We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Rodeway Ever!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rodeway Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Rodeway Inn to your Saves list
Rodeway Inn
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   50 Atlantic Ave, Long Beach, CA 90802   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #8 of 58 Hotels in Long Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Edwards, California
1 review
“Best Rodeway Ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

I've stayed in a lot of Choice Hotels and other hotels and this one is the best one ever!

I wasn't expecting much when I booked online but was pleasantly surprised with the room and the front desk staff.

They went out of their way to ensure I had a comfortable experience. Once I checked in and went to my room the front desk clerk stopped by my room a few minutes later to give me a welcome gift! That's never happened to me in the hundreds of hotels I've stayed at. When I checked out the next day they actually gave me a departing gift as well! Wow!

The desk clerks were very attentive and polite and they truly cared about me.

The room was perfect. Newly decorated and clean as a whistle. I could not find anything that was wrong with the room (and I looked hard). And that's never happened before!

The last time I stayed at a Rodeway was in St George, UT and it was a dump!

This hotel is probably in the top three of all the hotels I've ever stayed in my life!

Kudos to the management and staff at the Rodeway Inn in Long Beach, CA! Highest rating ever! And the price was great too. Thank you so much!

Don W.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    45
    13
    7
    5
See reviews for
17
36
15
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atascadero, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

I've stayed in other Rodeway Inns before, and I certainly wasn't expecting anything above average. Their continental breakfast consisted of muffins and pastrys in cellophane and unspecatular coffee. The clerks appeared a little ashamed of it. There is no separate outside sink. Nevertheless, I've also stayed at the Westin in Long Beach, which is a luxury hotel right on Ocean Blvd. The Rodeway Inn came surprisingly close to it. We did not pay extra for fridge or micro. I had a roommate for my stay and I did not feel crowded in the least. It was a really good experience!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Place is not big, reception/breakfast area is very small. Room was clean and looked great. Bathroom was clean and functional. Water pressure in shower was great. Windows in room and bathroom opens to not so clean back ally. No exhaust in bathroom. Small microwave came handy to warm things up while fridge was small and seems to did not cool anything and it was not running when got there. Bed had nice linen but mattresses are not very comfortable and seems of poor quality. There is no breakfast area and hotel provided few danish, muffins, juice and coffe to take to you room. Overall good but would like to find better value at 100$

Room Tip: If you are visiting long beach area and just need good clean place to sleep and rest. Go for it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burbank, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

We stayed one night here and it was walking distance to the convention center where we had a conference. The staff was very friendly and the rooms where updated. We really liked that there was an extra room for our 16 year old daughter to sleep in. All around it was great for the price.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cottage Grove, Oregon
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

My wife and I and friend from San Diego came to Long Beach for a trade show at the Convention Center and reserved two rooms at this hotel. It was convenient to the convention we were attending plus close to nice restaurants and many of Long Beach's scenic attractions including the Queen Mary. Room included flat screen TV, microwave and fridge. Breakfast consisted of coffee, orange juice and muffins. They should add fruit to this mix. Friendly staff. Nothing fancy, but a nice place to stay on a budget.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

This is a pretty average motel, but the bed in my room was in very poor condition: pretty broken down. Also, the WIFI worked very badly: slow and intermittant. I did not try the breakfast. The location is handy to the port.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Netherlands
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
85 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

We arrived late in the evening and picked this motel rabdomly. Rate was a bit high to my opinion ($115 inc tax). Girl at check in was very friendly and nice.

Parking was good, safe and off the streets. Staff was overlooking all of the secured parkinglot.

We requested a double queen and got a room with two beds in two separate spaces. Nice beds, clean and comfortable but the two spaces were extremely small. Not a problem to us as we were just there for one night. But it would not be my choice if I would have to stay more nights.

Breakfast was coffee/tea and some sweet rolls/danish that are served in the tiny 'lobby' and have to be taken into your room. Where you have to eat at your bed.

Overall not bad for sleep-shower-leave. But not recommended for a longer stay.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rodeway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn

Address: 50 Atlantic Ave, Long Beach, CA 90802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Long Beach
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Long Beach
#13 Business Hotel in Long Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Rodeway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Hotel Long Beach
Rodeway Inn Long Beach
Long Beach Rodeway Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rodeway Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.