We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just like my childhood!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Katella Restaurant and Bakery

Katella Restaurant and Bakery
4470 Katella Ave, Los Alamitos, CA 90720-3515
(562) 594-8611
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 60 Restaurants in Los Alamitos
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Bakeries, Delicatessen
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
california
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Just like my childhood!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

All the foods of my childhood are here...both in the restuarant section and in the deli section. I believe this is called a Jewish Deli, but my ancestors were Polish/Lithuanian and so the national foods of each also seem to be the Jewish foods.... and where else can I buy REAL "farmer's cheese?". There is also a great pastry/bread section, personally I don't eat pastry- but they look wonderful.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    39
    9
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fullerton, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best Jewish Deli around”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

And almost the only Jewish deli around. Classic egg salad, chicken livers, and deli meats. Good rye bread. Amazing bakery next door. They also sell their meats by the pound there.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“not as good any more”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

used to have best pastrami in Orange County...but alas, portions are shrinking, pastrami is looking like chipped beef. Scrawniest cole slaw I have ever seen in a deli.

Bakery seeded rye bread is still great.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good food, good deal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

It's old and been around forever but the food is great and at a great price. Awesome bakery!!! You can't miss with anything you choose from there.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California, United States
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Disappointing Deli”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Two stars only because of the good matzo ball soup. Everything else was terrible as follows:

1. Had to ask for a pickle tray. Really, at a deli? Usually automatic.
2. Ordered a three sandwich combo: Pastrami, Corned beef, Chopped liver. When the plate arrived there were three teeny tiny sandwiches on mini-rolls!! Are we rationing meats now? I assumed they'd come with rye bread (this IS a deli) and was later told rye bread was optional. What is this, White Castle?? If that wasn't bad enough, the mini-sadwiches came plain and I had to hunt down the waitress and ASK for mustard. When she brought the mustard it was the plain stuff you'd give a five year old. Had to track her down again and ask for deli mustard. Worst sandwich(s) I have EVER had.
3. Asked for water with lemon and got no lemon (no straw either).

Terrible service, bad food. Won't be coming back.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Katella Restaurant and Bakery also viewed

Los Alamitos, Orange County
Los Alamitos, Orange County
 
Los Alamitos, Orange County
Los Alamitos, Orange County
 

Been to Katella Restaurant and Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Katella Restaurant and Bakery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.