We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fresh WoodChip Smoked Bass and Great Oysters ..” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Original Fish Company

The Original Fish Company
11061 Los Alamitos Blvd, Los Alamitos, CA 90720
562-594-4553
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 57 Restaurants in Los Alamitos
Price range: $0 - $25
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Fresh WoodChip Smoked Bass and Great Oysters ..”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Love their oysters... and you can see how they grill and prepare your fish as you walk in to the restaurant. Always busy and never waiting too long on line. The lady in front is prompt with our seating and the waitress explained all of her menus down to the small details. Calamari was extremely good.. must try.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    39
    9
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Fresh fish and Oysters to die for ...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

They normally carry 4 types of Oysters in stock and they were great to experiment with. helper servers, Fresh food and well prepared side dishes made this restaurant a great place to be out on a date nite with my husband.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, IL
Top Contributor
172 reviews 172 reviews
149 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Excellent service but interior decor needs some updating”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

Clam chowder is awesome. Scallops were delicious and melted in my mouth. One member of our party had a chicken salad - chicken was too well done - dry and "burnt".

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Great Food Without Fuss”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

The Fish Comapny is a hidden gem and a local favorite. You can find fancier fish restaurants, but this is one of the best. The fresh fish counter in the front is excellent, too.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seal Beach, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The only place to buy fish”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

I have never eaten in the restaurant. I just go in to buy my fish and it is always very fresh and delicious.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Original Fish Company also viewed

Seal Beach, Orange County
Garden Grove, Orange County
 

Been to The Original Fish Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Original Fish Company, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.