably would pick the Egyptian as our overall favorite, but we would have been very happy in any room. They all have their individual charm. The service was impeccable top to bottom; in fact the down-home hospitality we experienced at the Victorian could be found all over town. As we told literally everyone we had the pleasure of meeting, "Thanks! We'll be back!"

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I decided on this last minute getaway to Santa Barbara wine country. At first glance on the web we thought rooms in this B&B were a bit cheesy, kind of Disneyland'ish BUT we were pleasantly surprised!!! No argument rooms are unusual and corky, but nowhere near cheesy.. Rooms are comfortable and fun. Bath tub is amazing- all amenities are great! We came a bit early so we had a chance to tour all the rooms. Each room comes with its own scent and music. Even movies for the DVD player offered in each room are thematic- picked with great sense of humour. What was very special was the attention and the service provided by inn keeper/ owner? Rod. He was fantastic, extremely helpful and very accomodating!! He greeted us as soon as we pooled into the parking lot, him and another keeper ( in training?) told us all about the history if the place, gave us tour, were informative and animated- we loved it!! Rod helped us w/ restoraunt and wine tour suggestions ( we dined in Ballard Inn- was okay, but not as expected, chef is good but long wait for overly designed dishes aimed for sofistication but that dont make much
gustatory sense- overpriced for what it is! ) pizza - flat bread place across yhe street from B&B was FANTASTIC!!! Rod also helped us organize special event and went WAY out of his way to make it happen for us - what a guy!! I have never seen anything like this- amazing service! Fun hotel! Solid breakfast! We had the Best time only clouded by awful traffic back to LA on 101... Highly reccomended!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Victorian Mansion on our drive back to Canada from Texas. He had found out about it online. It was wonderful. Tina met us for check in and showed us the 50's room before we went to our Gypsy Suite. We were so impressed! The rooms are amazing. You really feel the experience of each room. We stayed two nights and loved the town, the antique shops, the flatbread pizza restaurant. Everyone was so friendly, we would go back again!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We love the Victorian Mansion! My husband and I go every year to celebrate our birthday and/or anniversary. The Egyptian, Roman, and Gypsy Suites are impeccable works of art, unique, comfortable, clean, and by far, as if it isn't obvious enough, our favorite place to stay for a quick getaway. The hot tubs are and extra-added bonus, they are large and amazing for a full body soak- a most perfect way to end a lovely day of wine tasting. We always look forward to going back, & can't wait till next time we are there!

Room Tip: The Egyptian, Roman, and Gypsy Suites are our favorites. All rooms are quiet, cool and cozy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

Absolutely loved it here! We stayed in the French Suite, one of only two rooms with a balcony. We used the balcony a lot and enjoyed the beautiful views with a glass of wine before and after dinner and breakfast in the morning. Everything is so wonderfully done - the personalized service, the amazing murals, the edith piaf on the cd player, french themed DVDs (and Sideways in every room of course!), the delicious breakfast. Rod, the owner, greeted us warmly and immediately. He sent up a bottle of sparkling wine when we realized we forgot to get any. Apparently they taste test all the wines that they offer to guests, and this one was delicious! The red wine bottled specifically for The Victorian Mansion and complimentary with each room was also very nice!

This was the perfect weekend getaway. A day spent wine tasting, dinner at one of our favorite restaurants across the street from the mansion, Full of Life Flatbread, and an evening in our delightful suite. Relaxing and romantic, I truly felt pampered. This was a birthday celebration for my fiance and myself, and we decided it will be an annual tradition so we can explore the other suites - only next time we will stay for two nights because we enjoyed it so much. Many thanks to the owners and innkeepers for making this such a special place!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Victorian Mansion at Los Alamos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Victorian Mansion at Los Alamos

Address: 326 Bell Street, Los Alamos, CA 93440
Location: United States > California > Los Alamos
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Los Alamos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Victorian Mansion at Los Alamos 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the outside, the Victorian Mansion is a gorgeous, recently-renovated 1864 Victorian nestled in the heart of wine country. On the inside, it houses six incredible theme suites featuring theme beds, in-room hot tubs, fireplaces and hidden bathrooms. Music, fragrance, handpainted murals and tiles, movies and furniture will immerse you in the fantasy of your choice - will you stay in a sheik's tent? A 50's drive-in? A pirate ship? A gypsy caravan? Fantasy does not come at the expense of luxury or taste. Each room features impeccable decor and premium mattresses, sheets, towels and bathrobes. With our standard rates, a delicious bottle of local wine waits for you on arrival and a hot, gourmet breakfast is delivered to your suite every morning. Come visit us in the heart of the wine country made famous by the movie, Sideways - only a short drive from Los Angeles or San Jose through some of the most breathtaking scenery in the US. Get ready for an unforgettable experience! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Tingo, Expedia and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your The Victorian Mansion at Los Alamos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Victorian Mansion At Los Alamos Hotel Los Alamos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Victorian Mansion at Los Alamos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.