We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent hotel in a scary neighborhood!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Long Beach (Dwtn Area)

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Long Beach (Dwtn Area) to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Holiday Inn Long Beach (Dwtn Area)
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1133 Atlantic Avenue, Long Beach, CA 90813   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Save up to 25%
Ranked #20 of 57 hotels in Long Beach
Los Angeles
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Decent hotel in a scary neighborhood!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Stayed at the Holiday Inn Express in Long Beach-had a hard time finding the hotel because it is smack in the middle of a residential neighborhood. Not a nice neighborhood, would not walk around here at night, but the hotel was convenient to where I needed to be.it is relatively close to the 405 fwy, and also to downtown Long Beach, but if you have a choice, stay at one of the hotels near the water on ocean blvd where the scenery is much nicer.
However, the staff were friendly, and the hotel is easy access with the elevators straight from the parking area. The room is nice for the newly upraded Holiday Inn brand, not bad for the price. I like the new color pallette for the brand, decent coffee and toiletries. The view is not the best-you could see dilapidated homes and the backyards of homes with dogs and rusty roofs.
If you want clean and efficient, this will be fine, but look for a nicer hotel in a walkable neighborhod if you have a choice!

Room Tip: Bring a bullet proof jacket! Scary neighborhood. LOL
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Long Beach (Dwtn Area), responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Thank you for taking time to give us feedback. It is great to know we met the mark and provided friendly service and a great guest room.. I am sorry if you felt uncomfortable about the neighborhood. It is true we are in a downtown urban area and that includes a hospital on one side and apartments in the back. Downtown areas are unique. But I assure you we are safe and secure.We offer our guests a courtesy shuttle available 6 am – 11 pm so it is not necessary to walk anywhere within a 3 mile radius. I appreciate you mentioning how convenient we are to the waterfront and the convention center. Being just 10 blocks from the ocean makes it possible to offer our guests a great value and still be within minutes of all the attractions of Long Beach. .Thank you again, we always appreciate hearing from our guests .

.
Regards,
Sharon Bateman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    43
    69
    52
    26
    16
See reviews for
47
47
17
49
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Oswestry
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Stayed at the hotel for 6 nights from 15th September with 2 colleagues on business. Everyone at the hotel was extremely friendly, helpful and obviously well trained. Rooms were clean and comfortable and more than adequate for our purpose...a room safe would have been welcome. Good breakfast service, we also had dinner a few times and this was also good. We had Priority Club offers which gave daily discounts for food and drink which made everything good value. Shuttle bus was excellent for our needs taking us and bags to and from the convention centre...and oh so friendly again.

I use Intercontinental Hotels worldwide and I have to say that this was ne of the most friendly and helpful that I have exoerienced over many years..well done and thanks to all.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Long Beach (Dwtn Area), responded to this review, September 29, 2012
How kind of you to let us know about your experience. I am pleased you enjoyed the rooms and that the "courtesy" shuttle to the convention center was excellent. This is one of our favorite amenities. Thank you for mentioning the restaurant we do get great reviews on our food and staff and people are surprised at the quality because we are not just a "hotel" restaurant. Most importantly as you mentioned it is the friendly and trained staff that make all of this possible. I appreciate you choosing to stay with us and hope we will have the opportunity be of service to you again.
Warm regards,
Sharon Bateman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redlands,CA
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Older hotel, but has been remodeled and rooms are nice. Hallways still old looking and carpet smelly.
Has shuttle service which is nice and closed parking.
Not the best neighborhood and would not want to go out alone. Inconvenient location.
Staff was very nice and accommodating.
AC very noisy.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Long Beach (Dwtn Area), responded to this review, September 29, 2012
Thank you for taking time to give us your feedback. I apologize if the the AC was noisy, I will have maintenance look into that right away. I am very glad you enjoyed the remodeled rooms and our courtesy shuttle service is a great asset and value for our guests. It is our primary goal to give our guests a great hotel experience and the staff is the key so it is nice to know we met the mark on that one. We are located in an urban area and that does have its "look" but I assure you we have not had any security issues and we take the safety of our guests very seriously. We are an older hotel but the plans have just been approved to remodel the common areas and the restaurant so I hope you will come back to see us next year when those have been completed.
Regards,
Sharon Bateman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

Me and my friends decided to go out on 2nd street in Long Beach for the night, and this was the perfect hotel. Close to the area, clean, Nothing special. Elevators are slow and not the prettiest in the world. But that didn't bother us. It suited what I needed it for.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Long Beach (Dwtn Area), responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Thank you for visiting Long Beach and choosing to stay with us. I apologize if the elevators were anything less than you expected but glad we met your needs for a great location and clean rooms. I hope you will choose to stay with us again.
Regards,
Sharon Bateman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

We used this hotel as the staging property for family from around the country to gather prior to a cruise to marry our daughter. The staff and especially sharon the manager were outstanding! Every request was promptly handled. The restaurant food and service was high quality and fairly priced. Shuttle service dropped us right at the ship & promptly picked us up on our return. The rooms were clean and nicely decorated. I would highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Long Beach (Dwtn Area), responded to this review, August 21, 2012
It was my pleasure to be of service to you and your family. My staff and I enjoyed the opportunity to provide you with our courtesy shuttle to the cruise and back to the hotel on your return. The park and cruise package is a great value. We have recently refreshed our rooms and renovated our bathrooms so I am happy you enjoyed them. Cleanliness is always our top priority so I will pass on your positive feedback to our housekeeping staff. I appreciate you mentioning the high quality and fairly priced food because not everyone chooses to eat in the hotel when there are so many choices. Again it was our pleasure to be of service I look forward to welcoming you back to our area next time.

Warm Regards,
Sharon Bateman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minster, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012 via mobile

Coming from the UK didn't know the location about a mile from the beach.
But the staff more than made up for lacking a scenic location.
No one could be more helpful.
The Rooms were spacious as well as clean
The hotel had good facilities and the food was reasonably priced
Overall a good value choice

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Long Beach (Dwtn Area), responded to this review, August 21, 2012
I appreciate you taking time to write a reveiw of your experience at our hotel. It is always rewarding to get positive feedback on our helpful staff, clean and spacous rooms, food and the value of your choice. We know you have lots of choices so thank you so much for letting us know we lived up to your expecatations as a good one.

Warm regards,
Sharon Bateman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Mateo, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

Our Family, taking a four day cruise on Carnaval out of Long Beach, stayed at this hotel the night before we boarded. This hotel provided a great starting point for three different family groups; they shuttled us to and from the cruise ship terminal and allowed us to park our cars at a very reasonable rate while cruising. The rooms and restaurant were first rate, but the best part was the pleasant and helpful staff, with Justin, behind the front desk, being the star. He solved a number problems for us, providing extraordinary service, that helped make our family's trip a success.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Long Beach (Dwtn Area), responded to this review, August 9, 2012
So pleased to hear our extraordinary service made your family’s trip a success . The Park and Cruise is a great package which provides free shuttle to and from the cruise lines, a great hotel room before you go and parking for your car while you are cruising.

Thanks again for choosing to stay with us. We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back on your next family trip to Long Beach.
Regards,
Sharon Bateman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Long Beach (Dwtn Area)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Long Beach (Dwtn Area)

Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Long Beach (Dwtn Area) Hotel
Holiday Inn Long Beach (Dwtn Area) Hotel Long Beach
Holiday Inn Long Beach
Long Beach Holiday Inn
Address: 1133 Atlantic Avenue, Long Beach, CA 90813
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Long Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 57 hotels in Long Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Long Beach (Dwtn Area) 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Downtown Long Beach Hotel, Located just minutes from the Long Beach Convention Center, Carnival Cruise Terminal, The Aquarium of the Pacific, The Historic Queen Mary and much more. We offer complimentary shuttle services within 3 mile radius, free high speed wireless internet access, 24 hour fitness center, and a heated pool/jacuzzi. Your Constant Caring Friends at the Holiday Inn Downtown Long Beach Hotel are dedicated to providing you with extraordinary service assuring safety and satisfaction. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Long Beach (Dwtn Area) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Long Beach (Dwtn Area), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.